We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one would believe the camaraderie a summer house engenders!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Miller House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Four golfers taking part in the Troon Golf week were recommended Miller House by the Local Tourist Authority. What an absolute gem of a hotel! John and Denise, "mine hosts", really go out oftheir way to give everyone who stays with them the best deal/experience thatthey can. The Hotel itself is immaculate, clean - good decor, modern furniture in the breakfast room, big bedroom and comfortable beds and everything worked! The TV in the room (good picture), the toilet flushed to order, the seat didn't rock, the shower didn't leak, the water was continually hot and the shower was exactly that, strong and continuous with a temperature dial that worked. The breakfasts were of high quality, none of your supermarket bacon here - Denise really excelled each day. Lots of choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts,BUT wha treally made it memorable for uswas the garden. Ripe apples, plums and pears available to pick off the many fruit trees AND the SUMMER HOUSE and patio. With it being only B&B wehad to find food in the evening. John recommended several establishments Wetherspoons first night, Air India second night (really the best Indian food I've eaten in years!) but after returning from Air India we sat in the Summer House and talked and laughed until after midnight. Enjoyed it so much that weasked John to recommend a local Chinese take-away. I bet it was the first time they had delivered to asummer house in the garden of a hotel. We had a great evening drinking wine and cream cake for dessert purchased from the local Morrisons till after midnight - we loved the experience. We had played Darley and Lochgreen courses in Troon, but we wanted to play Belleisle course in Ayr. John organised this for us with his hoteliers membership - amazing! Thanks again John, you were wonderful Denise. Will certainly return. Keith, Mark, Rob, Stuart

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopybelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 413 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2008

We have just returned home after a 4 day stay in Ayr, My husband, myself and 3 children. We choose this B & B after reading the excellent reviews, and I can tell you, Miller house is everything that people said it was in their reviews.
We arrived at Miller house slightly earlier than planned, but that wasn't a problem fo John & Denise. John welcomed us with a very cheery greeting, he really seemed down to earth and genuine, which I haven't really experienced before at other B & B's. John showed us round the back of the house where there was private parking & beautiful large garden with a little sun house. (please see pics).
John then showed us to our Family room. We had a private entrance round the back with our own front door key. I must say there was a few stairs to climb, but we did get used to it, Best to do them all at once as quick as you can!! The decor in stairway was beautiful with nice lamps, and there was lots of leaflets and information.
Our room was lovely...well there were 2 rooms...well three with the bathroom!!
The main room had a tv & video with a large pile of family films to watch. There was to stand chairs to sit on & a Sofa that pulled into a bed, this is where my 13 year old daughter slept. To your left there was a door to a large bathroom with w.c basin and bath (no shower :( ) but there was a shower attachment conected onto the taps which was great for washing hair. The bath was deep and really relaxing and soap,shampoo & conditioner was provided. There was a sky light in the bathroom that overlooked the garden (see pics) which was nice too. Another door at the other side of the bathroom lead into the big bedroom with two good sized doubles another basin & mirror another tv,Lamps,tea/coffee facilities,biscuits,bottled water!!! There was no wardrobe in this room but we managed to hang clothes on a coat stand. There was a large set of drawers though. Very relaxing room at night with the lamps on.
There was another door that led back into the main room. All bedding was crisp,clean and fresh and towels were white clean and fluffy replaced when needed.
At breakfast we had our own little area, that was beautiful and very handy for a family of five. Breakfast was cereal,yogurts,fruit juice, Full English or what ever you wanted, nothing was too much trouble. The childeren were made very welcome too, as sometimes when you go to B & B's children aren't made that welcome.
Our stay in Ayr was great ( weather was the only disappointment).
John gave us lots of advive and information, and recommendation on places to go and eat! Even provided a map! We didn't really meet denise as much but when we did she was lovely and cooked a mean breakfast and toast..toast...toast!!
What more can I say.. Highly recommended if your going to Ayr great for families with children couples or even single travellers. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catnut2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

great hotel,very friendly and helpful owners.Can arrange great golf games around area.The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was GREAT, nothing was to much bother with plenty of good advice for sightseers. The best part for me was the garden a real gem even with the wild rabbit. A great place to stay and see the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We were a group of six who stayed at Miller House for three nights in June.
The journey from Prestwick Airport takes only about ten minutes by car and Miller House is very easy to find. You could also take the train - only a few minutes walk from the train station to the b&b. While it is within walking distance of both the shopping area of Ayr and the long seafront, it is amazingly quiet both night and morning.
John and Denise are wonderful hosts and somehow always seem to have time to help with directions or suggestions for places to visit.
The rooms are spacious, the breakfast is excellent and the garden is a haven of peace. The garden room is great if you have mobility problems - or even if you don't!
I would definitely recommend this friendly b & b and would certainly stay here again if visiting Ayr.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Driving across Scotland from St. Andrews, we selected the Miller House in Ayr to spend the night before we took the ferry from Stranrear to Larne, N. Ireland, since Ayr was less than an hr. away from the port. We decided to stay an extra night and visit the castle and take a day off from the hustle and bustle of our car tour.

John and Denise were lovely hosts and put us up in the bungalow attached to the house, so that I didn't have to climb any stairs since I had a hip replacement several months ago.

It was such a convenience, as we parked the car right outside the door and in we went. The room was large enought, but a little snug. The bathroom however, was huge. Since we were in the back of the house, it was extremely quiet.

Plenty of private parking.

It was a pleasant stay and very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful, and all we had to do was come out our door and enter the kitchen a few feet away.

John was very helpful and advised us how to get to the library so that we could use a computer, and drove us to the tourist info office, because parking in that area was difficult. their recommendations for restaurants were great as well.

I highly recommend the Miller House in Ayr.

The garden and yard was beautiful and appealing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

This B&B is very close to the town centre, but in a quiet street.

I rolled home in the wee hours, but because I had a room with its own outside door, no-one was disturbed.

The owners are very personable, my bed was comfy, the price is a bargain and the breakfast was excellent. What more do you need?!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rosskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We feel we always take a slight risk when we book a B&B without knowing anything about it. With one notable exception, we've always found reasonably good accommodation, but with Miller House we think we hit the jackpot! We'd hardly got out the car before John was welcoming us and introducing us to Denise. There was an immediate apology because our room was being re-carpeted and was not quite ready, but they put us in another room, which was excellent, downstairs, with a promise we could have our 'proper' room for the following night. This room was fine, massive bathroom, and breakfast - Scottish/English with bacon, egg, sausage, tomato and scone - was piping hot and when we returned later in the day, our room was ready. You get your own keys for your room and the outside door, and as the B&B section is apart from the owners' accom you don't disturb them when you come in. And apparently there's no restrictions as you have your own key. All in all, a very good - no, an excellent! - find. And although we have relatives in the area, if we get an opportunity to visit Miller House again we certainly will. - Dave and Muriel

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBTDFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niamha, owner at Miller House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2008

Thank you for your kind review, it makes our job worthwhile. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
John & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
0.4 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
0.2 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 52 in Ayr
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#7 of 52 in Ayr
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller House Guest House

Address: 36 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $63 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miller House is a large Victorian bed & breakfast which is situated on Miller road in Ayr's town centre close to all local amenities, it is a spacious contemporary accommodation with its own private entrance and private off road parking. Recently refurbished to a high standard. 6 foot beds in most rooms, WI-FI & LCD TVs. We can also accommodate large parties and golf can be organized if you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Miller House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller House Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing