We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked an executive room for 3 nights. Room was beautifully decorated with plenty of space. En-suite was massive with a stand alone bath and a bidet, as well as a walk in shower. Staff were always very helpful. Great choice for breakfast which was lovely. Used the pool and spa facilities a couple of times, great for a bit of relaxation.
Only downside was the squeaky floorboards in the corridor which woke me earlier than i would have liked but for an old house I guess you could excuse that.
Very close to esplanade and town centre.
we would go back again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 635 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Well if you look back you will see that I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and have remarked on the high standards. I thought that I’d like to comment on the people and service this time.

When my wife and I arrived the foyer was full with guests who had arrived for a wedding reception. A piper in full regalia was going strong in the car park, “the place was jumpin’”. Despite the staff dealing with the needs of the wedding party they recognised us and extend a welcome which was personal did not make us feel that we were being processed through so they could get back to the packed reception.

After we settled in our room we went down to the bar for a drink and despite it being busy we were served quickly and efficiently. While we were standing there another guest approached the bar with a drinks order as long as your arm and the bar staff served them without asking for repeats or clarification.

When we went down for dinner calm had descended in the restaurant but remember a wedding reception was in full swing in the function suite. Our order arrived promptly and to our request. When we were checked upon my wife mentioned that her steak was delicious was done precisely as she liked it and was impressed as how it was cooked. The maître d' explained the method that they used and told us about the local farm that they source their meat from. He was extremely knowledgeable.

As we finished dinner we had almost a full bottle of sparkling water left, the wine was gone!!, and as we rose the maître d' came over to check all was well and bid us good night. While exchanging pleasantries I mentioned that we were going to take the bottle of water to our room. This was not a problem and he asked if he could have it taken up for us. I declined as I think I could manage that but was impressed by his offer. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

During our stay I recognised several members of staff from previous visits which is reassuring that they provide some continuity and that staff turn-around is not an issue. They also acknowledged that they recognised us from previous visits and provided a friendly welcome. The GM can be proud of his team and their professionalism.

At breakfast it appeared that several wedding guests had stayed over and things were quiet busy but again the staff coped we were seated and offered the buffet for fruit juice, cereal and fruit while they took our order for a full “Scottish” breakfast. Whilst I enjoyed some grapefruit segments fresh toast and a pot of tea were brought to our table shortly followed by our full breakfast. This was all done with little fuss and friendly service.

So again our stay was a delight and was made enjoyable by the staff and their service. My recommendation continues for this hotel if you are looking for a single night stop over or a longer stay you will be well catered for here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLB-GOUROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel has top marks as far as my husband and myself are concerned the staff are brilliant and the food is excellent the rooms are large and spotless cant say enough good things. The only down mark is the price of the drinks in the hotel. We drank in town and got 35ml measures but the hotel bar was 25ml and twice as much for the same drinks.

Room Tip: We only had the cheaper room but it was lovely and roomy and the bathroom was spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol080959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A comfortable, well appointed hotel. Would quite happily stay here again. Recommended.
Unfortunately for us on the second day, there were two large parties with numbers of children who, while not being particularly badly behaved became boisterous as the evening wore on. There are two dining rooms here and each party positioned themselves in a different one - we could not get away from the noise. The spa was also full of kids every time we tried it. After bedtime doors were banging like a French farce as the various rooms full of kids were settled. Not the hotel's fault and it is difficult to see what they could do differently and I understand families need a break too. But somewhere quiet would have been nice!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor-Foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked on the strength of the reviews here and wasn't disappointed.

Great location although, whilst the hotel clearly has had money spent on it, the room was a little tired but nothing to get upset about.

The real thing to write home about is the Chef. I think the only food I've had better was Marcus Waring - it really is that good - so good in fact I had two main courses!! It's on a par with restaurants at twice the price. Go and see for yourself - it's like eating a work of art.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked a one night stay for our wedding anniversary, it was our first visit to the hotel which we found whilst searching on line, I liked the look of the picture gallery and decided to give them a call i was welcomed by Carin on the other end of the phone and was immediately put at ease with her warm and friendly manner she explained the tariff and the facilities so i went ahead and booked it. On arrival we met the lady herself and were welcomed to the hotel and everything was explained it felt more like being with friends instead of the usually stuffy attitude that I'm used to when on business trips, the room was very clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel ,we used the leisure facilities whilst visiting, very relaxing especially the Jacuzzi.
The food was to a very high standard and the quality of service excellent a nice mixture of being there when required and also not continually being interrupted to allow for the enjoyment of the fine wine and food.
Breakfast had a good selection from continental to various fish options and of course the full Scottish .
Overall a great stay and a fine example of what a Four star hotel should be the staff were informal and genuinely friendly no plastic smiles here especially Morvin on reception who had helped us with enquiries and wished us a safe homeward journey, so if you want real friendly service and great value for money pick up the phone and enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Best hotel i have ever stayed in , room was the size of my house, food was the best ive tasted and the staff are so friendly and proffesional without being ott love the fairfield and will be back with rest of family. Well done

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsharp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ayr
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#7 of 17 in Ayr
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $81 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing