We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horizon Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western House Hotel(Ayr)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
271
187
66
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
187
66
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvista restaurantattic roomdog friendly hotelsea frontsea viewlovely hotelshort breakbooked this hotellounge areaenjoyable staynight breakfamily roomisle of arrancomfy bedtown centrefirst classovernight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 566 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great hotel 100m from the beach & only 5 min walk into town. Staff very helpful. Rooms nice & clean one of the few hotels who welcome dogs of all sizes. We've stayed in December last year & June this year. Looking forward to going again soon. We had 2 nights with breakfast you can even have haggis! With 1 evening meal iincluded in the deal for £99.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned from a three day break at the Horizon. The hotel is lovely the room we had was excellent with a lovely sea view and very clean,the bathroom was rather small with a couple of issues such as a broken sink plug and heated towel rail didn't work but I loved the walk-in shower although the pull cord would not turn off. I filled in the comments card highlighting these issues and i have no doubt the hotel will deal with these. The food was excellent especially the desserts but one of the best things about this hotel is the staff nothing was to much bother and they are very friendly. There was a wedding on the Saturday of our stay which didn't interfere too much with us except for a bit noise in the corridor from kids running about and we were asked to move our car so the wedding party were given preference. All in all if we were to visit Ayr again we would stay at the Horizon.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pennywise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was the 3rd visit to the Horizon and once again it was a pleasurable stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff extremely polite and friendly.

The restaurant was comfortable and the breakfast choice very good. Our friends complete with little dog came to join us for lunch and they were also made very welcome.

The hotel is in a first rate position on the sea front with wonderful views to Arran and the heads of Ayr. It is only a short walk to the harbour and the town centre.

Room Tip: Attic family room quiet with great views but not good for the unfit! Room 5 on the ground floor is both spacious and comfortable,
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marylynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Horizon several times. It started when we had our dog, Charlie. The Horizon always makes your dog welcome, as they are themselves dog lovers. The Staff are warm and very friendly. They bend over backwards to help make your stay a happy one. The rooms are spacious, clean and warm with great views over the Clyde estuary, looking over to the beautiful Isle of Arran. The food is really nice and they have had a recent menu change which is very good. I look forward to our next stay at the Horizon, and the one after that as well Lol.

Room Tip: We paid an extra £5 for a larger room. Well worth it. The only reason I have not marked the Gym or the pool is because I have never used them, although I assume they will be very good by the standards of the rest of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very helpful staff, nice bar & restaurant area. The rooms are standard and clean, being on a golfing holiday we just wanted somewhere to sleep comfortably and the hotel delivered.

The hotel is right on the seafront and has lovely views.

Ayr centre is also within walking distance with some fantastic chip shops nearby

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammasterj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews