We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Memorable Stay”
Review of 26 The Crescent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
26 The Crescent
Ranked #6 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We have been visiting Ayr on the weekend of the Gold Cup for many years and have stayed in many different hotels. Last year we stayed here and immediately rebooked for this year. The reasons are many; great accommodation, great price, great location etc. All of these factors would make us want to rebook but what makes it a must are Mike and Joyce. They are fantastic hosts, nothing is any problem to them and they go that extra mile to make the stay memorable. From providing home baked bread to the perfect remedy for a migraine, they can do it all. Our second stay was once more memorable and we have rebooked for next year and hopefully will be able to ever year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 395 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

We could only stay at The Crescent for two nights but it was a memorable experience. We met Joyce and Michael very briefly whilst on holiday in Italy earlier in the year but were greeted like long lost friends they are both so welcoming and friendly. We were also greeted with the smell of baking which we were delighted to sample - the Empire biscuits were delicious. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated and furnished and immaculately clean, warm and welcoming. The attention to detail is amazing with extras such as complimentary water . The four poster room was a delight, very light and spacious and comfortable and the en-suite also very spacious. Joyce and Michael were very helpful in suggesting things to do and places to eat and booked tables for us at the restaurants. The neighbourhood is very quiet yet close to the town centre and the seafront (not the weather for beaches when we visited unfortunately!). The breakfast choice is excellent and cooked to perfection. We felt as if we had been staying with family and will certainly go back. The five star rating is very well deserved and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Crescent to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbriansx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrteam, Owner at 26 The Crescent, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind review,we where delighted that you both came and stayed with us at The Crescent for a few days. It brought back many happy memories of Lake Garda, please do keep in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

From the moment we walked up the walkway at The Crescent we could tell this was a special place. Michael and Joyce, the owners, paid great attention to every detail and made us feel sincerely welcome in their lovely guest house . What was so apparent was the cleanliness! Michael was extremely helpful in booking reservations for dinners and helping with all our questions. Joyce was our morning chef for a high-quality, beautifully presented breakfast. During our 2 1/2 week trip to Great Britian we both agreed this was our favorite place to stay. Ayr was a perfect location for my husband to play golf at Turnberry and to visit Troon and Preswick. Although I do not golf I had a wonderful time. The scenery in western Scotland is breathtaking. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestotravel0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrteam, Owner at 26 The Crescent, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2010

Thank you for your courteous comments and if you are ever back in Great Britain please do not hesitate to give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

welcome on arrival which set the tone for our



























lovely welcome on arrival which set the tone for our stay. location is perfect for rabbie burns heritage sites.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Read the reports on the above B&B and we were not disappointed. Although we were only staying overnight both hosts,Michael and Joyce ,could not have been more helpful or friendly. The house itself has a lovely welcoming and warm feel about it and the room we had was spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee,biscuits and water were all available.
The breakfast was lovely and served with a smile!!!
Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeGee1Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The appointments and details in this wonderful bed & breakfast were so well-kept that my wife and I tried very hard to find a speck of dust or one detail out of order - we could not find anything but a clean, well-furnished and up-to-date home away from home. This is simply the best-kept place we have ever stayed in, luxury hotels included.
We had spent a long day on the road and had to visit a friend in Ayr, so we did not arrive at the Crescent until quite late at night. Nevertheless, Michael was there to greet us and get us set up in a simply lovely, spacious room. We slept soundly, with no neighborhood noises to disturb us, and awoke to a sumptuous breakfast, ready for us when we came downstairs. Michael and his wife Joyce provided friendly conversation at breakfast, and helped us orient ourselves to the area. I was pleased to discover that both the beach and the downtown area were within very short walking distance. The nearby coast highway provided easily reachable sights and activities. My only regret is that we did not have more than two days to spend here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

There is not a bad word to say about this place!
Michael and Joyce are so welcoming and are a lovely friendly couple. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left they could not have done enough for us. The room(4 poster) was beautiful. Very clean,spacious,well decorated and the en suite was lovely too. The breakfast(full scottish and salmon and scrambled eggs)were cooked to perfection by "celebrity" chef Joyce with the service provided by Michael with a smile and a bit of good banter! On departure we spoke to them for half an hour like we were old friends and can't wait to go back. Once you stay here it will be hard pushed to find a better bed and breakfast.

p.s. if going out for a meal in ayr be sure to go to saffy's cafe or the treehouse. both excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin_w_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.5 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
0.3 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miller House Guest House
1.5 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
0.5 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#8 of 52 in Ayr
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 26 The Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 26 The Crescent

Address: 26 Bellevue Crescent, Ayr KA7 2DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $88 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 26 The Crescent 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star bed and breakfast situated in the town of Ayr. First class Scottish Hospitality. All rooms en-suite. Traditional breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 26 The Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 26 The Crescent Hotel Ayr
26 The Crescent Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing