We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and overpriced drinks”

The Meridian Bier Cafe
Ranked #17 of 184 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, European, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Meridian is a bright, spacious and central cafe, bar & bistro that serves contemporary food and stylish cocktails in chic cosmopolitan surroundings.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service and overpriced drinks”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

A party of 5 of us had drinks and food. I had a shandy and was shocked to see that this cost me £4.75. I noticed that I had been charged for a full pint but when questioning with the staff I was told a shandy is the same price - an embarrassing oversight for a supposedly established bar. None of the staff showed in any interest in apologising or offering some compensation.

The least the waitress could have done was warn me of this at the time of ordering to give me a chance to choose something else.

Disappointing experience and I will be advising my friends and family to avoid this chain from now on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

Apologies for the delay in our reply.
We charge full pint price for shandys as it works outs cheaper than charging for a half pint and a glass of lemonade. Many of our draught lagers are premium and half pints are therefore priced accordingly, your drink that night would have cost 10p more than the pint that you paid.
Admittedly this price is not advertised anywhere but we would have told you this had any of your party asked.
I spoke to the girl who was serving you and she has assured me that she apologised, but quite rightly, couldn't offer you any compensation for something that had been ordered and drank.
I am sorry you were not happy with your experience.

Mhairi Paterson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    79
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“terrible service”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

dined tea time on a sunday night. the only waitress on floor arrived with menus saying she would be back in 2 mins for drink order.. 25 mins later wwe had to approach the bar to get order taken.. quite a few points of very poor service which made decide not to be returning in a hurry..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bf201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I can assure you it will not happen again.
We are looking into staffing levels for Sundays and there will no longer be one member of staff on. It is very hard to cover shifts when each day varies so much from the next but it is definately something that will be considered more from now on.
As you did not point out the other areas of por service I cannot comment on them although I do hope that you will give Meridian another chance as we would love to show you how well we actually do it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

food good but extremey expensive, drink prices are shocking considering the other bars around they should lower prices

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments! We are delighted you enjoyed our menu and food but are sorry you found our bar prices to be so expensive. Many of our lagers are imported which requires us to increase the prices of our draught lagers and beers. We do have alot of bottled beers and pints on offer however at a lower price.
We are in the process of starting a 241 cocktail deal and currently run monthly drink specials.
We hope your experience won't put you off coming back as we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandel
Level Contributor
305 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good value pub food with great service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Standard 'Scottish pub' menu plus Spanish tapas. We had a mix of soup, squid, pizza and steak pie - all were good. You could really taste the freshness of the soup ingredients in particular. Friendly, efficient service. £37.60 for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 (non-alcoholic) drinks which we thought was good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
I love the fact you had a wee mixture of dishes, there really is too many inviting meals on the menu to narrow it down :)
Our soups are made everyday with the best selection of freshly delivered vegetables...and I am delighted this was noted!
We are awaiting our new menu which will have extra exciting sections added in, we hope to serve you again very soon!

Mhairi Paterson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Recently tried this cafe for a meal last weekend after the ayr gold cup horse race. The place was very busy but the service was still of a very good standard. The ribeye steak was well cooked and a good size for the money. Won't b rushing back but wouldn't tell anyone not to go as I can't really complain about it. Definetly a 3 out of 5 experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
Ayr Gold Cup is an extremely busy time for us so it's always worth booking a booth with us beforehand to ensure one of our best seats in the restaurant.
I am pleased you enjoyed your meal, our steaks are one of the most popluar items on the menu.
Thank you very much for the 3 stars, hopefully we can build on that the next time you visit us!

Mhairi Paterson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meridian Bier Cafe also viewed

Prestwick, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Meridian Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing