We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do better”
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 186 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must do better”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I note all the positive reviews for the Waterfront and I may have been here on an off day.

First the positives. Service was excellent and cocktails at 3.50 were certainly worth the effort. The setting is also a good one and I imagine would be especially nice on a summers day sitting by the river.

However, our food was distinctly middle of the road. A starter of scallops, celeriac and black pudding was faultless and certainly recommended. My duck combination had a dry croquette of confit leg and both plates were lt down by scruffy and clearly cooked an hour ago veg. My wife had chicken/haggis which was nice but again was plagued by the poor veg. Portions were also small given the relatively high prices.

I would recommend here for excellent drinks/atmosphere but food wise there appears to be worrk to do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    156
    39
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value and quality”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our 3rd or 4th time at the Waterfront. Not once have we been disappointed. The food is of a very high standard and the service impeccable. Two courses for £ 9.99, you cant get much better than that. Plates very hot and so was our meals. Staff very attentive. Atmosphere even at 5pm was good with lots of people in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABW814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
239 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal - good food and service”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were staying overnight in Ayr on our way up to Arran for a weeks holiday. As it was a Friday evening and we had not booked anywhere we decided to have our meal early in the evening.

We had read reviews of the Waterfront on Tripadvisor and also looked at the menu on the website and looked our sort of place. We walked up to the restaurant and we were initially concerned that it was fully booked, indeed the more "formal" dining area was full but fortunately the Waterfront has a bar area where you can eat. We managed to find a small table overlooking the road and settled down to look at the menu.

We decided to have a starter each, (Mussels and Cullen Skink) and share a vegetarian platter with a side order of chips and we asked for it all the to be bought to the table at the same time. When the waitress started to bring the food she mentioned there was a lot of it and asked if we would like to move to one of the larger tables with a view of the harbour. They even helped to move our drinks over to the new table,

The food was very good. The Mussels were served in a cream and garlic sauce and the Cullen Skink was very tasty. The vegetarian platter was an interesting combination of dishes, Chick Peas and Couscous, Mushroom Fricassee, Lemon Granita and Mozzarella with peppers. The side order of chips with rosemary and sea salt were excellent - highly recommended. We just had mineral water with the meal and I had a coffee.

We really enjoyed our meal, food and service very good, a great start to our holiday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First class food and view”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A lovely summer evening, we dined on the terrace overlooking the river, everything first class.
Food was excellent, weather was perfect, view of the river with the swans was a joy

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianinayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“Terrific lunch!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a very pleasant lunch at the recently opened Waterfront. It's in a prime position overlooking the river Ayr and boasts a restaurant, a bar with dining area, and a large beer garden.

We opted to dine in the attractive bar which had echoes of french brasserie styling featuring high stools & tables, cosy booths and more traditional seating at the windows with the view.The vibe was laid-back and the staff were very friendly & professional; nothing was too much trouble.

The menu was fairly extensive and had something for most tastes. There was also a smaller menu of reasonably priced lighter lunchtime specials. Fresh, good quality, and well prepared ingredients were the order of the day. We couldn't have been happier with our choices. Even the chips were fab.

As a vegetarian its lovely when a restaurant has more than just one token veggie item on the menu. The Waterfront have certainly put some thought into this with their mouthwatering sounding risotto, pasta dishes & sandwich options. In an ideal world I'd love to see a veggie burger on the menu too, something like an haloumi, mushroom or falafel based affair perhaps? Just throwing that out there. I love a burger!

I would wholeheartedly recommend The Waterfront as a lovely informal lunch-spot, or somewhere for a special evening meal. Try it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing