We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay for Anniversary”
Review of Savoy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent an overnight stay at this hotel on 3rd April for a wedding anniversary treat and thought it was a lovely hotel - very Scottish and traditional which makes a welcome change from the more modern hotel chains. The staff very friendly and helpful and our evening meal and breakfast next day was excellent. top marks to the chef for great poached eggs at breakfast! Bar area nice and cosy - a welcome retreat after walking around in the rain. if back in Ayr again would use as also very central.
Perry - Gourock

Room Tip: We had Room 1 which was only one floor up as there is no lift in the hotel. this did face the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GourockRockchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 915 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for my brothers wedding. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was spotless, spacious and comfortable( room 15). I am vegetarian and was made separate buffet food without even asking, thankyou, food delicious, as was breakfast, staff were excellent and friendly. Made our family wedding and stay a wonderful day!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliedudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights to attend a wedding. The wedding was lovely and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and there seemed to be no problems with delays between courses.
The rating given is nothing to do with the wedding but our actual stay at the hotel and in particular the room.
My husband and I stayed in room 10 which should be avoided for the following reasons.
• The room is above the kitchen so you hear a bell (I’m assuming to say food is ready) which isn’t a big problem but at 8am you also hear the bottles etc being put out.
• There is about 2 feet of floor space around the bed.
• The bedroom windows are swimming with moisture (this might not be a problem in the summer) and both of us ended up with stuffy noses and headaches.
• The bathroom is a good size but again the windows are swimming with water and the do not open. The frame has mould on it and cobwebs. There is a blind to try and disguise this.
• After a shower the walls cannot dry off and the water runs off them onto the floor. Don’t put a towel or your toiletry bag on the shelf above the toilet/next to the sink as it ends up wet from the water running off the tiles.
• The room smells of the moisture and when we got home we could smell it on our clothes.

When we arrived the heating was on full and the windows and room door open, I can only assume this was to try and clear the moisture.

On a positive note we found the bed comfortable (it was quite hard but that suited us)

Breakfast was good with plenty choice and we ate at the hotel restaurant 2 nights and the food was adequate.

We did not complain about our room as we were at a wedding and didn’t want to cause a fuss (plus the hotel was full on the wedding night). Had we been asked at check out how our room was we would have said (but we weren’t asked!). Had we not been attending a wedding we would have asked to move room or would have left after the first night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazzD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddieH, Owner at Savoy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments.

After investigation we have discovered that the extractor fan in the bathroom
was not working efficiently and has now been replaced.

Thanks for bring it to our attention.

Roddie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed in room 11 at the top of the stairs a week ago.

The room was large and comfortable with nice sitting area where we watched the Ireland game on the TV. Had been warned that there was a wedding on but in reality it didn't interfere with our stay.

Had dinner in the upstairs dining room, due to the wedding, and a couple of drinks in the bar. Breakfast was really good in nice surroundings. The quality of the food was extremely good.

My only problem was the shower which has a mind of its own. Otherwise great.

Room Tip: Room 11 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute, got a standard room for £80 for one night - average. To be honest for £80 we would expect more from a room. The hotel itself was beautiful, very grand beautiful entrance, dining area, staircases etc. Then we got shown to our room (a garden view right up the back so very quiet) the room itself was really very big, with a tiny bed dwarfed in the middle (my 6'2 boyfriend did not have the best nights sleep). The room was totally different to the rest of the hotel, going from grand and beautiful to this very plain very boring room. We feel the room could really do with a bigger bed, and maybe more furniture in the room? As there was a sort of uncomfortable desk chair at the dresser with another random dining chair in the room? Just a bit of a waste. The bathroom was also a bit grubby looking, very beige and boring. Nothing stood out in here, and there weren't even any shower caps... Surely that is a minimal detail to add. The only bathroom toiletry was soap to wash your hands with. For £80 for a night we'd expect a small selection of toiletries. There is so much potential here as the hotel is stunning, but this room just didn't do it for us. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful everything you could want. The hotel is in a great location for a wander and we took advantage of this. Overall a nice stay, lovely hotel, not the best room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed on 12 March 2014 for one night only using the Savoy park enroute home from the highlands . The hotel is a fantastic place to stay and from arrival we were treated very well by all the staff who were very pleasant and helpful .We had booked an executive double room which other hotels would charge several hundred pounds for. The decor in room 5 was fantastically impressive . Dinner and breakfast in the beautifully appointed dinning room was again a treat. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and look forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Try an executive room. They are really lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Getting married in this hotel later in the year, chosen for various reasons -recommendation, location, quality of hotel and food etc., including service. A couple of weeks ago we took our Best Maid and her husband to the hotel for lunch. We had a fantastic afternoon, the food from the set menu (only £12.50 for 2 courses) was just lovely, freshly cooked, fresh ingredients, beautifully prepared and presented. With drinks (quite a few!), bill was around £90 for the 4 of us, an amazing price for the quality, portion sizes are good too and the service was first-class. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and can't wait to get married there - have already discussed a few details for the wedding and the staff are so pleasant and friendly, nothing too much trouble!

Room Tip: Not stayed at the hotel as yet but have been shown round a few of the rooms and they all look lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiamondLil60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#7 of 17 in Ayr
250 reviews
5.6 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Park Hotel

Address: 16 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ayr
#1 Family Hotel in Ayr
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $64 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your arrival you'll immediately feel welcome and at home. The Savoy Park has been under the stewardship of the Henderson family for over fifty years. You'll experience genuine hospitality, friendly, professional service and excellent fresh homemade food. We have plenty of free parking in our car park with security lighting and 24 hour night porter service. At the Savoy Park you are only minutes walk from the town centre and train station, with frequent links to Glasgow and Prestwick Airport, only a 15 minute drive from the hotel. A short stroll along tree lined avenues brings you to Ayr's seafront, with spectacular views over to Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Savoy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Park Ayr
Hotel Savoy Park
Savoy Park Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing