We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food while chilling in the beer garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Newton Arms - CLOSED

The Newton Arms
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, British, Pub, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Pizza, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Our traditional, Scottish, Pub was built in the late 1800s and has been operated as The Newton Arms since then. In 2012 we undertook an extensive refurbishment- keeping the original bar but bringing a modern, relaxed and stylish environment to the old pub. We have modernised the exterior too with a return to the original black flags and white wash and a superb beer-garden out back with tables and a relaxed space for when the sun shines!Join us for a fantastic craft beer or ale or a delicious glass of wine and enjoy our library area for an intimate evening with friends. Dine at any table in the pub and try something tasty from our new menu with some amazingly creative and delicious options: from awesome chicken wings to slow-cooked pulled-pork or the famous Newton Burger, we have something for everyone. And if it's a first-class, authentic pizza you crave, we have our home-made range of gourmet pizzas all week (and 2 for £10 Wed - Fri). Try something different and enjoy The Newton Arms. Our kitchen is open Wednesday to Sunday 11.30Am to 8pm
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food while chilling in the beer garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Really cool and funky menu, really had a bit of difficulty making the decision in the end I went for haggis nachos and a baileys cheesecake with a super amazing choc sauce

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lumdecalps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, General Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Great response to our new menu, thank you very much! And thank you for posting a cracking photo of our Baileys cheesecake.

Deciding what to choose from the menu is certainly a big problem - just means you're going to have to come back and try something different the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    13
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“Defo a must try!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was in there for dinner Wednesday night....had Bubbas Shrimp and Grits, Pulled Pork Chiabbata and Baileys Cheesecake. Thoroughly enjoyed it, highly recommend the pulled pork!! staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and it was a quick and efficient service. Defo a must to try!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyBrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonTeam, General Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback and excellent recommendation. Glad to hear our pulled pork is a winner and it's good to know our food and service is consistently top notch. We're continually making improvements to deliver the perfect pub and it sounds like the changes to our menu has been a success. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Merits A Visit.Be Hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I visited with my children following a recommendation. The Menu was delightfully varied and priced competitively.We opted for the Jambalaya ( a paella style dish with prawns,chicken and chorizo) and the pizzas with a side of chips.The portions were generous and it is truly lovely to eat food knowing that it is freshly prepared.
The pub is spacious and bright and well furnished.
Anyone visiting Ayr, should stop off at The Newton Arms.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcljc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonTeam, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you and your children enjoyed The Newton Arms and appreciate what we are trying to achieve with our menu. Freshly made food is important to us and we are delighted that it has hit the mark. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My new local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My 1st visit to the changed Newton arms and i was pleasantly surprised,great atmosphere and food and they support the local brewery!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AyrKevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonTeam, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are really pleased to be offering you a new local. As you have noticed, a lot has changed at The Newton Arms and we are proud to be bringing some great local beers and craft ales from Scotland and beyond. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food once again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Went in with my mum and nephew. A round of newton burgers. Young guy that served us was great. Atmosphere is a 4 as it was a bit on the quiet side (but it was 1pm during easter holidays) so thats toebe expected. Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kennybarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonTeam, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Kenny, many thanks for your review and we are delighted that you all enjoyed our Newton Burgers. We are pleased that you had great service and had a relaxed lunch- I am sure that you will see things busier in the coming weeks, our new menu is proving really popular and we are about to launch some special lunchtime options including soups and sandwiches so drop in again and let us know what you think. Look forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Newton Arms also viewed

 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing