We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
593
186
51
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
186
51
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roommain buildingjockey clubayr racecourserace coursewedding guestswedding meallovely hotelfirst classwedding receptionhot chocolateevery member of stafflittle extrashuge bedchecking outwould highly recommend this hotelattending a wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
662 - 667 of 867 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Chose to stay here due to location as we were going to the races. Excellent hotel, with efficient, friendly staff. Had a room in the Courtyard which was clean & spacious with lots of little extras. Had lunch and dinner on same day, thought there should have been a slightly different offering! Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellertweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the staff and hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gary White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have just stayed here overnight and was very pleased with hotel. We stayed in courtyard room which was very large, comfortable bed, nice extras like homemade shortbread, toiletries, iron, dressing gowns etc spotlessly clean!

We ate at the hotel and the food was lovely all the staff were very helpful and pleasant despite the fact there was a wedding on and guests were in lounge we were not kept waiting from check in to departure or even ordering drinks from bar. The young lad behind bar was particularly helpful with menus drinks etc.

We had a lovely cooked breakfast and also were able to help ourselves from the buffet, only slight criticism here was with tea/coffee, this is served by waiter and had to wait a while for second cup of tea.

All in all we had a great stay here and would certainly return in the future. Would also recommend to friends or if going to races as its practically on the racecourse doorstep!

Thanks to all the staff and management who do the hotel proud in looking after their guests.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking across to main hotel courtyard rooms are a two minute walk, however no lifts in courtyard rooms so main hotel might be a better option.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laineyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your kind words regarding the staff and hotel. We have taken your comment regarding breakfast service on board, and are duely re-training all of our team to ensure a slicker service.

Kind Regards

Gary White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on a family wedding. While the wedding arrangements were excellent, the rooms, in an external annex, were disappointing. The rooms sound-proofing left a lot to be desired, and the corridors were used by the staff as a linen store while making up the rooms, making it difficult to get to your room with luggage. We would not wish to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiltonKeynesDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are currently working on a refurbishment of the Courtyard buildings and rooms. Since your review, we have changed the way our Housekeeping team work with their linen, to ensure a clear and tidy guest coridor and environment. I'd like to thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards

Gary White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For what we paid, I was somewhat disappointed to find out that we had an outside room and there are no lifts to get to the 3rd floor in the these rooms. So, if you can't climb stairs make sure you ask for a room in the main building. The external rooms are reasonably spacious and the bed was very comfortable. As we were attending an event at the Race Course, I didn't bother to look elsewhere but I'm sure there are cheaper hotels locally and where you don' get wet going to and from your room.
As far as I'm aware, there are no decent views from any of the rooms.
Gardens looked good.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest.

I am sorry to hear that the climb to the third floor, and the Courtyard rooms hindered your opinion of Western House Hotel. We try our best to cater to all of our guests needs, and certainly will try and manage the allocation of rooms if the orgional allocation is not suitable. We are also rolling out a re-furbishment plan for our Courtyard buildings and rooms. The gardens do look good, but look even better in the Spring and Summer months when sitting on the patio with a glass of Wine. Hopefully we will see you again, and we appreciate the comments.

Kind Regards

Gary White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

What an amazing place I really enjoyed my stay here all the extra touches make this hotel stand out from the rest. It was very quiet and peaceful I have stayed in hundreds of hotels but nothing matches this. The food is exceptional with a great choice of menu, the staff very friendly and efficient. I cant fault this hotel in any way excellent value for money I will most definitely return, and will rave it about to my friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in 326 which is a large room in the court yard.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Western House.

Kind regards

Gary White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews