We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and lots of it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balgarth Pines

The Balgarth Pines
Ranked #15 of 184 Restaurants in Ayr
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Balgarth Pines is a contemporary, ambient Bar & Restaurant in the bustling suburbs of Ayr providing high quality food & drink in a relaxed, modern and comfortable venue. The familiar buzz of the Blaw Wearie Bar, aptly named after the par four 3rd hole at the famous Turnberry Golf Course, has returned with the bartenders offering craft beers, fresh cocktails, selected wines and a warming whisky list. Open 7 days, 9am 'til late.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and lots of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We have been here 3 times now whilst down from Glasgow. Twice for breakfast and this time for dinner. Have never been disappointed. The food is always lovely:well cooked, tasty and well presented with loads of choice. Great portion sizes too. Have always found the staff to be friendly and helpfull. The location is lovely, and its even better on a sunny day when you can sit outside in the peaceful gardens. Cant fault the Balgarth at all, would highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brycii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgarth P, Manager at The Balgarth Pines, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Balgarth Pines. We are happy you like it here and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    180
    73
    46
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Second Chance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

A second chance after a mediochre visit 3 weeks ago. Food is still very good but the service does not match up. From our arrival, when we were told that someone had phoned in to cancel the table, to our checkout experience, the service was not good.
The issue with the table appeared to be that 4 of our party of 10 had arrived and someone had drawn a line through the booking, presumably to indicate that the booked party had arrived, but the waitress thought that this meant the booking had been cancelled. It was sorted out very quickly but shows a lack of training and co-ordination among the staff.
Menus were issued and drinks orders taken reasonably quickly but the children's menus are designed for children to colour in while waiting but only one was given to share between 2 children. A second children's menu was requested but only arrived after a second request.
There was a mstake made with the main course order for one of our party but this was put right fairly quickly. However, apart from the wrong order which you would expect to be a little delayed, there was a wait of fully 10 minutes between service of the first main courses to the service of the final main course. In fact the replacement main course, as a result of the error, was served before the final main was served to the remaining member of our party. By the time everyone had been served, the mains which were delivered first were starting to cool. Surely it is good practice for the kitchen to have all the meals for one table ready for service at the same time. The situation was only saved by the fact that the plates were all hot.
Waiting stafff did not seem to be organised with several staff coming to ask the same question in close succession.
The checkout problem was just a technical issue in that the waitress could not get the card reader to work, had to go and get another card reader and then had to move to the entrance hall to get a signal.
I do not expect to be returning to this restaurant and will try one of the many others in the town. This is a great pity because the food and atmosphere are good but the service is letting the restaurant down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pippin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgarth P, Manager at The Balgarth Pines, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Balgarth Pines. I apologize that you feel your last visit here was mediocre. We have taken all of your comments and advice on board. Should you have a similar experience in future I would advise you to seek a member of the management team when in the premises so we can rectify any issues you may have before settling your bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Great value Sunday roast had here on a very busy Sunday afternoon. Had the two course Sunday roast special and it was superb and great value for money. The menu had a great selection of starters and roasts. Didn't try the desserts as I was full but I will try them the next time.

Helpful?
Thank Cdjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgarth P, Manager at The Balgarth Pines, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, thanks! We are happy you felt that The Balgarth Pines Sunday Roast was good value for money.. even without a third course!
We look forward to see you back shortly to try one of our desserts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastc meal with wonderful service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had a celebration lunch for 10 yesterday.Great food - Service was fantastic, all staff could not do enough for us. All done with a smile.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LWSJL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgarth P, Manager at The Balgarth Pines, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for your generous review. We are most please that you had a good time here with your party and we hope to see you all again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thank you Itison”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

An offer on the Itison website meant we had lunch here for the first time, but certainly not the last. The menu offered a wide ranging selection of food and wines. The young staff were very quick and efficient and the kitchen produced generous portions which were cooked perfectly. Looking around the other tables showed everyone obviously enjoying their meals and their choices all looked as tempting as ours. Without the voucher our two courses each and two glasses of wine would have come to just under £50, which would have been excellent value. The car park often looks busy when we drive past, so reserving a table would probably be recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMPH181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgarth P, Manager at The Balgarth Pines, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
An offer on the Itison website meant we had lunch here for the first time, but certainly not the last. The menu offered a wide ranging selection of food and wines. The young staff were very quick and efficient and the kitchen produced generous portions which were cooked perfectly. Looking around the other tables showed everyone obviously enjoying their meals and their choices all looked as tempting as ours. Without the voucher our two courses each and two glasses of wine would have come to just under £50, which would have been excellent value. The car park often looks busy when we drive past, so reserving a table would probably be recommended.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to give us your feed back. We really appreciate it! We are pleased you felt that the Itison deal was great value for money and hope to see you back in the near future .. for another deal perhaps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Balgarth Pines also viewed

 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Balgarth Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing