We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”
Review of 26 The Crescent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
26 The Crescent
Ranked #6 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The owners Michael & Joyce are so friendly & welcoming , easy to talk to & helpful. We stayed in the twin room which was lovely & cosy Spacious & spotless. Nice teas , cofees, hot chocolate & sweets in the room also. The sitting room was very comfy & relaxing with a beautiful open fire. The whole property is both beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean.The breakfast was absolutely fantastic with a lovely choice of various fruits and traditional food (we didnt want it to end ). It is one of the few places we have stayed in , where we have actually left feeling relaxed. We will be back & stay longer next time, in fact we will go to Ayr just to stay in the The Crescent.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for 26 The Crescent
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 383 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

As a couple who like to get away at least once a month we can not believe we have found this gem just an hours drive from our home town. Michael and Joyce are very good at what they do and must get lots of return custom.The house and everything in it was immaculate and the breakfast was top notch. We will certainly return. After we had booked online Michael followed up with a phonecall to ask if he could book a table at a local restaurant for us as it was a Saturday night, we immediately checked the website of the recommended eatery and sent an e-mail to Michael to book this for us. We were not disappointed, the Beresford was 5 mins walk from the guest house and it was superb. We would travel from home to use this restaurant as the service and food was amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrteam, Owner at 26 The Crescent, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

Thank you for your review,it was indeed our pleasure to have you both stay with us on Saturday night and also hear that the restuarant was to your liking we do hope that you return sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Warm, friendy welcome very good value for money, bedrooms comfortable and functional. We had very enjoyable stay which was amplified by the wonderful hosts. Five minutes walk from Ayr centre, plenty of nice resturants to eat for lunch or dinner. We'll definitely be returning here rather than staying in a bland, faceless hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagstaff76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrteam, Owner at 26 The Crescent, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

When we receive reviews of this nature it makes everything worthwhile, thank you for your kind words.
PS -- Hope a certain party appreciates your new found baking skills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I stayed here for one night in October whilst on a business trip to the area. The location was easy to find and a warm welcome awaited me with the owners greeting me warmly on my arrival. My room was very spacious and comfortable and the en suite was fantastic - the decor was lovely and the room completely spotless. The owners Michael & Joyce couldn't have been more welcoming and made me feel very much at home.
The breakfast was cooked to perfection and it was the best I have had by a mile - all served with a smile in the lovely dining room. Michael & Joyce were great hosts with great banter & are very hospitable.
Normally, due to budget restraints, I stay at a chain of 'budget hotels' but it was actually cheaper to stay here and for a 5 star B&B, that is really something. I will definitely be staying here again when next in the area and I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonkywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Lovely place,very near to amenities but on a quiet street. Beautifully decorated and clean rooms. Great service and a fine Scottish breakfast. Would definately go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tltonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay in the four poster room but this place and its proprietors were fabulous. We had a great breakfast, great direcctions, good discussion and some excellent liquer before retiring. We would wholeheartedly recommend this place and hope we can get back there some day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We have been visiting Ayr on the weekend of the Gold Cup for many years and have stayed in many different hotels. Last year we stayed here and immediately rebooked for this year. The reasons are many; great accommodation, great price, great location etc. All of these factors would make us want to rebook but what makes it a must are Mike and Joyce. They are fantastic hosts, nothing is any problem to them and they go that extra mile to make the stay memorable. From providing home baked bread to the perfect remedy for a migraine, they can do it all. Our second stay was once more memorable and we have rebooked for next year and hopefully will be able to ever year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miller House Guest House
0.5 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#5 of 53 in Ayr
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coila Guest House
Coila Guest House
#7 of 53 in Ayr
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 26 The Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 26 The Crescent

Address: 26 Bellevue Crescent, Ayr KA7 2DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $88 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 26 The Crescent 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star bed and breakfast situated in the town of Ayr. First class Scottish Hospitality. All rooms en-suite. Traditional breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 26 The Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 26 The Crescent Hotel Ayr
26 The Crescent Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing