We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Newnan to Ayr”
Review of Coila Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coila Guest House
Ranked #9 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Thank you Hazel and Charlie for the comfort of a home on a whirlwind tour with our Choir. Coila is such a nice place to stay. You were very helpful and most accommodating, and I hope to come back with my husband

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 242 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Coila Guest House was very comfortable, clean and tidy. It is in a good location - short walk to local restaurants, easy to find and off street parking. The owners were really nice and made us feel very welcome. There was a nice atmosphere in this guest house. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichelleMcA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

On the last leg of our " Golf Trip of a Lifetime ", we followed recomendations from Golf Nook and others, and stayed at the Coia Guest House, while we played Royal Troon and Prestwick. We could not have been more satisfied with our choice ! As soon as we arrived, Charlie was there to greet us, and get us settled in. He was so friendly ( everyone you meet in Scotland is !! WOW ! ), and shared his personal experiances from Royal Troon and Prestwick. That just added to our excitement ! As we ventured out into the town, it became clear how convenient the location is. Easy walking distance to shopping, restaraunts, and pubs ! The rooms were spacious and very clean, and the breakfast we were served in the mornings by Charlie's lovely daughter was terrific ! If I am fortunate enough to return to Ayrshire, I will definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Coila is such a nice place...although Hazel was not there, Charlie and his daughter were warm, welcoming, and helpful. Helpful beyond the call of duty, it turned out--we had a medical emergency, and they got us the needed attention very quickly and efficiently. We can't imagine how we would have dealt with this without their assistance. We already had plans for the day based on Charlie's suggestions and were disappointed to spend the day instead at hospital (luckily, things worked out, and at least we had our first day to explore Ayr).

Our room looked out on the lovely back garden and was very cozy and clean. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the homemade muffins.

Coila is very conveniently located...easy, short walking distance from the rail station and shopping.

We highly recommend Coila Guest House and hope we will be able to return to Ayr one day--we would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful...we feel certain they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldsceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Having read previous reviews we were looking forward to our first stay in Ayr. Needless to say, due to first class hospitality and excellent accommodation, we had a superb weekend. We didn't meet Hazel but Charlie couldn't have been more helpful. His thorough knowledge of local eateries, good walks and 'must see' sights were commendable. Disappointed we couldn't get booked in for our next weekend down there. 'Coila' will always be the first place that we check for future visits to such a lovely area. Oh! The food was great as well!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Coila Guest House, as well as Hazel and Charlie. The lodging and food were a 10+. Hazel and Charlie were so very helpful with all train and bus schedules too. This was our first experience with a B & B, also our first visit to the UK. We were not sure what to expect but Coila exceeded anything we could have imagined. We slept like babies and were fed so well. Please book your stay here.............we can guarantee that you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coila, Owner at Coila Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thanks Cathy. We really enjoyed your interesting stories from across the pond, and I'm glad your first taste of a Scottish B&B was such a positive one. We are finding more people are choosing us over hotels, for the local knowledge and friendly welcome. Come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have returned again to stay at Coila Guest House. The standard was as excellent as usual with a warm welcome from Hazel and Charlie. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast excellent, even mini Easter eggs at our place at breakfast! The personal touch at Coila is always great. We highly recommend Coila Guest House.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent. Room 1 is outstanding as it has just had a make over, just right for a romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#7 of 53 in Ayr
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.3 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#5 of 53 in Ayr
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coila Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coila Guest House

Address: 10 Holmston Road, Ayr KA7 3BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $97 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coila Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coila is an impressive Victorian villa, built in 1895, and recently upgraded to provide large en-suite rooms, with king-size beds. We are 4 Star rated by VisitScotland. Breakfasts include salmon, fresh fruit and home-made muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Coila Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coila Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing