We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, you can take ur dog to”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great hotel 100m from the beach & only 5 min walk into town. Staff very helpful. Rooms nice & clean one of the few hotels who welcome dogs of all sizes. We've stayed in December last year & June this year. Looking forward to going again soon. We had 2 nights with breakfast you can even have haggis! With 1 evening meal iincluded in the deal for £99.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 543 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned from a three day break at the Horizon. The hotel is lovely the room we had was excellent with a lovely sea view and very clean,the bathroom was rather small with a couple of issues such as a broken sink plug and heated towel rail didn't work but I loved the walk-in shower although the pull cord would not turn off. I filled in the comments card highlighting these issues and i have no doubt the hotel will deal with these. The food was excellent especially the desserts but one of the best things about this hotel is the staff nothing was to much bother and they are very friendly. There was a wedding on the Saturday of our stay which didn't interfere too much with us except for a bit noise in the corridor from kids running about and we were asked to move our car so the wedding party were given preference. All in all if we were to visit Ayr again we would stay at the Horizon.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pennywise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was the 3rd visit to the Horizon and once again it was a pleasurable stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff extremely polite and friendly.

The restaurant was comfortable and the breakfast choice very good. Our friends complete with little dog came to join us for lunch and they were also made very welcome.

The hotel is in a first rate position on the sea front with wonderful views to Arran and the heads of Ayr. It is only a short walk to the harbour and the town centre.

Room Tip: Attic family room quiet with great views but not good for the unfit! Room 5 on the ground floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marylynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Horizon several times. It started when we had our dog, Charlie. The Horizon always makes your dog welcome, as they are themselves dog lovers. The Staff are warm and very friendly. They bend over backwards to help make your stay a happy one. The rooms are spacious, clean and warm with great views over the Clyde estuary, looking over to the beautiful Isle of Arran. The food is really nice and they have had a recent menu change which is very good. I look forward to our next stay at the Horizon, and the one after that as well Lol.

Room Tip: We paid an extra £5 for a larger room. Well worth it. The only reason I have not marked the Gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very helpful staff, nice bar & restaurant area. The rooms are standard and clean, being on a golfing holiday we just wanted somewhere to sleep comfortably and the hotel delivered.

The hotel is right on the seafront and has lovely views.

Ayr centre is also within walking distance with some fantastic chip shops nearby

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammasterj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great location but the room was tiny, hair dryer broken, the bed was old and lumpy and the toilet seat was broken. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. We have stayed a few times here and feel that this time it was not value for money. Best time to go is in the winter months, although the weather is unpredictable you really do get value for money. The staff were very pleasant and attentive to customers. Overall not the best stay this time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiejf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great hotel right on the beach, Very comfortable and relaxed.
The staff are very friendly.
Breakfast is good but it is serve youself toast :(
We have stayed here seceral times - initially because they accepted dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger, sea facing rooms which cost more but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank moragg868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#7 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $63 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing