We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay.”
Review of Coila Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coila Guest House
Ranked #9 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed at the Coila again its about our sixth time here. Hazel and Charlie are so friendly and make us feel very much at home. Thank you once again for a nice break

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBeadnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hazel and Charlie took great care of us in this lovely guest house in the heart of Ayr. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. A great location from which to enjoy all of the Burns sites, the Brig O' Doon, etc. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdouglas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Coila Guest House is a block from the train station--very convenient. Charlie helped us with a car hire and was very good with directions. Hazel gave us excellent dinig recommendations. Breakfast was wonderful in the very pleasant dining room. The bedroom en suite was very comfortable and quiet. We stayed only two nights before journeying on, but it was an excellent way to start our trip and acclimate ourselves to lovely Scotland. We would recommend Coila Guest House without heasitiation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

stayed for one night at this fabulous bed and breakfast but could have stayed so much longer !!!!! the only possible downside to me was the teddies all about the house but again you must remember that this is their house. hazel and charlie were exeptional hosts. great breakfast was full until late!!! great central position we will be back.

Room Tip: try and get a room at the back of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinascotlandScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

As a female travelling on my own, I felt safe and relaxed at Coila Guest House. Hazel and Charlie are extremely helpful and make guests feel very welcome in their home. The guest house is ideally located, close to the train station and town centre. I had a lovely large, light, airy room with every facility necessary for my stay, including the all-important comfortable, clean, cosy bed! Plenty hanging and drawer space. Breakfast was delicious, a real treat. I really appreciated being so well looked after while away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLG1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Best b&b I have ever stayed in. Excellent location. Very clean and spacious. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I had a fantastic stay: Lovely room - very clean, comfortable and warm; amazing staff - caring and friendly; delicious food - very fresh, excellent menu.

The guesthouse is well situated - close to the railway station - and finished to a high standard throughout; the breakfast room is especially charming.

I can't recommend Coila highly enough!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather1128310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.7 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#7 of 52 in Ayr
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
1.3 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coila Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coila Guest House

Address: 10 Holmston Road, Ayr KA7 3BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $92 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coila Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coila is an impressive Victorian villa, built in 1895, and recently upgraded to provide large en-suite rooms, with king-size beds. We are 4 Star rated by VisitScotland. Breakfasts include salmon, fresh fruit and home-made muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coila Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coila Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing