We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at Savoy Park”
Review of Savoy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a deal including dinner and breakfast. We had an average room with a lovely view over the gardens of the Hotel. The bathroom was huge and had a big 3 corner deep bath which was great. My only criticism of the room was that there were no bedside cabinets, the carpets were badly stained and the pillows were a bit smelly although had clean linens on them. The food more than made up for that. The dinner was exceptional in presentation and taste. The black pudding fritters as a starter were absolutely delicious as was all the meal. A really good coffee was included and it just rounded the meal off. I would definitely recommend the food in this Hotel and the staff we encountered were pleasant. Breakfast was buffet style with eggs to order, best egg I have tasted in a long time. All the produce for this hotel is sourced locally and it is the very best. best value deal I have ever had so far.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, the view is beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for Savoy Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 890 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Have just returned from an overnight stay here. This is a lovely hotel we had room 6 which was a lovely spacious room with a lovely view of the garden. We only had breakfast which was great good choice and a high standard. All in a great hotel which we would love to return to.

Room Tip: The garden is very pretty so any room overlooking the garden would be a bonus.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Firstly, My grandparent received food poisoning from the Savoy Park Hotel restaurant (Chicken). The staff are very poor and the rooms are bare. The restaurant has little character and there is very little to do in the hotel. Ayr is very nice though.

Unforunately Crosshouse hospital (in Kilmarnock) "lost" the sample...

Room Tip: If you are staying here buy your food elsewhere - there is a Tesco Extra on Whitelett's road nex...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Callum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddieH, Owner at Savoy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

It is not often that we post replies and every guest has the right to their own personal opinions. However, the staff & management all feel this review is excessive.

As far as your allegation of food poisoning is concerned I would have expected the hospital to have contacted the environmental health who would have been in touch with us immediately.

We serve hundreds of meals every week and many other customers were served chicken on the same day as you, we have had no reports of food poisoning from any other customers.

We take our responsibilities as a food provider very seriously and have proper systems in place. We have recently passed our environmental health inspection with checks on our records.

As you will see from other reviews– we have had many satisfied customers.

We would ask anyone reading this review to please check out the other reviews without prejudice and make up their own minds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stopped here on a KGB deal whilst in transit to the west coast of Scotland. This is a lovely hotel, full of character and the room we had was great - very spacious. The meal in the restaurant was divine - a lovely 3 course meal. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and quantity. Would definitely stop here again - very nice indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Playitfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Superb hotel with helpful and very pleasant staff. Food quality, presentation and taste excellent. Good location and our bedroom overlooked a lovely garden with outside space for a relaxing drink. Everything was immaculate and the experience was one which we will certainly repeat.

Room Tip: Room number 9 with twin beds was very quiet and overlooked a lovely garden.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I purchased a KGB deal and read the reviews all of which were very good. It was a busy hotel where there are lots of weddings and meetings but this did not deter from a wonderful stay and lots of rooms and beautiful garden to make use of. The room over looked the garden and very comfortable and the shower was excellent. The food specials were great and inexpensive and the breakfasts were very good. The first night because the wedding party were using the dining area as well as other rooms we eat in another dining room but this did not spoil anything. The staff were professinal and friendly and very helpful. The hotel was a short walk to the beach and the town centre. A short way down the beach there is a fabulous play park for children which is free. A lot of variety of activities for them to enjoy. Even though the weather wasn't great all the time there were lots of people out and about.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellight55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just arrived back from our stay at this hotel . Our room was spacious clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and efficient . The best thing about the hotel was the food which my husband thinks the Black pudding fritters were the best he has ever tasted. No need to go and find a restaurant in Ayr when you have such fantastic food right in the hotel and when the sun was shining we were able to take our win.e into the lovely kept gardens and relax . The location is within in easy walk of the town and the beach. It was our 23rd anniversary and we will definately return for another celebratory year . We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ayr

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Park Hotel

Address: 16 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ayr
#1 Business Hotel in Ayr
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your arrival you'll immediately feel welcome and at home. The Savoy Park has been under the stewardship of the Henderson family for over fifty years. You'll experience genuine hospitality, friendly, professional service and excellent fresh homemade food. We have plenty of free parking in our car park with security lighting and 24 hour night porter service. At the Savoy Park you are only minutes walk from the town centre and train station, with frequent links to Glasgow and Prestwick Airport, only a 15 minute drive from the hotel. A short stroll along tree lined avenues brings you to Ayr's seafront, with spectacular views over to Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Park Ayr
Hotel Savoy Park
Savoy Park Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing