We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Dunkeld
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Room”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We left it late to book a hotel for one night for a wedding and all suggested ones were full. When I rang Fairfield House the chap who answered the phone could not have been more helpful. I told him I was looking for a double room for B&B and my wish list would be lots of space, good shower, very comfy bed and views. He immediately suggested he book us into the Blenheim Suite which he reduced to £149.00 for B&B. This is quite pricey but I would always prefer to pay a bit more and get a truly comfortable room. He also said we could come at noon so we had time to shower and change for the wedding. Usual booking in time is 2pm.

It was easy to find, lots of free parking and friendly man on reception who willingly helped carry our bags upstairs. The room was magnificent. I have stayed in houses that would have fitted into it!! Also an enormous bathroom with free standing roll top bath, fantastic shower, lots of light and space and big white towels. My only suggestion would be to have a table next to the basin mirror to put make up on to.

The room was freshly decorated, had a bay window with views over the sea to Aran and an enormous very comfy bed with cotton sheets. It was spotlessly clean with lots of hanging space in cupboards and two long mirrors and an old fashioned dressing table. Tea and coffe (with cafetiere) and ironing board and big flatscreen TV. Really everything you would want, they even offered to bring us up sandwhiches!!

We went down to the bar and had very very good gin and tonics and really delicious sandwhiches. We asked for a bottle of sparkling water to take up to our room as there wasn't any bottled water in the room and we weren't charged for it I don't think. We had a very comfortable night, it was quiet and warm and spacious.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and if I was trying to be picky all I could think of would be the melon was like a turnip, not ripe at all and the waitress was unfriendly and a bit brusque. The girl who checked us out didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay but apart from 3 tiny things it was perfect and I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the Blenheim Suite, it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    167
    61
    22
    13
See reviews for
90
303
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bellshill
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Fairfield House Hotel, our room The Blenheim Suite was enormous, beautiful period furniture, extremely large comfortable bed, room could have been a little warmer. Staff very pleasant and curtious. Dinner was lovely, I thought the a la carte menu could have more dishes to choose from, portions very small, but quality of food very good, all day menu was more varied and the portions good in this instance. Breakfast was very good. Views from room and hotel were very nice, looking out to sea. Overall a very good stay, well done, would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, when the clan took over most of the hotel for a family celebration. We were a party of 80ish, but the service, the standard of accommodation and meals were exemplary. The staff were local, friendly and very helpful. A bonus in this era of cheap imported labour!
At meals times we were impressed that a table of twenty could order a variety of meals some consisting of three courses, and the staff did n't once ask "who ordered this?" their system was such that they knew exactly who had ordered what....a sign of exceptional service.
The menu was varied and the portions huge, and we were very pleased both with the the evening meals and the breakfasts.
We stayed in room 13, a suite with three apects. The front view was slightly obscured to the left, but if you ignored that the sea view was superb. There were also views from a window at the back over the park and sea, and also from the bathroom window, all in all a beautifully appointed suite, we were very satisfied.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Ayr or to use it as a base to explore the region. a smashing find and we would hope to stay there again when visiting friends and relations in that area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finchiewimborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengarnock
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a night at the Fairfield House after a friends party there. The overall feel was warm and friendly. Excellent service and a superb post party breakfast too! Highly recommend it for a relaxing weekend away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank atuanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here after attending a wedding in the hotel. Everything about the wedding was perfect and the hotel was lovely. We had an enormous room (Sovereign suite) which had a sea view. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

An impressive hotel close to the sea . Our room had an excellent view. Food was good value , breakfast was quick and enjoyable.It was an overnight stay returning to England from Isle of Skye.so we thougt we would see what Ayr was like. Pity we live so far away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We did not book this hotel. We had booked to stay at mercure however they had military staying an extra night so out booked us here. As it turns out for the better.
We were given a huge suite which was gorgeous and clean. The turnberry suite.
The food was superb! Very luxurious food presented well.
The pool was lovely temp, the jacuzzi was very relaxing. Wasn't so keen on the changing rooms, very small and dirty floor. The sauna and steam was also small however was glad to have these facility's. I think the hotel was over all a 5/5. The staff were nothing but nice throughout dinner they kept making sure we had all we needed and everything was ok, if anything they were over keen. One member of staff seemed a little out of place a little rougher and louder than the rest but still very lovely to us. When booked with the mercure I paid a set price for dinner bed breakfast which I got vert reasonable so to be moved somewhere fgar superior and pay nothing else was a treat. Situated right next to the beach and looks lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyzbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
496 reviews
5.6 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Property: Fairfield House Hotel
Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing