We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & Comfy Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Angus
Level Contributor
431 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great food & Comfy Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a great hotel and easy to find on the esplanade. The initial welcome on reception was very warm and welcoming. I stayed in room 10 and was shown along the corridor to my room. This is a very spacious double room on the ground floor. It is very tastefully decorated and has a sea view looking across the road and car park to the beach. The room was very cosy with a comfortable bed/mattress and clean, crisp sheets. I had dinner in the hotel and was not disappointed. The quality of the food is great and again the staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly and attentive. There is a great choice in the menu to suit all tastes and budgets. The room was quiet with no noise from guests in neighbouring rooms. A good choice awaited me at breakfast with meals being cooked quickly to order. All in all I would recommend this hotel and although I have stayed in Ayr on a regular basis have never used this hotel before. The hotel is right on the beach so is a 5-10 minute walk into town. There is a large free car park adjacent to the hotel. The only minor downside was the obligatory laundry sacks lying in the corridor – the same as in previous reviews. I did mention this at check out and the receptionist said that they something struggled for space. The front of the hotel is relatively modern and very stylish. Some of the back corridors in the older part of the hotel are in need of painting. The only other comment was that, in line with previous reviews was that empty containers were found in the showers. These were minor issues and overall I was impressed with this comfy hotel with great food and have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 10 is spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    154
    56
    19
    12
See reviews for
86
251
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here with group of friends for annual badminton bash. Excellent location - 5 mins walk to sports centre. Staff brilliant -welcoming on arrival and helpful and cheerful throughout.
Food varied and good value in restaurant where we ate one night. Good breakfast. Public areas fine with pleasant lounge by reception but rooms a disappointment. All different - fine in an older building - but some furnishings a little shabby in the best rooms of our group and some rooms very cramped . Shower pressure inadequate to rinse long hair and some problems with hot water from basins. Overall a good 3 star hotel but room rates seriously overpriced - possibly because of a race meeting on that weekend - have seen better offers
since.

Room Tip: Try to get sea view - or any view at all !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandibroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotlnd
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

After reading the reviews i was looking forward to our stay!! Booked a overnight stay and got a good deal through itison!! On arrival i was disappointed, the hotel was in no way what we expected. We were taken to our room it became clear the hotel was rather dated and in need of modernisation. The corridor was awful, paper ripped, marks on doors, carpet badly needing replaced. Tables and chairs all piled up in the corridor. The room was basic and again marks on the bedding, The room appeared to need a big clean and really needs to replace the carpet. We were not impressed. Bathroom also in need of modernisation!! Shower had no power at all. The hotel just seems very tired and old. I would not stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hollybeeScotlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We booked this as a last minute deal with Friends who had stayed here before, We were not disappointed, The hotel was clean and modern, the food was fantastic and plenty of it. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank differa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Glad you had a great weekend, we have post your comments in our staff room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I bought vouchers for this hotel through "itison"and got an excellent deal, wasn't expecting too much as the deal was incredibly cheap.
The hotel was pleasantly surprising in that the rooms were very clean , comfortable and well equipped. We had dinner in the restaurant where they had a special deal on - if you bought 2 courses and a bottle of wine per couple you received £10 off and the food proved to be excellent.

All the staff on reception, in the restaurant, at the bar and the ever busy cleaning staff were extremely pleasant and worked really hard to make our stay memorable. Our special thanks to Kirsty in the restaurant her customer service was second to none.

The recession is certainly beginning to bite but this hotel is working very hard make sure they survive and if hard work and great customer service are the key they have nothing to worry about..........

Room Tip: have stayed in room 17 (twin) and room 3 on the ground both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsBHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was our third stay at the Horizon, the last two visits were really great. This time we were disappointed with our stay. First thing was the dozen or so dirty linen bags in the corridor to our room which remained there during our entire stay. The next was the really disappointing evening meal which consisted of more sinew than steak and was served up on cold plates. The shower in the room still had the empty sachets of complimentary shampoo from the previous guest in the soap dish. Obviously the shower had not been cleaned. There was no toilet roll in the holder-a little thing you may think but we paid for a deluxe king size room and expected it to be just that. Lastly there was no potato scones for breakfast. Surely someone must have noticed the stock was running low.
I really praised this hotel on my first visit, the second was the same as the first, but we will think long and hard about returning to the Horizon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Jimmy KK from Glasgow,

It was with great sadness that we read your notice on Trip Advisor. Having you as a regular customer with whom we felt we had built up a relationship, one could go so far as to say friendship, we were deeply saddened that when things went wrong on this stay you did not draw them to our attention at any time. We would never, had these complaints been raised with us ignored the situation, but would have gone out of our way to care for your needs, as a valued guest. Had you raised your dissatisfaction over the steak when Lorraine and Lisa asked you how your meal was, your meal would have been either re cooked to your liking or totally replaced with another dish and no charge would have been made for the meal. Regarding the room cleanliness, had this been brought to receptions notice the entire room would have been re cleaned, and an upgrade sea view room offered you. We ran out of Potato Scones this weekend, and the dirty linen not being collected was a contractual problem with our supplier for which we can only apologise.

To conclude at this stage all we can offer you is apologies instead of action. If you had given us the opportunity we could have turned a complaint into a positive and made sure your third trip to us was as every bit as good as the first two.

This is a sad out come, and one that I would encourage all Trip Advisor readers to note. Please give the hotel, guesthouse or bed and breakfast the opportunity to remedy any complaints, talk to us, our aim in life is to have happy customers, guests who extol our establishments. None of us want a dissatisfied guest, this is our livelihood and our business, often we spend more time with you our guests than we do with our own family!! Things can go wrong but we, if given the chance, can make your stay perfect despite the occasional set backs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our walking group had completed a ramble from the Burns Centre in Alloway via Greenan Castle and the Lang Mile along Ayr beach. We had pre booked the Horizon Hotel for lunch and refreshment. The hotel interior is lovely with friendly staff, the menu was very good, and we will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tensixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 18 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing