We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly disappointing”
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“highly disappointing”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here with family for a pre Christmas break, including two small children. We had specifically picked this hotel due to the fact that it was one of the few in the area which had a small pool and leisure facilities. We arrived on the Saturday morning and on check in were advised via a notice that the restaurant area would close early that evening as the hotel was shutting the following afternoon for a Christmas break. This was no problem as we had already booked an early dinner, in order to accommodate the children in our party. We rose early on the Sunday morning and after enjoying breakfast, took the children to the pool. However on arrival at the leisure centre in the basement, we were informed by staff that the area was closed due to the Christmas break. The children were in tears, having had looked forward to swimming. We were all extremely annoyed as we had not been informed either when booking or at check-in that the pool would be closing on the Saturday night. Had we known we could easily have altered our plans and taken the kids swimming on the Saturday afternoon. To add insult to injury, I wrote a letter of complaint to the hotel and although they acknowledged receipt of the complaint and said they would investigate and get back to me, they did not bother writing back. They completely ignored the follow up letter which I wrote. We had stayed before at this hotel, fairly frequently but will now not be returning and will go elsewhere whilst in the area. Overall the hotel is okay, fairly basic and a bit tired in terms of decoration. The staff are not very welcoming and seem to be worked too hard and rushing all over the place. Disappointing and will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay back in December, I am disappointed that your stay was not an enjoyable one.

As was explained in your letter the leisure facilities were closed to allow for an effective shut down of the equipment due to the hotel closing over the festive period. We apologised that this was not communicted to you on the Saturday and that the Reception Manager would investigate why this had occurred to ensure that it did not happen in the future. There was however no mention of a follow up letter which is why this never appeared.

At the Mercure Ayr Hotel we strive to exceed our guest's expectations and I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to do so.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    217
    174
    81
    46
See reviews for
115
268
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel right in the middle of town. Ideal for a walk around Ayr. 3 minutes from the front. Has its own car park, but gets very busy. Food is good, but over priced.
Pool is good for a quick drip, but nothing to write home about

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike-chambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, I am pleased that on the whole you appear to have had a pleasant visit and were able to enjoy the Chef's menu.

We are fortunate enough to be very central to the town centre and a stone's throw from the sea-front which is an attraction for many of our guests. When the hotel is nearing full occupancy our car park can get a little busy so I understand any frustrations this may have caused.

I do hope that, should you be back to visit Ayr, you will consider staying with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

we had a 5th floor room with a sea view and it was fantastic. Arran looked beautiful in the sun with the snow on the mountains. The room was very clean and kept clean with the housekeeper she was very nice.
The breakfast was good but there was no scrambled egg available. All in all we had a really relaxing stay. thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank nessie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the hotel, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I completely agree that the views over Arran are absolutely stunning when the weather is clear.

We hope that your next visit is not too far away and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is a joy to come to. All the staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. My wife always asks a member of the reception staff to take her up in the lift as she is afraid of being in a lift on her own. Yet she still asks for a room on a high floor!! Nothing is a trouble to the staff at this hotel. Even at breakfast if you require an item that's normally not on the menu the kitchen staff will provide. An American couple arrived late for breakfast but were still accommodated. That's service. My wife and I were there for Easter Weekend on a Bed & Breakfast basis and did not stay in for dinner. The car park is floodlit and there is no problems with parking. You park for free. The rooms are standard sort of hotel rooms for the class of hotel but the cleaning staff keep them spotless. We have used the Mercure, and before that the Ramada Jarvis for some time and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barber50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback following your stay over Easter Weekend with us. I am delighted that we were able to provide you with another enjoyable experience.

I am pleased that the team went out of their way to ensure that your wife was accompanied in the lift, their friendliness and helpful nature is something that they take great pride in.

I do hope that your next visit is not too far away and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited the Mercure Ayr Hotel as part of a KGB deal and found it to be very good value for the money we paid. The hotel is easily found, with parking round the back of the hotel, which you pay for at reception.
Check in was quick and easy with friendly reception staff. We were in our room in no time, which was a good size with a large comfortable bed and good sized bathroom, everything was clean.
The bar area was comfortable and welcoming. We ate in the hotel restaurant each night of our stay and the couldn't fault the food at all! On the first night, due to arriving at the hotel quite late we arrived for our meal very close to the time they stop serving - we were assured that this wasn't a problem. We ordered our main courses, which were lovely, and didn't feel rushed at all We didn't order dessert or coffee etc. as we didn't want to be hold the kitchen and waiting staff up any more than we already had. We ate earlier the next night so didn't feel guilty about ordering dessert, and were very glad that we did! The food is excellent and the service very good.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant area and is buffet style, with additional items available to order from the menu. The eggs benedict are particularly good.
We used the pool with our little boy, and although reasonably small and very clean, it was a little bit on the cold side so we didn't stay too long. There is also a range of gym equipment, although we didn't use this.
The hotel is conveniently located close to the town centre, with the main shopping area just a few minutes walk away, and the water front is also just a 5 minute walk away.
We would certainly stay here again if we were back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.

The team pride themselves on being both friendly and helpful to all our guests and I am glad that you found them to be so. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Chef who will no doubt be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals.

We hope that you will be back to stay with us in the near future as we have a brand new menu for you to try.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was ideally suited for our needs, the centre of town, the railway station, and the sea front where all no further than a few minutes walk away, the staff where very pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and had a nice view of the sea, but lacked comfort in the way of a couple of chairs, it would have been nice to sit in comfort to read or watch tv, also if you like a drink it was rather expensive in the bar, or at least I thought so, but all in all the hotel was very pleasant and we would stay again. ( we rated this hotel an 8.5 )

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank transatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that, on the whole, you were able to have an enjoyable visit. The team always strive to make sure every guest has a memorable experience.

We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Ayr and give us the opportunity to welcome you back. If it is possible we will be more than happy to provide you with an extra chair to make your stay all the better.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

For £45 a night I wasn't expecting miracles but this hotel was everything I could have asked for and more. Cheap, secure parking; friendly, helpful staff; and easy to find. The morning after the night before meant that I was a little to fragile to experience the breakfast but my friends who made it down throughout enjoyed the food.

Downside, there was only one... I felt that the en suite could have been a little cleaner, the shower curtain had been used by a previous occupant as a handkerchief which was a bit off putting when having my morning wash but other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel to others who might be venturing down for a stay in Ayr.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank H-Moody-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feeback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that, on the whole, you and your friends had an enjoyable visit.

Needless to say I shall pass your comments on to the Housekeeping Department to prevent any future occurances.

I hope that you will look to stay with us again during any future trips to Ayr, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Property: Mercure Ayr Hotel
Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing