We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“positive change to Newton Arms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Newton Arms - CLOSED

The Newton Arms
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, British, Pub, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Pizza, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Our traditional, Scottish, Pub was built in the late 1800s and has been operated as The Newton Arms since then. In 2012 we undertook an extensive refurbishment- keeping the original bar but bringing a modern, relaxed and stylish environment to the old pub. We have modernised the exterior too with a return to the original black flags and white wash and a superb beer-garden out back with tables and a relaxed space for when the sun shines!Join us for a fantastic craft beer or ale or a delicious glass of wine and enjoy our library area for an intimate evening with friends. Dine at any table in the pub and try something tasty from our new menu with some amazingly creative and delicious options: from awesome chicken wings to slow-cooked pulled-pork or the famous Newton Burger, we have something for everyone. And if it's a first-class, authentic pizza you crave, we have our home-made range of gourmet pizzas all week (and 2 for £10 Wed - Fri). Try something different and enjoy The Newton Arms. Our kitchen is open Wednesday to Sunday 11.30Am to 8pm
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“positive change to Newton Arms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

1st visit but certainly not my last. If you have not visited yet give it a try you will not be disappointed.
Lovely surroundings to have a drink and relax.
Service and hospitality 1st class, well cooked food beautifully presented and all at very reasonable prices.
Added bonus is the nice beer garden.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 968mary155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Mary,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We have really worked hard to get The Newton Arms looking and feeling like it should. I am sure if you remember the old place you will know that we have completely changed it.

Our aim is to provide a traditional, scottish pub with great food, relaxed atmosphere and generally bring something different to our customers. The beer garden has been a real bonus over the better weather but we are still planning further work out there. It is a nice spot for a drink and certainly when the sun shines, lovely to eat out there.

As we go on we are looking to find out what our customers like and we are always grateful for people taking time to respond to us on tripadvisor, in person or dropping us an email via the website. The new menu launches this week and has some great new dishes on there as well as some of the favourites- always with price and quality in mind. We are also doing daily lunch and dinner specials so keep an eye on the Facebook page or on the website. Remember, if you like live music, we are doing our best to get a diverse range of live entertainment for most weekends.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    13
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Came here over the weekend and expected a bit more after the five star reviews. The service was very good- friendly and welcoming, though it was quiet. The soup was a little strange- sweet potato tasted overly lemony to the point of sourness, though it was edible and we ate it. The mains were fine- good chips, great beef on the pie though the crust was a disappointment. I usually like my pie surrounded in pastry rather than with one stuck on top.

It was a shame as this place has potential. The details need looking at- margarine served with good bread instead of butter, the pie crust etc. The rest is already there. Very welcoming and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emjay1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is really helpful for us to have your response as we are doing everything we can to build the kind of restaurant that inspires us- you are looking for everything we are so we are grateful for you taking time to highlight some of the work we still need to do.

Firstly, as a butter enthusiast, I can completely agree that marg is unacceptable! There is no place on the restaurant table for margarine (in this century) other than perhaps in some baking. This should never have come out with our food and we are speaking to our staff this morning to find out how this could have happened. We are very sorry that this was not as it should have been.

In terms of the soup- we are working hard to keep our menu simple but with the odd pleasant surprise. This particular soup was a favourite of one of our chefs and perhaps needs a little ‘newton’ refinement. We appreciate your comments and we will do some research into the recipe for this one. We are working all of the time on our new menu offerings- the soup forms part of our daily specials options and we are still investigating our customer favourites as well as the new and experimental ideas.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the chips and steak pie- albeit with the crust dilemma! This is something we have debating for hours in delivering our menu- we will have another chat and see what we can do about the pastry ideas. It seems there is a fairly even split on the choices of pastry with pie or pie in pastry. The steak pie has been a really popular dish and we do make sure it is made to a fantastic recipe with tradition and flavour being paramount so we will chat again and see what our options are.

Your feedback will help us enormously as we continue to develop our restaurant and pub. It is great to hear that we have got some things right and that you, like us, can see the great potential of a traditional, Scottish pub with superb food. I hope that you will get the chance to visit us again in the future. The new menu should be launched this week- attention to detail and great pub restaurant food is our aim so we appreciate all of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice wee pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This pub is round the corner from my office, so we popped in for a bite of lunch.

The service is very friendly and the food is both tasty and good vale for money.

Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for dropping by and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We are launching our new menu soon with some great meals staying there and an additional range of choices as well as updated daily specials. Lunch is one of our priorities for the local business community- fast, tasty, creative and good value. Please head in again and let us know what you like and what you would like to see more of.

Thanks for the review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad day became a good one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

On a recent trip to Ayr we had a car accident. While waiting for repairs we ventured into this restaurant and our day became a good one. The food was excellent after a small blip with the soup, which was remedied immediately. The soup was delicious and our Lamb dish was superb and the hospitality and assistance proffered by the owner made our day. I recommend The Newton Arms to everyone and next year when we return it will be our first port of call.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Folks,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that we managed to brighten your day a little and that your experience with our food and hospitality was positive. We are in the process of refining and defining our menu and it's great to be able to get feedback. We are glad that we also managed to fix the soup and you will be joining us again soon.

The lamb was part of our ongoing menu development and we really enjoyed getting the recipe together- it was actually voted for by our followers on Facebook!

Best wishes and thanks again.
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cosy and bright wee pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Found this newly refurbished bar just over the bridge in Ayr. Stopped in for a quick drink and glad we did. Great value and good selection of wines! Good lunchtime menu with a daily special. We didn't get anything to eat but wouldn't hesitate to return when I'm back in Ayr.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolzKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for the great review.

We have been working hard to get the pub into the bright and happy space it is and we are pleased you found us for a quick drink. We'd love to hear when you have tried out menu- food is really important to us and we are in the process of getting our menu refined and working well. Your pics are great and really appreciated. We've just had a new window put in on the other side to where you were sitting (opposite the library area) and that's really brightened it up more. Of course, the beer garden out the back is now up and running and we are planning a lot more work with that too...here's hoping the sun shines!

Best wishes and thanks for coming in to The Newton Arms.
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Newton Arms also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing