We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant - Best in Ayr” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Larisa's Greek Taverna - CLOSED

Larisa's Greek Taverna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: Newly opened restaurant. United Kingdom
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant - Best in Ayr”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This has to be one of the very best places to eat in Ayr. Truly authentic Greek food cooked with the freshest ingredients. Of all of the food we had you really could not say that any one dish stood out they were all fantastic.

The atmosphere was also great, I found it hard to believe I was in Scotland and not somewhere in the Med. The service was also top class and very friendly and welcoming. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who has a taste for a quality food service and atmosphere.

5 + stars

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    1
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sit back and Enjoy some lovely Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

from the minute you walk in , you sense a great atmosphere, Both Stell and larissa provide a warm welcome, to be honest the Meze, Souvlaki, meats and fish are superbly cooked



Se if you can Stellios to show you some Greek dancing... a wonderful night....... thanks to all

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsweet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sooooo yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have been here twice now and it's fab! So fresh and really tasty, if u think u may not like Greek food don't worry u will love this as have to say I thought I wouldn't first time I went. Great atmosphere and bring ur an bottle which works out good if a group of u. Have told everyone and defo my fav place just now!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Larisa's was a thoroughly enjoyable meal. We ate from the a la carte menu and still found the meal to be reasonably priced. My other half had the Meze for one...but this is definitely enough for two...you will definitely not leave the place feeling hungry. Only complaint I would have was that there was a large party being hosted in the restaurant and the kitchen appeared to be over worked, so one of the Meze courses was cold, while another came out late, after we had finished our meal. However staff were very friendly and so helpful, and the party gave a great atmosphere, overall we both really enjoyed the experience and would definitely go again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Braffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Larisa's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hi
My daughter (age 12) and I decided to eat here, when we were on a camping trip.
We both love Greek food and this restaurant reminded me of Tavernas in Greece as they have a\ grill at the front of the restaurant.
We opted for the £9.95 2 course meal- starter and main course.
We had keftedes to start- magic!
Then my daughter had a stuffed chicken dish and I had pork in a wine sauce- both were excellent.
All in all well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeybabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larisa's Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing