We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Coila Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coila Guest House
Ranked #9 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly welcome, rooms nice 7 out of 10 . I had to clean the shower head as water was only comming out of half the holes. Comfy bed. Didn't bother with cooked breakfast. Had cereal ( choice of 3. Cornflakes, frosties, muesli) yogurts, good quality yogurts but all one flavour, can't remember what flavour but it was one of them flavours that get left in the fridge and never gets ate. In other words the flavour the owners didn't like either.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coila, Owner at Coila Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

I am surprised you considered the value only 3 out of 5. We only charge £40 for B&B at this time of year, in a large newly decorated ensuite room.
We pride ourselves in the choice and quality of breakfast. We offer, among other items, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, home-made fish cakes, smoked haddock as well as a full Scottish breakfast. We only use top quality produce and our favoured yoghurts are currently Activa. Hope you can stay again, and enjoy a full breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 246 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very highly recommended for a stay in Ayr. Beautifully appointed rooms, warm and welcoming. The owners, Charlie and Hazel, really do go the extra mile to help you. Excellent choice at breakfast as well. Logistically it is within a five minute walk of Ayr Railway Station but you'll never be bothered by the sound of trains. It's also pretty much in the centre of Ayr with pubs, restaurants and a cinema

Room Tip: Tips for other travellers: Supermarket: Morrisons Restaurant: try Mr Basrai's World Buffet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenworthCummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Warm welcome even though we were walk-ins. Stayed overnight found rooms very comfortable,service excellent, breakfast fabulous comes highly recommended. Lovely owners, extremely helful and friendly went out of their way to help travellers from Africa touring the UK

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

For anybody looking to visit Ayr, this is definitely the place to stay. Perfect location with the train station nearby and only a 2 minute walk to the high street (was perfect for doing our Christmas shopping!). The room was spacious, spotless and warm, and the bed extremely comfortable. Great choice of breakfasts which I took full advantage of! We had a very enjoyable and would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murdo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights this year, we normally stay in guest houses over hotels when we travel as we like the personal touch - this did not disappoint. Rooms were very nice with a good firm bed to sleep on. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, helping us with information on the local area and where to eat at night. Location is good and central to the town - we would definitely stay here again if we were back in the area.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank larah15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having stayed for just the one night on the 10th November overall we would have to say that we were disappointed with this guest house. We read all the reviews and the hotel website looked great but in our opinion we would have to disagree.
The television never worked there was thick dust behind it and an alarm clock next to the bed went off at six o'clock on the Sunday morning wakening us up, very annoying!
We also felt pressured to be out the room at half ten and there was no-one else there apart from one man and I don't think for a minute anyone else would have been checking in on a Sunday in November.
The location is exellent, minutes from all the shops, restaurants etc.
Overall quite basic and nothing more. The guest house looks much nicer in pictures than it actually did in real life. We wouldn't return here.

Room Tip: Make sure the alarm clock isn't set at an ungodly time by someone previously in it and hasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coila, Owner at Coila Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit. We take all reviews seriously and have considered your comments.
The TV was fixed in seconds after you reported the fault, but you were departing at that time. We have introduced an “alarm check” for each room to make sure any previous guests have turned it off. Our guests usually have breakfast, then leave shortly afterwards on check out day, but if they wish a later check out that is not normally a problem if they tell us in advance.

We try to give an accurate description of the guesthouse in text and photos and regularly update our websites. We use a professional photographer so are surprised you felt they did not represent things accurately.
We pride ourselves on our many regular guests who return again and again and have become friends so we take your comments seriously. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We hope you may consider returning some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The host are very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. good location next to town centre and station. free parking. wifi a bit slow. good nights sleep.great choice for breakfast including range of traditional Scottish

Room Tip: As with all guest houses choose a room furthest from stairs or where possible from other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Ensuite Rooms
0.7 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
0.7 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#7 of 52 in Ayr
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coila Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coila Guest House

Address: 10 Holmston Road, Ayr KA7 3BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $92 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coila Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coila is an impressive Victorian villa, built in 1895, and recently upgraded to provide large en-suite rooms, with king-size beds. We are 4 Star rated by VisitScotland. Breakfasts include salmon, fresh fruit and home-made muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coila Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coila Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing