We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western House Hotel(Ayr)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveler rating
161
239
205
94
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
239
205
94
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewspa facilitiescentral locationcoffee machinegood sizebuffet stylebus stationgreat weekendtown centresea frontbit datedcomfortable roomnight breakmy muma lovely staycooked breakfastjacuzzi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 758 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Yes it does need a wee upgrade and wifi is a bit patchy but it is a fantastic hotel with hard working generous staff.
After a wee hiccup at booking that was sorted out magnificently by the lovely lyndsay , we can't thank lyndsay enough for her wonderful, professional actions that restored our faith in the mercure hotel.
Actions do speak louder than words, a tremendous leader.

The food is great the drink is still pricey but lyndsay is trying to get this sorted.

The rooms are spacious and always clean.
Lyndsey our house keeper was always happy to help.
No trip without mentioning chris would be complete.
Mr Mercure chris is everywhere a wonderful worker and so helpful.
Andrew and david and james did impress us with their hard work.
Shann in the gym was a standout.
Nearly forgot dianella at reception bubbly, freindly, kind if only all at the reception desk had her manner.
We love it, so will you.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback following your most recent stay with us.

I am delighted that, once over the initial blip with your booking, you and the family (Dad included) had another enjoyable experience. I will of course pass on your compliments to the team, especially those mentioned within your review.

We hope you had a safe journey home and we will look forward to being able to welcome you all back soon.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Paid over £100 pounds to stay in what they call a superior room (a joke) room and bathroom in need of a redoing entrance to hotel lovely but in lift ok on exiting lift however full place is in need of a lick of paint staff ok but would not recommend anyone to go here

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to hear your comments but shall pass these on to the team as we aim to provide a superior service.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Harrington, Australia
12
Reviewed June 18, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was the organiser of a party of 18 golfers who stayed here as our base for 5 days playing golf.

The hotel arranged all the golf and I got a brilliant price on the rooms, everything went faultless and the staff at the hotel were friendly and efficient, we will certainly go back when we next visit Ayr.

The hotel is a little rough around the edges, but the rooms where warm, clean and nicely decorated, they are a little small though, but to be honest they were big enough for us, we shared twin rooms.

The breakfast was the normal affair for a hotel, buffet hot selection, nothing out of the ordinary, you could order some specials from the menu such as Kippers but our experience of these wasn't great, but the poached eggs were brilliant !, overall the breakfast was average.

Our only real compliant was the bar prices, terribly high, 2 drinks were almost £10, I've stayed in hotels in the centre of London with cheaper prices, go to the bar next door, they are half the price, to me this is bad for the hotel as they lost out on a lot a drinks from our group because of the very high prices.

its centrally located with everything a very short walk within 5 minutes, perfect location.

Room Tip: Higher the better :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay following your recommendation.

Your comments will be passed on to the team who I know will take great encouragement from your kind words. They are often praised for their friendly, helpful nature and I am pleased that you have commented positively.

As a branded hotel it is out-with our direct control where it comes to the price of beverage. These decisions are made at head office as a standard across all our hotels.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel had really friendly and helpful staff. the location was approximately 1 1/2 blocks from the bus station with a stop almost at the front door. The downtown area was about a block away as well and that was good. Looks like most of the main stores in town have moved out but it was still quaint for walking around. it was nice to see the older buildings and churches still there.

Room Tip: we had a view of the ocean! perfect view the town, it was a very quiet and secure building
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your comments regarding your most recent stay. I am delighted that you all had an enjoyable break.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team who I know will appreciate your kind words.

We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews