We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such helpful friendly staff”
Review of Savoy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such helpful friendly staff”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a brief overnight stay (didn't arrive til after 10pm and staff were great about it) Our room was huge, we chose to have breakfast served in our room and the quality was outstanding. The hotel is really nice and we found all the staff to be helpful. We are more than happy to recommend the hotel and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCLM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    187
    39
    18
    10
See reviews for
185
426
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Savoy Park recently and we had a lovely time. Our room was clean and very nice and the bed was really comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was really good. The best thing of all about the hotel though is the food. Breakfast was lovely both mornings and we ate here on one of the evenings and it's the best meal I've had out for a long time, really good quality food and excellent value. Our only regret is that we didn't eat here both nights. I'd definitely return to this hotel, it was a lovely break away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandBaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

just back from overnight stay at savoy park
will definately be doing a return visit
the hotel itself has a lovely ambience - cosy and welcoming
the deal on the food menu was buy a meal get another free usually with these kind of deals the food choice can be limited and not always that great but the choice and the food itself was wonderful,as was the breakfast
the rooms are spotless and have all you need
the staff were all very attentative, pleasant and helpful and very happy to help
looking forward to a return visit
big thanks to all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian2bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just returned from a very pleasant two-day break at the Savoy Park.
On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant lady whom I took to be the owner; she showed us personally to our room. The hotel was very busy with a group of Rotarians so we spent some time in the room before going down to dine when the Rotarians were drifting away.

The room we were allocated [room 11] was a double room on the first floor and it was very comfortable indeed. It must be the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in measuring, I guess, about 7 metres by 5metres not counting the bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable but did not dominate the room as is often the case. It had a huge antique wardrobe giving all the storage space anyone could desire in a hotel room. There was also a large dressing table - also antique - and a coffee table with a large sofa. Altogether, the room was very comfortable and commodious.

The fully-tiled en-suite bathroom had both a bath and a separate shower area and was all that a guest would want or need.

The only downside to the room was that the single-glazed windows suffered from a lot of condensation. This was probably due in part to the prevailing weather which was quite cold and damp outside whilst the room was warm inside. New double glazed windows would solve the problem but I guess that conservation issues might make that difficult to achieve [it is a fantastic old building with lots of history] and very expensive. At any rate, it did not detract from our comfort or enjoyment of the room.

The public areas of the hotel are lovely. The bar and dining areas are lavish and ornate and are wood-panelled everywhere. There are lovely fireplaces and other features to gaze at and admire whilst sipping a drink or waiting for the delivery of the meal. Altogether, a lovely ambience. I guess that this hotel enjoys a lot of wedding business and it would indeed be a lovely venue for a wedding. Indeed, there was a small wedding taking place on our second day and it had an unfortunate impact on the dining arrangements for the second night. The lovely public areas downstairs were given over to the wedding party and would-be dining guests had to relocate to an upstairs room. It was an attractive enough room and the staff - who had a bit more running around to do - were just as efficient and pleasant. The food too was just as good as the previous evening. However, the lovely ambience mentioned earlier of the downstairs public areas was missing and it detracted from the experience. Clearly, the hotel has to maximise business and try to keep everyone happy and they almost manage this. All I'm saying is that I enjoyed the first evening more than the second and I hope that when I return [and I shall] there is no wedding taking place.

The menus were extensive, interesting and reasonably-priced. There is something for every taste and budget. We enjoyed the table d'hote menu which offered great choice and variety. Everything was tastefully and interestingly presented and was very tasty indeed. Portions were of a good size.

The staff at the hotel deserve a special mention. Everyone was very relaxed and friendly with a ready smile. The level of formality was just right for me and my wife - no sycophancy, no obtrusive pandering, just down-to-earth welcoming hospitality. That applied to all of the staff from the owners to the reception staff and the waiting staff. This is clearly a well-run hotel with a good team ethos geared towards making guests feel welcome and comfortable and keen to return. We will.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands,Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had an unplanned stay at this hotel on Monday due to the south road to Stranraer being blocked by a landslide.From the moment I stepped foot into this hotel the manager couldnt be more helpful in checking out the state of the closure and if and when it would be reopened.The night porter was also worth a mention as he made an excellent bacon butty early in the morning as I had a very early check out. Food and service in the restaurant was also first class.I hope to make a visit back in the future.Big thanks to you all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_henderson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and i are just back from a two night stay in the Savoy park Hotel. The hotel was quite old but nice and the staff very pleasant, it was a nice hotel we had a twin room and was quite sufficient for a couple of nights.It was a lovely clean room shower a wee bit small but okay The hotel is . near the town centre and shops and beach if the weather is okay. Went to Culzean castle and had a walk round the grounds although it was november we were fortunate in it being dry. a nice place to spend a day Came back and had a lovely meal the two nights we stayed there food was very good The hotel do a two for the price of one which was great. The only thing is remember to leave your key if you go out in the evening.There is a notice which my husband and i didnt see. But all in all a nice couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited the savoy park hotel for an overnight break from the kids, no special occasion. The room was lovely, initial problem with the door locking but immediate help from the staff advising the knack to it and it worked perfectly. The ensuite bathroom was lovely and very clean and the whole room was large, warm and inviting. There was a wedding on meaning it was hard to get seated in the bar area in the afternoon but room service was excellent at no extra cost. We booked a table in the burns room for our evening meal ( a beautifully appointed dining room overlooking the huge gardens) and the meal was definitely up there with the best we had ever had, at very reasonable prices. The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional and we were made to feel at home. Breakfast was included in the room rate and again was lovely. We would love to visit again, and might even bring the kids along!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheerykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
664 reviews
5.6 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Park Hotel

Property: Savoy Park Hotel
Address: 16 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ayr
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#1 Business Hotel in Ayr
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your arrival you'll immediately feel welcome and at home. The Savoy Park has been under the stewardship of the Henderson family for over fifty years. You'll experience genuine hospitality, friendly, professional service and excellent fresh homemade food. We have plenty of free parking in our car park with security lighting and 24 hour night porter service. At the Savoy Park you are only minutes walk from the town centre and train station, with frequent links to Glasgow and Prestwick Airport, only a 15 minute drive from the hotel. A short stroll along tree lined avenues brings you to Ayr's seafront, with spectacular views over to Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Savoy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Park Ayr
Hotel Savoy Park
Savoy Park Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing