We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craggallan Guest House
Ranked #21 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went to craggallan for my birthday had a great two days...(weather was rotten ...but hey what do expect for this time of year....craggallan was a great find room was lovely nice and clean..breakfast was good ....would i go back yes definately.......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Arrived at this B&B after booking it last minute. was in a party of 6 people and we booked 3 double rooms, all the rooms were very well decorated and clean. breakfast was brilliant with a very wide range of options available. would stay here again and again. just one point if you book the downstairs room with attached conservatory remember to close the blinds.

Room Tip: all the double rooms offer value for money but the triple room is best of all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiftblade1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We only spent one night here and arrived after 9pm. Nonetheless we had a warm and friendly welcoming. We were greeted by the owner and were quickly shown to a spacious, spotless room which was beautifully decorated with a large en-suit. We chose our breakfast from a varied menu and found it delicious! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent a couple of nights in Ayr at this B&B recently to celebrate our first anniversary. I was a bit dubious as had never stayed in a B&B before, will definitely be back to this one. Room was beautifully decorated, spacious with a very comfortable double bed, big bathroom and a view over the rooftops to the sea. Sore from travelling I was delighted to find a hot water bottle in the cupboard in the basket with the hairdryer. Also with the tea / coffee tray the most delicious shortbread I have ever tasted. In the morning the breakfast was amazing, freshly cooked to order a Scottish breakfast to keep you going all day - as the girls said when our eyes about fell out our heads when it was served. Fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, fruit juice and toast were also available, served with a laugh and a smile, the staff certainly made the visit for us better as they told us where everything was in Ayr and what to do and see. The information pack in the room was second to none, it was a shame the wi fi was not working but hey its was our anniversary, it could all wait. I can honestly say we will definitely be back. I had never been to Ayr before and have come home with the feeling of unfinished business. Can't wait. £100 for 2 nights for both of us - exceptional value for a luxury stay. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with my son and his fiancee. Was born in Ayr and knew the area well, and Craggallan was situated in an excellent spot, close to amenities, restaurants, town, and the beach. The rooms we had were spotless, well equipped, and very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, and very substantial, and the staff who served and cleaned were friendly and polite. Parking was available on the street, albeit not always outside the property, but near enough. The only query I would mention, was that of the owner, whom we had to go four doors down to get her, after being met by one of the guests on our arrival, who were German and us and them were struggling for an understanding. We did eventually meet the owner and received our room keys, and that was the last time we saw the owner, as on checkout it was the lovely lady who cooks breakfast and cleans who took payment on out departure. That said, I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but most rooms are upstairs on two floors, so anyone with mobility problems wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed as a party of 6 booked 3 rooms for a 1 night stay. Check-in was quick and staff very friendly, all rooms have a very high standard of cleanliness and decor is lovely, fresh towels, soap, shampoo, hair dryer, ironing board and iron provided.

Breakfast is beautiful with plenty to choose from.

I would highly recommend this hotel it's a 2 minute walk into Ayr town centre and customer service is excellent. We were all made feel very welcome by every member of staff

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARRIEBFAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked this guesthouse for an overnight as a treat with another couple, we arrived to find we were in a ground floor room with a conservatory, where else would you get that!!. The room itself was lovely as was the bathroom both very modern and contemporary, breakfast great no reason to leave here hungry. Overall we had a great overnight and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, however if you have mobility problems like me go for the ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0 mi away
Bythesea
Bythesea
#13 of 52 in Ayr
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#7 of 52 in Ayr
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craggallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craggallan Guest House

Address: 8 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $64 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craggallan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Craggallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craggallan Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing