We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craggallan Guest House
Ranked #19 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

An absolutely wonderful B&B located right near the beach. Our accommodation was perfectly charming. We had a small room on the main floor with a beautiful private solarium. The room was immaculate. Breakfast was fabulous, with a lot of choice. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location. Room finished to a really high standard, spotless and comfortable. Staff very pleasant. Better than most hotels in Ayr. Well deserving of it's 4 stars. Great value for money. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chucklesisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere clean and affordable to stay in Ayr, this is the place. The please is ideal for stag parties and also family trips. This is the second time we have stayed here. Plus you get a great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonT534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Gorgeous decor throughout the house, comfy, cosy, immaculate rooms with everything you need for the stay, amazing choice of breakfasts and friendly efficient staff all make this guesthouse one of the best places to stay in Ayr along with its sister guesthouse Bythesea which is a few doors along on the same street. Ideally situated 1 street from the beach and close to the main shopping area with lots of places locally for drinks and meals. We have been going to either of these guest houses for many years now and would recommend to anyone going to Ayr to try and get booked into either for their stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at craggallan when down at ayr races check in was quick rooms r spotless shower was good and easy to work breakfast was first class great fry up two sausages two eggs two tottie scones two rashers of bacon black pudding toast beans mushroom n tomatoe or there is fruit marmalade jam cearial tea coffe u have everythin n even had an iron in room great we place to stay first class service with a first class price £100 for 4 adults in 2 r double rooms will defo b staying hear again maybe in summer time as it was so cold had a great indian meal at ayr india only a short walk from craggallan then a good night out at smithys bar lots of resturants n pubs nearby as is the beach we had great view from our top room floor looking out to the sea

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowgang1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Whilst on a week long trip to Scotland, we found ourselves having a stopover in Ayr so chose to stay at Craggallan for the night.

Arrived early evening and were checked in, our room was located on the top floor but we didn't mind the stairs! The room itself was small with a single and double bed, but cosy. An en-suite was also included which consisted of toilet/shower, as well as a nice chair. We had a good view from the room out towards the sea, which was a few minutes walk away.

Decided to head into the town and grab some food, there's no shortage of places to eat and Ayr is a reasonably sized town. We opted for the Wetherspoons which is actually inside an old church!

Had an excellent nights sleep, the bed was so comfortable if there wasn't a train to catch I could have stayed there all day.

I'd also give the cooked breakfast top marks (we had chosen the night before by using a checklist), which was served in the front room.

If I was in Ayr again, I would not hesitate to return to Craggallan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonB125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went to craggallan for my birthday had a great two days...(weather was rotten ...but hey what do expect for this time of year....craggallan was a great find room was lovely nice and clean..breakfast was good ....would i go back yes definately.......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bythesea
Bythesea
#14 of 53 in Ayr
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#6 of 53 in Ayr
328 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craggallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craggallan Guest House

Property: Craggallan Guest House
Address: 8 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Craggallan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Craggallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craggallan Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing