We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bet for an enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
766 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 803 helpful votes
“Good bet for an enjoyable stay”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were invited to a wedding evening reception and decided to not only stay over but to have a meal in the Jockey Club Restaurant beforehand.

The hotel is alongside the Ayr Racecourse and a little attention is needed to make sure that you get the correct entrance to their spacious car park, rather than the racecourse. Check-in at the reception was busy with some of the wedding party having pre-dinner drinks there however we were attended to pleasantly and fairly quickly.

Our room was in the Courtyard - a separate building alongside the main hotel. This is more purpose built in comparison to the attractive original and houses 39 of the 49 rooms on offer. It was spacious, attractively furnished, decorated in a fairly contemporary style and although it was described as having a large en-suite bathroom I wouldn’t make such a claim about a fairly standard set-up. There was a bath with shower above and a glass screen - bathroom scales, toiletries, etc were also provided. The shower had good water pressure. The room itself had all that was required - small table with chairs, flat screen television, dressing table, trouser press, robes & slippers, tea making facilities, etc - and of course a comfortable double bed! We were fortunate in that we had a corner site and although there wasn’t much to look onto, the windows on both sides made it a bright room.

We were the only diners in the restaurant (it was quite early) however we enjoyed a very tasty meal and a bottle of wine in nice surroundings, served by friendly staff.

Following the official wedding meal the function moved over to the Princes Royal Suite at the Racecourse as a larger venue was required (a short walk). I’m happy to report that following this a large number of us retired back to the hotel where we were looked after in the bar until the small hours with drinks being charged on a room only basis.

We missed out on breakfast and cleared our heads with a walk around the racecourse the next day. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    168
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
153
360
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights here in a courtyard room. Everything went well from check-in to departure. Main impressions are the beautiful public rooms and abundance of friendly staff. I find that many hotels let themselves down by having insufficient, poorly trained staff - Western House staff excel.

The courtyard rooms are large and well equipped and only a few moments from the main house. I suppose if money is not a problem then a room in main building would be a bonus. However we got a good price and had no complaints.

On our second night we dined in the Jockey Club restaurant with some relatives as it was a special birthday for my Aunt. It was made a superb evening by the very attentive staff with special thanks to Rodney. Food was exellent both both in terms of quality and quantity - I think the prawn cocktail I had there was the best I've had anywhere. We also dined there on our last night and that was to the same high standard.

We also had breakfasts 3 mornings all of which were excellent. It is also nice to see that even when having a snack or meal in the bar/lounge area the same standards apply - cloth serviettes and attentiveness to service.

This hotel is definately one of the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you want a good view I think you would need the upper floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our Staff at Western House who are constantly praised by guests such as yourself. Please do not heistate to contact us direct to book your next visit to Western
House Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Pam Davies
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were Guests at a Wedding at The Western House on 26 Aug 2012 and was so impressed I just had to write a review. The staff were very professional and polite,our meal was excellent and the surrounding grounds are beautiful.Thanks to all involved, I look forward to visiting in the future for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Hannah Erin

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our Hotel on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Wedding and our hospitality and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to call us for the best available rate.
Many Thanks & Kind Regards
Gary White
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The interior of the main house is warm and inviting. Every single member of staff was courteous, pleasant, kind and helpful. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. Room service was not only quick, but excellent and at no added cost which is a massive bonus. The food was extremely good. The only down comment I would make is if you are considering booking a disabled room, please make sure you ask all the questions relevant to your personal needs. As I am not disabled this may not be a justified comment but on our first night we were given a room designated for a wheelchair user. The washhand basin in the bathroom was so tiny that you could barely wash your hands let alone your face and personally I think that a man in a wheelchair who tried to shave at the basin would seriously struggle, neither was there any shelving onto which you could put toiletries of a shaving kit. The position of the room was not great for anyone who was either in a wheelchair or had difficulty walking either. However, please do not be put off by this, the hotel is lovely and I am sure it is even better on race days!

Room Tip: Try and get in the main house if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

from the moment we walked into the hotel ,I knew our stay would be great. The team of staff were second to none ,friendly, polite , and very profesional. The room was lovely ,the grounds divine,the food was to die for. My only regret is that Iwish I had stayed a lot longer

Room Tip: dont worry every room is a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We ate here last week as a family for my daughter's birthday. We had never eaten here before but had been to a wedding and enjoyed the food so decided to give it a try. Thank goodness we did! From the moment you walk in you know you are in for a quality experience. The staff are well trained, beautifully groomed and very professional. The menu while not large has a good variety of food. We had a fabulous three course meal with stunningly good food - you must have the rack of lamb! Every request we made was accomidated and all meat was cooked to order the way we had asked for. The service throughout was excellent and the wine list impressive. We eat out regularly and will now definately add this to our list. The only place we feel comes close to these standards is Lochgreen in Troon that we keep for a treat. The price was on par with several of the Troon restaurants we eat in regularly but the quality much better. The ambiance of the room is just perfect too. If you want a wonderful eating experience come here!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our daughter's wedding reception was held here on August 13th. From start to finish the wedding co-ordinator and staff made it a fantastic experience. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The Champagne and Canape Reception provided an ideal opportunity for guest to mingle and become acquainted. The meals were excellent and guests with special dietary requirements were well catered for too. The rooms were the last word in luxury. We cannot praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing