We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A frequent haunt !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The “Glorious 12th” as they say. 12th August and this is becoming a frequent haunt of ours, which is nothing else must be some sort of a recommendation.

We had another enjoyable stay and if you have read my previous reviews you will be glad to know and this time we did manage to try out the pool. Lovely swim before breakfast set us up for the day. The water was just right and did not shock the system, so for you “wimps” like me there is no excuse. The hot tub just finished it off. I did see out the corner of my eye a fitness room and gym but breakfast was calling. Maybe the sauna or steam room might have been inviting with a little more time.

Again the food was excellent both in the evening and the breakfast. The service smooth, relaxed and with no fuss.

We were fortunate to get the Blenheim room / suite and it is lovely accommodation. The receptionist asked as we were checking out if we liked the room as it had been recently refurbed. Nice job and my wife loved the carpet. You must have spent a fortune on the authentic furniture. The second you walked in it impressed.

Another lovely break, roll on the next one.

David

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLB-GOUROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 647 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed just one night on our way home from a two week tour of Scotland. Hotel room was ok but decor was a bit dated. However we had spent most of our holiday in apartments and the two hotel rooms we booked here felt very confined. Felt it was a better hotel for business visitors rather than tourists on holidays. By 10 o'clock it was like a retirement home, everyone had gone to bed - not really what we were looking for on holidays. On the plus side the food was very good including dinner in the restaurant and a breakfast cooked to order in the morning which is 10 times better than a buffet - no cold food!!! Plus car parking is free as is wifi.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Tonopase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Fairfield. We had the Socereign room, which was huge, lovely bathroom and bed large and really comfy, we were really pleased. The view outside to the beach is wonderful, we were lucky and caught the sunset. Breakfast was really good too, we also ate in the resturant which was brilliant. Our one complaint were the mashed potatoes- they were incredibly salty! But we had a great stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turquoise_racoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Was at the Fairfield house hotel in ayr with friends recently and had an absolutley brilliant time, staff were exceptional, very attentive and polite. The food was to die for, out of this world! A definate must try!

Room Tip: Stay for more than a night so you can sample all that this fab hotel has to offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Most impressed by the magnificent views across the river Clyde to the Isle of Arran. Room itself was large and spacious, bathroom was ginormous. Food was great and service excellent, overall a very enjoyable stay. Would definately pay a return visit.

Room Tip: Seaview well worth the extra... weather permitting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed on business and had a very large room allocated " The Sovereign Suite"
Lovely views and welcoming friendly, obliging staff members. Ate in the restaurant and the food was of a very high quality in nice surroundings, with very good service.
Spotlessly clean and in a very good standard of decor, with new carpets etc throughout public areas and corridors. Didn't have time to use the pool facilities, but looked inviting!
Will definately return with the family and the reception team were very friendly and professional and when I mentioned I would like to return with the family, they suggested room styles for accomodating 2 Adults and 2 children and even offered for me to view the rooms.
Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bergerac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were in the older part of the hotel in the Churchill Suite which was spacious and had exceptionally large bathroom. Very clean throughout apartment this had older furniture in keeping with the type of building. Only downside was the view over a square flat roof with vent pipes from the kitchen and boiler room and incessant hum from pumps and air conditioning fans
The staff in reception was very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and again Carol and the staff friendly and hospitable. The evening meal we had in the dining room was excellent and dining room staff attentive. Would be happy to book into this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorwen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ayr
542 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $87 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing