We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited the Mercure Ayr Hotel as part of a KGB deal and found it to be very good value for the money we paid. The hotel is easily found, with parking round the back of the hotel, which you pay for at reception.
Check in was quick and easy with friendly reception staff. We were in our room in no time, which was a good size with a large comfortable bed and good sized bathroom, everything was clean.
The bar area was comfortable and welcoming. We ate in the hotel restaurant each night of our stay and the couldn't fault the food at all! On the first night, due to arriving at the hotel quite late we arrived for our meal very close to the time they stop serving - we were assured that this wasn't a problem. We ordered our main courses, which were lovely, and didn't feel rushed at all We didn't order dessert or coffee etc. as we didn't want to be hold the kitchen and waiting staff up any more than we already had. We ate earlier the next night so didn't feel guilty about ordering dessert, and were very glad that we did! The food is excellent and the service very good.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant area and is buffet style, with additional items available to order from the menu. The eggs benedict are particularly good.
We used the pool with our little boy, and although reasonably small and very clean, it was a little bit on the cold side so we didn't stay too long. There is also a range of gym equipment, although we didn't use this.
The hotel is conveniently located close to the town centre, with the main shopping area just a few minutes walk away, and the water front is also just a 5 minute walk away.
We would certainly stay here again if we were back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.

The team pride themselves on being both friendly and helpful to all our guests and I am glad that you found them to be so. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Chef who will no doubt be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals.

We hope that you will be back to stay with us in the near future as we have a brand new menu for you to try.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    196
    158
    76
    42
See reviews for
102
238
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was ideally suited for our needs, the centre of town, the railway station, and the sea front where all no further than a few minutes walk away, the staff where very pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and had a nice view of the sea, but lacked comfort in the way of a couple of chairs, it would have been nice to sit in comfort to read or watch tv, also if you like a drink it was rather expensive in the bar, or at least I thought so, but all in all the hotel was very pleasant and we would stay again. ( we rated this hotel an 8.5 )

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank transatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that, on the whole, you were able to have an enjoyable visit. The team always strive to make sure every guest has a memorable experience.

We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Ayr and give us the opportunity to welcome you back. If it is possible we will be more than happy to provide you with an extra chair to make your stay all the better.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

For £45 a night I wasn't expecting miracles but this hotel was everything I could have asked for and more. Cheap, secure parking; friendly, helpful staff; and easy to find. The morning after the night before meant that I was a little to fragile to experience the breakfast but my friends who made it down throughout enjoyed the food.

Downside, there was only one... I felt that the en suite could have been a little cleaner, the shower curtain had been used by a previous occupant as a handkerchief which was a bit off putting when having my morning wash but other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel to others who might be venturing down for a stay in Ayr.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank H-Moody-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feeback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that, on the whole, you and your friends had an enjoyable visit.

Needless to say I shall pass your comments on to the Housekeeping Department to prevent any future occurances.

I hope that you will look to stay with us again during any future trips to Ayr, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennylands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A very well situated hotel right in the heart of Ayr, it is suitable for all groups and ages and is within walking distance from the beach, shops, pubs & clubs.
The hotel offers a varity of services and would highly recommend the restaurant & food...
The hotel is excellently managed and all staff were very friendly and helpful.

In summery I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Eat in and enjoy the food.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennedy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meals and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. This is something that we pride ourselves upon at the hotel.

I will be sure to share your kind words with the whole team and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Got a voucher for my mum for Mother's Day ! £100 between us for a night stay, full use of facilities, a three course dinner & breakfast. Great value ! Staff were lovely and friendly - always smiling and helpful ! Our dinner was delicious and the staff were wonderful ! Our room was a good size with everything we'd need for a night stay.
Swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were great and we had a great time relaxing !
Great location and literally a five min walk from the train station.
Great night away

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that both you and your Mum had an enjoyable, relaxing time and were able to make use of all the facilities.

I will be sure to pass your kind words on to all of the team and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for the second time due to it's location. First impression of the outside of the building is terrible but the hotel is clean, comfortable and not bad for the price we were charged however if you want luxury stay elswhere. There is small leisure centre where you have to use your bedroom towels and then later when back in your room you can request replacements, we found this a bit odd and rather inconvenient. We did not pay for breakfast this time as we did not particularly enjoy breakfast when staying here previously. Would probably book this hotel again though due to the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrailScotlanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, I will be sure to pass your comments to the Leisure and Restaurant Teams.

We will hopefully be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Ayr and perhaps give you an improved breakfast experience.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes when we took a group of adults and children away for the weekend. Central location; competitive prices; rooms clean and tidy; food fine; special mention to the staff who were very accommodating; pool an added bonus. Would strongly recommend for large groups and we would not hesitate in returning again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your weekend with us. I am pleased that you and all the group and an enjoyable stay.

I am delighted that the hotel team made your stay as comfortable as possible and the group were well looked after.

Upon your future visits to Ayr, whether as a group or with the family, I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Mercure Ayr Hotel.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Property: Mercure Ayr Hotel
Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing