We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coila Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coila Guest House
Ranked #5 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A colleague and I had occasion to spend a last minute night in Ayr Scotland. We stayed at the Coila Guest House close to the town centre and within easy walking distance from the rail station. The house itself was beautiful with immaculate large en-suite rooms and a comfortable lounge in which you could read or just relax. The owners, Charlie and Hazel were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was to 5 star standard with a selection of freshly cooked choices to order. Would I stay there again? Definitely! Highly recommended to anyone wanting reasonably priced accommodation in Ayr.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyally13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
105
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed overnight here with my wife, mum and dad due to a wedding.
Got a very friendly welcome from the owners but headed straight out to the wedding.
The rooms are very clean and the bed was super comfy!
The breakfast on offer is excellent too. I had the cooked breakfast and it was sensational!
Fresh coffee and the toast was sooo good!
I have to say overall I would highly recommend the Coila and will return!

Room Tip: In the room there is a breakfast tick sheet. Fill it in and hand it in on your way out. On our arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allan_tonner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a first class guest house that would put many 4* hotels to shame. We are allergic to certain foods, but had no worries here, as the selection was large and varied. Would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_Whisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Wonderful, attentive service. Spotlessly clean room with the type of kingsize bed I'd expect in a large hotel. A generous tea tray and lovely little extras such as a sweets, bottled water and toiletries. My room was a lovely size with a very good ensuite and was nice and quite.

The cooked breakfast menu was extensive (I opted for the haddock fishcake & poached egg...yummy) and there was a range of cereals, fruit salad and muffins too.

I'd definitely go back and will be recommending to anyone heading to the area.

Room Tip: I had room 3. At the back so nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanF83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Coila. Hazel and Charlie are just as welcoming as always. Many thanks for the tea and cakes on our arrival. it was an ideal start to our holiday on Arran. We will be coming back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaJaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is my return visit to the Coila and I enjoyed it just as much as the first time! Charlie and Hazel go out of their way to help and make your stay enjoyable. Rooms very spacious and extremely comfortable beds. Impeccably clean too with great breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Ideally situated an easy walk from Ayr station and not far from the sea front we were very pleased with our choice of accomodation. We were warmly welcomed by Hazel with tea in the garden . Our room was comfortable with a good size bathroom and full size TV and lots of little extras - dish of sweets, bottled water, biscuits to go with tea/, magazines and guide books - even Fraser the bear on the bed to keep us company. Good choice at breakfast, cooked or cold together with fruit cereal etc. We'd certainly stay there again if we revisit Ayr and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyingreen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
0.7 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#4 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coila Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coila Guest House

Property: Coila Guest House
Address: 10 Holmston Road, Ayr KA7 3BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coila Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coila is an impressive Victorian villa, built in 1895, and recently upgraded to provide large en-suite rooms, with king-size beds. We are 4 Star rated by VisitScotland. Breakfasts include salmon, fresh fruit and home-made muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Coila Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coila Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing