We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!”
Review of The Newton Arms - CLOSED

The Newton Arms
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our traditional, Scottish, Pub was built in the late 1800s and has been operated as The Newton Arms since then. In 2012 we undertook an extensive refurbishment- keeping the original bar but bringing a modern, relaxed and stylish environment to the old pub. We have modernised the exterior too with a return to the original black flags and white wash and a superb beer-garden out back with tables and a relaxed space for when the sun shines!Join us for a fantastic craft beer or ale or a delicious glass of wine and enjoy our library area for an intimate evening with friends. Dine at any table in the pub and try something tasty from our new menu with some amazingly creative and delicious options: from awesome chicken wings to slow-cooked pulled-pork or the famous Newton Burger, we have something for everyone. And if it's a first-class, authentic pizza you crave, we have our home-made range of gourmet pizzas all week (and 2 for £10 Wed - Fri). Try something different and enjoy The Newton Arms. Our kitchen is open Wednesday to Sunday 11.30Am to 8pm
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Came in for New Year's Eve lunch. Was fantastic! Starters amazing, main course amazing (too full for dessert). Definitely worth the money and very satisfying! The owner is really nice aswell! Staff were great! THANK YOU FOR A GREAT MEAL :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EleC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonTeam, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi and thanks for your great review and pictures! We are delighted that we met everything you were looking for over the festive period and hope that you will get a chance to join us again throughout the year. We really value and appreciate your feedback so many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for The Newton Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great meal, particularly liked the lentil and bacon soup. Very tasty. Everyone in our party of 12 enjoyed the food. Also, very friendly and attentive staff. Thanks to Patrick. Would go again when next in Ayr. Would recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

What a fantastic review! We are really happy that we managed to make the day special for you and your party with the food and service- that's our aim.

We really appreciate your review and recommendation- we are working hard to make The Newton Arms a welcoming and friendly place to enjoy food and drinks with friends and family and your response gives us encouragement to keep going with our plans.

Keep a watch on our latest offers and promotions and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited on a recent family trip to Ayr and what a good choice it was.

Food was excellent - well presented, filling and great value. Children's menus can often be an afterthought - but no so here. Our wee girl's dish was simple, but tasty and looked good.

The Newton Arms is the sort of place that would be great for a night out for those that like their pubs modern, but homely.

The new owners deserved credit for what they have done so far - long may it continue and would be delighted to return next time we are in town.

Take a chance when you are in Ayr. Well worth a look.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank musicman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to give us such a thoughtful and positive review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for and we are delighted to have matched your expectations when visiting Ayr.

The Children's menu is something we have thought about a lot and we have evolved our offerings since opening last year- it is important that our younger patrons are treated to the same great food and quality that everyone expects. As you will have noticed, nothing about our menus is bought in- we make our food fresh and we don't compromise with the children's menu.

We also have some great entertainment and I'm sure you would love to get along to one of our weekend nights (without the kids!). We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just had our lunch at the newton arms and I must say that the food and service where excellent. My wife had the chilli, which was delicious and a good portion, i had what i can only describe as the holy grail of macaroni cheese, if was was magnificent. The whole experience was a joy and we will definately be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philipm403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi folks and thank you so much for your really positive review. We are sorry for the late response but we have had some technical problems accessing our trip advisor account.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and that the food and service was as we are aiming for. The food is really important to us and the Chilli and Macaroni are something we have worked hard to make unique to The Newton Arms. There are some ingredients in there that we know helps to give it that little special twist.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Newton Arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place was pretty empty when we arrived for dinner on a Thursday evening apart from one other table and some drunks so the ambience was lacking. A window was being replaced so there was dust and a damp smell which was off-putting. There was football on the telly so we sat where we couldn't see it.

I feel that this place is trying to be all things to all people and satisfying none. If it wants to be a gastropub, ditch the telly and get the food standards up to match the drinks. Also replace the light bulbs that aren't working and dim the lights a bit.

We had an Itison voucher for two mains and two large glasses of wine which was great value.The red wine was lovely and this place has one of the best stocked gantries I have ever seen. Someone clearly knows their booze and their wine.

However, the food was disappointing. I think there's an inexperienced hand in the kitchen. I had the chicken wrapped in bacon with a cheese and leek sauce. The chicken itself was okay but the sauce looked and tasted as if someone had just warmed some cream and poured it over it - it was runny and the leek was hard to find - just some tiny flecks and there was no cheese - maybe it had run out - it wasn't what I would call a sauce. Some of the frozen chips were undercooked though there were plenty of them.

Based on the other reviews my experience may not have been typical but I had a bought a couple of vouchers and ended up not using them because of it. Instead we ate at nearby Fillipo's Bistro and it was fabulous. (There was football on the telly here too!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Owner at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

We are always pleased when our customers provide feedback to us on how we are doing and where we can improve.

I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to meet our own high standards regarding ambience and in particular, our food.

We are really trying hard to improve our menu and offer a consistently high level of quality and service to everyone. It is early days still for our kitchen and for our programme of refurbishment at The Newton Arms and so your comments serve to guide us in our efforts to bring a great eating and drinking venue to the area.

In particular we have invested in new staff and training, moving some customers away and welcoming many new customers which will hopefully go some way towards remediating the concerns you had regarding ambience.

I can assure you we have improved the quality since your visit (the window reparations you spoke of, gave me a timeframe for your visit) and we would very much like to welcome you back again in the near future and hear what you think.

Please feel free to contact the General Manager (Patrick) at any time if you wish give us another opportunity at providing you with an excellent night out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Newton Arms also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing