We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed hear for many years - and will keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stayed hear for many years - and will keep coming back”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I travel regularly to Ayr with my job. This is simply one of the best hotels in the western part of Scotland. The rooms are clean, spacious and the 'Ayr' Room is just fantastic. Food is good, the smoked haddock and poached eggs for breakfast are sublime. The staff are so friendly. I've been coming here for over five years, and standards haven't ever slipped. There is just one major criticism. More chocolate lime sweets at reception please ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    161
    58
    22
    13
See reviews for
84
298
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel was great, large rooms and exceptional staff. Super huge bathtubs! Very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast! There are no elevators in the hotel (adds to the charm) but be ready to climb!
The staff at the reception was amazing, extremely helfpul and very customer service oriented. Our group had no complaints at all. Would definitely stay here again for much longer time.
Loved the breakfast served. The bar area is quite nice.
The decor in the hotel is charming and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stopped here on the way back to England from the North West Highlands. The hotel is a lovely building, and the room was comfortable and clean. The decor wasn't entirely to my taste, but that's a personal thing and as I say it was clean and well looked after. The bed was smaller than we are used to, and very squeaky... even turning over in bed created a bit of a racket!

We ate at the restaurant in the hotel and the meal was excellent quality. The waiting staff were chatty and friendly, and apart from a few disturbing paintings the surroundings were pleasant. We got a very nice table in the window and felt very honoured. The breakfast was equally good quality, and we felt the hotel was good value for money.

All the staff we came into contact with were amazingly polite and friendly, and they really did seem to go out of their way to make you welcome. The lady at the reception desk was just lovely and so helpful.

The hotel is practically next to the beach, so we went for a lovely walk after dinner. This helped with the digestion since I had stuffed myself with the delicious restaurant food!

Oh - and there is super-fast wi-fi access too, all included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglogermancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel has lovely views across Ayr Bay to Arran and is well furnished and immaculately maintained. The staff are all very friendly and the service and food is of an exceptionally high standard. We have stayed in hotels with Michelin stars for their restaurant and their food was no better than we had here at Fairfield. We had a small problem with one dish and they refused to charge for it!
We would certainly stay again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: A sea view room would be lovely, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed one night here and actually wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is old but has loads of character. You'll get lost in the warren of corridors but it all adds to the experience. The rooms were huge, clean and comfy (although the tv in our room was tiny!) The bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in, just a shame we did not get to use the huge bath! Separate shower was good though.
Staff were friendly and helpful and eager to please when we checked in. The breakfast was excellent with a buffet and full scottish available. In the morning we were not pressured to leave early and the staff were chatty and friendly in the morning too. Overall a fine place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niseach16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff at the Fairfield House Hotel, in Ayr, Scotland are among the best I have ever encountered! We were treated like VIPs when we checked in, and made to feel like honored guests throughout our stay. And, as there is no elevator in the hotel, that's a good thing. We were NOT traveling light, and I think the entire staff, from the front desk to the busboys, came to our aid and carried luggage up to our rooms. I was in the Blenheim Suite, and what a treat. Large airy room, with bay windows overlooking the coast, massive bath, with separate tub and multi-head shower, heated towel bars, and premium toiletries. There is a four star restaurant at the hotel, with views of the Firth of Clyde and the Isle of Arron, at sunset, which serves wonderful seafood dishes (try the salmon with caviar for an appetizer) hearty steaks, and the ever popular sticky toffee pudding! Although the hotel is a little dated, we thoroughly enjoyed the retro-atmosphere, even if the red in my suite prompted my cousin to dub it the "Vampire Room". Old world charm, first class service, gourmet dining, and stunning views, all combine to make the Fairfield House Hotel our destination in Ayr, from now on!

Room Tip: Second floor, seaview rooms are best, but book quickly. If you want to hear the sea at night, plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

All round good hotel and good stay. Hotel and a superb breakfast and even a better staff. Minutes to walk the beach or to town. Clean and spacious rooms. Wifi worked great! About a 45 min ride from Glasgow and 15 mins from Prestwick Airport. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
485 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Property: Fairfield House Hotel
Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing