We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent a lovely night here in October with my wife. The location is great and after a short mix up with our room (someone on the bed) we were upgraded to the Blenheim Suite by the manager. What can I say. It was very impressive. A grand chandelier and two grand throne chairs! Room was large with an impressive bath room. Breakfast was to order and excellent. Only complaint was that we arrived at 1415 and our room wasn't ready. There was no apology from reception, we were just told to sit at the bar. It was only when sitting there that we double checked the guaranteed check in time. 1400 hours! Should have at least been offered a complimentary drink. Maybe the hotel should delete the guarantee from the web site.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Dinner out for 6 in Ayr and not disappointed. Chose from the 2 Rosette menu. Three of us had starters of Scallops with black pudding, parsnip mash and innovative garnish, and the others had Breast of Grouse with barley risotto and grouse croquette.
Venison loin with a fabulous steamed venison pudding was the highlight of the main courses.
Good wine selection and all very reasonably priced. We have eaten in a number of restaurants in Ayr over the last few months, but this beats them all so far.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonaldLeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for two great nights in october in fairfield house hotel? There were a number of staff around as we approached the hotel who were so polite and friendly and made us feel like we were being welcomed into their home. I have stayed in suites smaller than our room - There was ample space for not just sleeping, but to actually spend time enjoying the view over the sea. You could easily and happily spend time in the room which had a couple of comfortable chairs allowing us to chill having a couple of drinks enjoying the warm sunny October days.

Leisure facilities were ample with the pool heated to at least 31 degrees, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Bar prices more like London prices, but a very short walk into town, so plenty of alternative options for bars and restaurants. Ayr microbrewery at the top of the street serving great choice of beer.

Our deal included a four star breakfast which should not be missed. Fabulous fresh excellent choices which kept us going most of the day.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as this just adds to the perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronsherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here one night dinner bed an breakfast. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. One criticism was the prices in the bar were very expensive especially the local bottled beers. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chace5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned back from a 2 night stay at the Fairfield... It was so good I didn't want to come home! We stated in room 38; large room, big comfy bed and fab bath. More than met our expectations of a standard room. Staff really friendly, leisure facilities excellent and great location - definately meets 4 star status.

Did not have chance to dine in hotel but breakfast was of a good standard.

Would recommend for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Fairfield on the 27th and 28th sept 2013 for my friends wedding, I don't usually write reviews by felt I had to as everyone should know how good this hotel is! From the minute we arrived the staff couldn't have done more, especially the General Manager Robert who went above and beyond to accommodate us and help us to get organised for the big day, the food (from the meal on fri, the breakfast and the wedding meal itself) was out of this world, the rooms comfortable and clean and the hotel has a very relaxed chilled feel its located by the beach front and has a lovely big decking area where guests can sit out and enjoy a few refreshments whilst looking over the water at Arran. It was the perfect weekend and the staff are absolutely brilliant the best hotel I have stayed in by far and would recommend it to anyway! Next time ur in Ayr get down to the Fairfield it's not to be missed thank you all for the perfect
day!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I got married in the Fairfield on the 28th September 2013 and could not have had a more perfect day thanks to this hotel. The meal was fabulous, the staff attentive and everything went so smoothly thanks to their hard work and attention to detail. So many of our wedding guests who stayed in the hotel praised it highly and were delighted with their rooms. Special mention to the manager Robert who made sure everything was perfect. Could not recommend this hotel enough and most definitely will return .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laineychampagney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ayr
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#7 of 17 in Ayr
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $81 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing