We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good deal”
Review of Savoy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel at the beginning of December 2012 with friends. The rooms we were allocated were on the top floor which was a bit of a trek. That said the rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The public areas were very well appointed with open fires and comfortable sofas.

We had booked an itison deal and paid £49pp b&b including a bottle of wine on arrival that we didn't get! we had forgotten about it and didn't ask but we shouldn't have had to,

We ate lunch in the hotel which was very tasty and the breakfast was good. The deal is still on and is worthwhile just make sure you ask for the wine!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerri080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 896 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights Jan 2013. Old charm type of hotel, We were lucky we got an upgrade to room 5 the honeymoon suite. The room is nice and big with sofa coffee tables lovely lamps etc. The bathroom also big with nice corner bath with over bath shower. Lighting was low and very difficult to apply make up, even the bathroom lighting was low and my husband found it difficult to see to shave. The bed however is awful, old lumpy cold just awful, my back was in agony after 2 nights lying on this old heap. However the views of the garden were lovely. The evening meals in the restaurant were devine. First night we had the lamb which was cooked to perfection, the waiter asked if we would like mint sauce, we said yes and it arrived as we finished our meal, still it was busy....Breakfast the following morning was just dreadful, no bacon 3 sausages no nice breads, asked for fried eggs, they were all runny, i like soft yokes, but the whites cooked. We asked if we could have some bacon and were told (same waiter from the previous night) theres none left, he said there was enough but the previous guests ate it. ha ha ha. dinner the second evening again was lovely had the beef and it was cooked beautifully. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: Dont get the honeymoon suite the bed is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Still excellent value. Since my last visit but the food has improved even more and was above average for this level of hotel. Try the monkfish and prawn curry. Very friendly helpful staff from the moment you walk in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a voucher for one night's stay, B&B. We held our wedding reception and stayed over at the Savoy Park 25 years ago, so it was a trip down memory lane.

The room was extremely comfortable, slightly low pressure on the shower but not a problem. It is a Victorian building, after all.

We ate in the bar, joined by my brother-in-law, and all had the steak pie which was excellent. We loved the bottled beer from the local Ayr Brewery, which is made a hundred yards along the road from the hotel.

I would certainly stay here again when visiting relatives.

Room Tip: Although we were at the front, the hotel is set far enough back not to be troubled by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great break. The room was clean and well equipped and the bathroom was large with a corner bath.

Our dog was made welcome, indeed fussed over by some of the staff which is always a plus for me.

We ate in the hotel one evening, and it was fabulous both for presentation and taste.

We will definitely stay at the Savoy Park in the future.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a great view of the garden although the stairs up to it are pretty steep. Lovely corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we have stayed in a few hotels abroad and at home through the years,and have some good and some not so good. we have been to the savoy park a good few times and have nothing but praise for the hotel ,the staff the food and the relaxing atmosphere .xmas and new year meals were exellent and great value.if you are ever in ayr you must give this jem of a hotel a try you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a wedding. We were able to check in an hour early. The receptionist showed us to our room. We had paid for a superior room which I would highly recommend. This room was large with antique furniture and was situated at the front of the hotel with 3 large windows. The bathroom was small but had everything in it needed. Room was extremely quiet. The wedding was fantastic and the food was delicious. Breakfast was in the same room as the wedding ceremony. We were unsure of how breakfast operated and I feel staff were under pressure as there were lots of the wedding guests had stayed over. We had to share a table with another couple. Then we didn't how breakfast operated. Another couple told us you ordered eggs and when they arrived you took your plate to the hotplate selection. Breakfast was delicious. I would def stay here if going to a wedding again.

Room Tip: pay for an upgrade the standard rooms were small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhnmckill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Park Hotel

Address: 16 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#1 Family Hotel in Ayr
#1 Business Hotel in Ayr
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $83 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your arrival you'll immediately feel welcome and at home. The Savoy Park has been under the stewardship of the Henderson family for over fifty years. You'll experience genuine hospitality, friendly, professional service and excellent fresh homemade food. We have plenty of free parking in our car park with security lighting and 24 hour night porter service. At the Savoy Park you are only minutes walk from the town centre and train station, with frequent links to Glasgow and Prestwick Airport, only a 15 minute drive from the hotel. A short stroll along tree lined avenues brings you to Ayr's seafront, with spectacular views over to Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Park Ayr
Hotel Savoy Park
Savoy Park Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing