We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a relaxing stay!”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

For my wifes birthday we decided to get away for the weekend with our 5 month old son, it was the first time we had been away since he was born and were looking to play it safe by booking a hotel with additional facilities.

Having looked at trip advisor, we saw that the Fairfield had a pool, leisure facilities and a well thought of restaurant - so we booked.

We weren't disappointed. The staff were lovely and, they had automatically given us a bigger room so that we had plenty of space for the travel cot and to spread out! Our room was very nice, well decorated, clean and well appointed with toiletries - we really couldn't fault it.

Shortly after arrival we used the pool, steam room and sauna - use of which was included in the room price. I must say they were all in good repair and again clean and tidy. The pool was quite big and warm enough for our little boy too...he loved it. The only comment I could make (and its only minor) is that the changing facilities could so with a lick of paint. Again staff were efficient and polite and we couldn't have asked for better.

We ate in the hotel restaurant while our little one slept in his pram and we were well tended all night. Our meal was very good indeed and clearly freshly prepared and well turned out, worth the money indeed. Even the sweet which we shared had been freshly made - not out of a big packet like most establishments.

In summary, we both agreed that on the basis this visit we would return - possibly with friends and have no hesitation in recommending to others. Well done Fairfield House!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockTheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertDCrews, General Manager at Fairfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear JW,

Thanks for you kind review , I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Fairfield Hotel soon. We are planning shortly to decorate the leisure facilities and this should take place in April. Again thankyou and best regards
Robert Crews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    156
    50
    19
    13
See reviews for
78
282
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Well, so ends our fourth Christmas and New Year break at the Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr.
This is a privately owned hotel with an excellent management team [Robert, Eddie and Craig] who are uncompromising in delivering the high standards set by the owners who reside in a neighbouring property and regularly dine at the hotel themselves.
Over the last four years my wife and I have remained impressed by the standards of service, accommodation and dining at this hotel; in particular the staff here are an oustandingly friendly, efficient and attentive group of people who have made our stays so enjoyable.
Bad points? None as far as we are concerned, we have stayed at a number of four and five star hotels throughout Scotland in recent years and would put the Fairfield House right up there with the best of them!
Our thanks to Mr and Mrs Martin and the whole team for yet another most enjoyable stay.

Barry and Beth Green, Saltcoats

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertDCrews, General Manager at Fairfield House Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Dear Barryg20,

Thankyou for you kind and motivating comments regarding your stay and service here at the Fairfield House Hotel. It is always pleasing to receive such comments.
I will pass this on to the team and our owners.
I look forward to personally welcoming you both back to the Fairfield and please do not hesitate to contact me direct when booking.

Kind regards
Robert Crews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I attended a meeting and overnight stay at the hotel , warmly welcomed by
staff on arrival , room was excellent and modern and the food was fantastic.
Such a warm and welcoming Hotel would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyface2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertDCrews, General Manager at Fairfield House Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Dear Guest ,

Thankyou for taking the time to post your kind and possitive comments regarding your stay here at the Fairfield House Hotel.
I will certainly pass these on to the teams here and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Please have a great Christmas and prosperous New Year
Regards
Robert Crews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Thourghly enjoyed stay from start to finish, food and service both excellent. Quality of decor, particularily restaurant and bar on par with some city center establishments. Not cheap , but overall worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica0333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertDCrews, General Manager at Fairfield House Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Monica 033 ,

Thankyou for taking the time to submit your kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope to welcome you back soon to the Fairfield House Hotel.
Best Regards
Robert Crews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed one night with my family, at the beginning everything was nice, but things change quickly. The restaurant was really overpriced , the quality of the food was not good enough for the 2 rosettes they advertised. Even the white wine was not cold.
The beds were not comfy, and the sofa bed they gave to my 5 years old daughter was terrible. I will not want to go back there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadjoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertCrews095, General Manager at Fairfield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Dear GadjoEdinburgh,

Thankyou for your comments , at the outset please accept my apologies for your dissapointing stay. I am sorry you felt we did not match your expectations , we could have rectified if notified at the time. I will certainly cascade you comments to the team here to prevent any recurrence.
Yours sincerely
Robert Crews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed at the Fairfield House Hotel for the first time and what a pleasant surprise. Although room pictures on web shows nice old style rooms I was pleasantly surprised with my new modern decorated room. Bed was large and very comfortable , flatscreen Tv , large bathroom and work space all that I needed. Dinner in Restaurant was excellent especially the shank of Lamb main course as was breakfast. All in all an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel to my colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertDCrews, General Manager at Fairfield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Dear BMW ,

Thankyou for you kind feedback it is much appreciated. Please do recommend us to your colleagues and I hope to welcome you back to the Fairfield soon.
Regards
Robert Crews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed here for one night to break the long journey home from north of Scotland. Had a wonderful family holiday here many years ago. In those days it was called the Marine Court.
It's about ten minutes walk from here into town. In front of the hotel is a wide expanse of grass, bordered on the far side by the promenade. Over to the right, edging the prom. is a children's play area, where our youngsters watched Punch and Judy over thirty years ago.
Since those days there have been many changes at the hotel, though the original building seemed to have remained much the same. The reception area is lovely - gives a feeling of comfort. It's spacious, with a wide staircase, and there are comfortable sofas. A large extension provides more bedrooms, and the added-on conservatory gives extra dining area. A leisure complex has been built on at the front, housing swimming pool, steam room etc.
We were in an executive room. It was very large, with a wide, luxuriously comfortable bed. It was a pity that the sea view was partially obscured by the roof of the leisure complex. The only other gripe about the room was the ill-fitting plug in the bathroom. It was incapable of retaining water in the sink.
Bar drinks were very expensive. Evening meal was excellent, though it was a bit naughty to have an charge extra on the menu for bread.
Next morning breakfast was equally as good - freshly cooked, served by an efficient, cheerful lady.
If in the area we would probably stay here again, for a treat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
845 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 18 in Ayr
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 18 in Ayr
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Property: Fairfield House Hotel
Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing