We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class Guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craggallan Guest House
Ranked #19 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st Class Guest house”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a weekend at the Craggalan Guest House. We had room 6 with the conservatory and private garden leading from this. Everything from cleanliness, staff, location to seafront and town centre were fantastic. The breakfast is amazing, you have a tick list which you complete the night before, selecting what you want and specifying a time. Couldn't fauly a thing. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LornaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had initially booked into BytheSea, Craggallan's sister B&B. We were upgraded to a family room at the Craggallan (only a few doors away). The room was huge, immaculate and had a great standard of furnishings. The breakfast was cooked to perfection with good quality items. Check out was pleasant and the young gentleman who checked us out was very polite and attentive, a credit to the business. I would not hesitate to book here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Ayr.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

In June we spent three weeks in the British Isles at five different Hotels/B&B's. The Craggallen was definitely our favorite! The combination of quiet comfort & location was unbeatable. One block from the beach (Ayr's beaches were the nicest we saw on our trip) and within easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants, the location was perfect. Add a friendly accommodating staff and amazing breakfasts made to order, we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There's a room on the first floor with attached conservatory. It includes private access to a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrr2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited the Craggallan Guest House in Ayr recently and found it to be excellent. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated and the shower was very modern. The breakfast was excellent and more than you can eat. The staff were very helpful and a great time was had.

Room Tip: Can only speak for the rooms we had, both were clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClasgowMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed one night at this lovely B & B. It's located close to the Esplanade and the city center. The rooms are clean and freshly decorated and the staff helpful and friendly. Apart from the usual breakfast there was a wide variety of fruits.

Room Tip: Take a stroll up the Esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a b& b before, decided to give it a go and stayed here for two nights with my husband a son. The b&b is beautifully decorated to a very high standard, with lots of lovely wee extras. My only issue was that the owner does not stay in the house and guests are given keys to come and go as they please. As a result, on our second night, some guests came back late and continued socialising until well after two - going outside for cigarettes every 20 minutes and banging doors in the process.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purtyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Charming B&B with excellent hosts, great breakfasts to gird us for our day, strong WiFi, and walking distance to evening fare. Had a wee bit of trouble navigating from Glasgow to the location, but that was our failing and not the hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardiffjops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
876 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bythesea
Bythesea
#14 of 53 in Ayr
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#6 of 53 in Ayr
328 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craggallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craggallan Guest House

Property: Craggallan Guest House
Address: 8 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Craggallan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Craggallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craggallan Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing