We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Clean and Friendly”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The staff were friendly and when I told them the bed was very hard they put feather mattresses on top - great customer service. Great location for Ayr - near the shore and within walking distance to shopping and pubs. The room was very small. If you won't be your room a lot - its perfectly adequate. Weather permitting it has a very nice patio area. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    164
    57
    22
    12
See reviews for
92
266
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Arrived with no reservation, however, were offered a nice room for 90L. Room was clean, comfortable, staff friendly and eager to assist. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Are willing to bargain a bit on the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The room was relatively clean (few biscuit crumbs on the bed and bathroom had a few hairs around and about) but was very drab and dreary. Size wise it was also a bit of a squash. However the restaurant downstairs was very good, had a very nice evening meal and breakfast had a good selection. Good location for beach and shops, short distance walking for both. Staff too were also all very helpful. All in all, the hotel did the job, but was not spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stripeymule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Paid £110 for 1 night in this hotel we booked a king size room but we got 2 single beds pushed together and in the morning they had separated leaving a big gap furniture was ripped and worn no towels in the room and the toilet seat was absolutely filthy complained when checking out but the staff were very rude so I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

One of the best hotels my wife and I have stayed at for some time ,we very made to feel special by the very friendly staff. The meals were excellent .We will stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Second time for us at this hotel. Wasn't sure what to expect cos I'd read a few dubious reviews! Okay it's not 5* but then we didn't pay 5* prices! We paid for and got very good 3* room. good food and friendly efficient staff - what more can you ask? We didnt pay a fortune and we were more than happy with everything on our visit.
I don't know how people rate hotels: do they go with notebooks + dirtometers and spend their visits checking out everything! I dont need to run my finger over the skirting, look at the toilet brush (uggh) and check under the bed! So read some of these reviews with a pinch of salt - some people will never be pleased!

Room Tip: We were in disabled access rooms both visits and both rooms well furnished. We had a different loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed in the Horizon Hotel, with my new wife :-) We had a lovely room and were made to feel really special. We had sunset walks along the promenade and had a lovely dinner in the restaurant. For starter we had the tempura prawns and for main we had a lovely steak cooked to perfection a nice coffee and felt very relaxed before heading up the stairs to our room, the views were nice and we were very comfortable. The rooms were well cleaned and had everything we required. Ayr is a nice place to visit and we would recommend to anyone for a nice weekend away which is both reasonably priced and well located.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing