We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, good location ”
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonably priced, good location ”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel as I was working in Ayr for a production at the gaiety, which is literally 150ft from the hotel. I booked a twin room, upon check in I was told parking was £2 a day which is acceptable, and we added breakfast, which was an extra charge. It was advertised as a buffet, but there was too little people staying in the hotel, we were asked what we'd like. A heads up would have been beneficial.

As for the hotel itself, good location, in the town centre basically, we had a sea view room, all the usual amenities, and I would say the room was decorated to a good standard.

There's is a pool, jacuzzi and gym that you have full access to.

However, it is stated wifi is free, and technically it is, but to get any decent speed it costs £4/hr. Also in the rooms it stated on the tv to use the services it would cost £14.50, which sounded okay, after speaking with reception we were informed it was that charge PER DAY

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank scottm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for the review following your stay with us in January. I am pleased that we were able to meet the needs of your visit.

We will often do a plated cooked breakfast on the mornings which are very quiet. This is to ensure that the product is as fresh as possible. We are always happy to provide whatever a guest requires.

The WIFI is complimentary throughout the hotel and the speed always you to do most things needed during your stay. However for larger downloads you can purchase the higher speed if required.

I hope that should you be working on any more productions at the Gaiety Theatre you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    220
    177
    82
    48
See reviews for
119
271
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AYRSHIRE UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here after a Christmas night out in Ayr because its location was great plus the car park was just at the rear.
As you enter the hotel it looks very clean and friendly staff were helpful, Although I think if your staying in the hotel I don't think there's any need to pay to park your car that should be free for guests.
I never had any breakfast in the hotel so I don't know what it was like.
The lift looked like it could of done with a good clean....
The rooms were good size & clean enough but very tired looking the bed was very comfortable and clean
Bathroom's were clean enough but very dated and could do with updating.
For what I paid for the night's stay it was ok but I think the hotel needs a good makeover to refresh its tired, grubby appearance especially the bedrooms

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big-bubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us in December, I hope you had an enjoyable evening.

I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel. There are certainly areas that we are aware need updating or modernisation. Hopefully this will get the required funding so that we can conduct the required cosmetic changes.

The car park is also used by the general public and we discount the use for our hotel guests to only £2 per night which we think is very reasonable for a town centre location.

I do hope that you might consider staying with us again should you be in the area for another night in the town.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Bit late writing review, but I took my husband for a long weekend for his birthday in Feb last year. We had such a great time, we ended up staying an extra night, and had to change all our travel arrangements! Staff were amazingly friendly throughout our stay, dinner was lovely. Great view from room and lots to do in area. We're going to a gig in Glasgow in March and instead of having an extra few days in the city, we are going to Ayr to stay in the this hotel. Forgot to say was great value for money close to everything, pool facilities were good and staff couldn't have done enough for us! Great wee restaurant straight across the street too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethtinaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your belated review of your stay with us last year, however it is always a pleasure to recieve such positive feedback.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team and we will look forward to seeing you again in March.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a lovely time in ayr . The hotel offered great service and room is nice plus absolutely value for money. I thought the staff Fiona was really friendly and helpful. Would stay there again when I visit ayr in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your review of your stay, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to Ffyona and hope that we will be able to welcome you back should you next visit Ayr.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

above says it all. met by smokers on doorstep. check in more concerned with selling breakfast and duty manager (?) decrying to another member of staff a guest to had the audacity to complain. Room cold, hospitality tray barely stocked, carpet stained, bathe panel not fitted properly. tv remote control mind of its own. doors banging , soundproofing almost non existant. good point - was able to leave.

Room Tip: to choose a good room ? I would suggest trying another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank apudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us although I was disappointed that it did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies.

Your comments have been passed to all the relevant departments to investigate and rectify where possible.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayr hotels

Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This is about our 15visit so I maybe bias.
We got the special deal dbb saw it in the metro.
Yes Hotel needs a bit of tlc and slowly but surely its on the right track,
New beds are coming. Lets hope new windows and fire doors.
The staff can't help enough , we had a small hiccup at first but Heather sorted it out with the help of the ever cheery dainielle.
The wonderful chris glides through every problem with a smile. His attitude is wonderful the work he does behind the scenes is phenomenal, he is Mr Mercure. A true gentleman.

My three kids loved the swimming pool and it was warm.
Maybe in future they may get the shower outside the sauna reinstated.

The food was very filling and tasty,service was of a good standard new girl with tattoo on right arm very professional and cheery.

At last scramble egg and porridge is made to order and not left to go to rubber.

Maybe if people keep highlighting the drinks price Linda may contact cenral office and do something about it.? Maybe.
Cameron House is cheaper for wine!
Mercure wine is wait for it.. £10.75 per glass.
Pub next door smith's is selling vodka and coke.: 99p, and still making a profit.
It is a farce, cmon linda get something done , the central office line is wearing a bit thin.
That apart we will be back great weekend.
Thanks to all the staff .





Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank beafrrespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments following your most recent stay with us recently I am delighted that you had another enjoyable stay.

The team we have are always on hand to make sure our guests have an enjoyable experience and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them.

I know that the prices of the drinks in the bar seem expensive, especially when the local pubs have promotions on in January. As you know though our hands are tied by company standards but rest assured your comments are taken on board. The £10.70 glass of wine is certainly our most expensive white.

I hope that you will bring the family back to make use of the leisure facilities very soon and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Property: Mercure Ayr Hotel
Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing