We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pampered princesses!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Where amazing views, begin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area. The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area.
The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
The lounge, somewhere to chill out, and catch up on Tv.
The kitchen.
The downstair powder room.
The Landing.
The hallway.
The Culzean Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Rozelle Suite.
The Rozelle, En Suite.
The Aaron suite.
The Alloway
Fascinating Views
Footsteps from your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
StellaGla...
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pampered princesses!”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A group of 12 pals stayed at this wonderful house at the weekend. The pictures on the website were impressive but did not do this beautiful house justice. We were welcomed by the owner, Margaret , who instantly became a dear friend as nothing was too much bother: she had prepared the most stunning pavlova which we enjoyed with complimentary fizz. Breakfast for the first day was in the fridge and to say it was a feast was selling it short. Every room was tastefully decorated and the bedrooms were beautiful beyond belief. I shard the Culzean room with my bestie and we slept on a marshmallow! We are already planning a return visit- I hope Margaret will have us back! You have not lived till you've been to the White House.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-Ross...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!! 5 Star house”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I went to The White House for my hen weekend with 11 friends, it was like home from home. Margaret who is just amazing, made our stay fantastic. From the decorations, cake, well stocked fridge and cupboards with breakfast stuff, to the thoughtful horseshoe that I got as a present, all the chocolates in the bedrooms and fresh flowers in my bedroom. The house itself is beautiful, every room is decorated to the highest standard. Everything about it was more than I expected. Thanks to Margaret, who then helped us out on the Saturday by transporting us to the Hollybush Inn where we had a fantastic meal. Margaret is a diamond and we are already planning another visit back to this wonderful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds, they are so comfortable
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley-l...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had a great weekend with family the house was so comfortable and furnished to a very high standard. My daughter had turned 30 and we went to celebrate her birthday and what a surprise we got when we arrived birthday cake, balloons, banners a very well stocked fridge and best of all a bottle of champagne the owner could not have done any better. All the family enjoyed their selves and the kids loved the house this is a beautiful house we will all be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort of the house
Liked least: the only down side was there was not enough seating in the main living area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther_mi...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation for a large family group.”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

From the moment I booked this house the owner was very warm and welcoming and she was always happy to answer my many questions on organising a family wedding party. This was important to me as I live in Spain and had no contacts in Ayrshire. The house is stunning with everything provided. The attention to detail is first class. The rooms are large, bright and tastefully decorated with lots of seating areas. The beds and bedding are of very high quality and I was delighted to find that each person was provided with a bathrobe. Real luxury.
The fridge was stocked with bacon, eggs, sausages and traditional Lorne sausage. The homemade pavlova for our arrival was a delightful touch. We were made to feel special on this important family occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high spec attention to detail
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were a group of 8 Spanish golfers who stayed at The White House for a week. The house had everything we needed and Margaret, the owner, looked after us magnificently. She had the house stocked with all the basics and greated us with several goodies.
The house is very well situated and is about a 20 minute drive to some great links golf courses.
We have been doing these trips for several years and it is one of the best houses we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redapple1...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Went to The White House with 12 friends to celebrate my 50th birthday and what a fantastic birthday I had. The house is amazing the photos on the website don't do it justice. It is spotlessly clean, the beds are so comfortable and the property is decorated to the highest standard you won't be disappointed!! The attention to detail is magnificent everything has been thought of to make your stay perfect. The house was decorate with balloons and banners there was bubbly on ice and a 50th pavlova. The table was beautifully set and there was everything in the fridge for a full Scottish breakfast for all of us. Margaret greeted us when we arrived and gave us a tour of the house and told us to get in touch if their was anything we needed during our stay she is one very special lady nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehous...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

In the White House writing this review and cannot begin to describe how marvellous this place is...so much so I don't want to leave tomorrow! Everything you can think of has been made available for your stay. The kitchen is fully stocked with every conceivable gadget...with a fridge stocked with essentials for a hearty breakfast! I could go on and on and on but you need to try this place for yourself...you will not be disappointed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing