We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE HOTEL”
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Reviewed June 25, 2012

On arriving at 12pm couldnt book in until 2pm, we did know this, but we thought there would be somewhere we could put our luggage, we asked at reception and they said no,, we would have to change some for our rooms we had booked 7 twin rooms ,but if we wanted somewhere to put our bags . we would have to change to 2 treble rooms and 4 twins !! we put our bags in the treble rooms, and discovered it was double bed and single bed which was not acceptable after goin to the desk again,, they sent someone to sort out the beds, later that evening after returning to the hotel from ayr racing, we had to wait another 30mins to get checked in again, !! eventually we went out for the evening on returning three of our party waited 90 mins in the corridor to get into their room has their was something wrong with the lock on the door, on checking out the next day we saw there was a luggage room. dont know why they didnt tell us about the luggage room it would have saved alot of hassle and upset wont be going back to this hotel EVER

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brian561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, Operations Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your group stay at the hotel. I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

Many Thanks

Chris Rowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 712 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Excellent staff at reception, good size, clean rooms. Good central hotel for the town centre, breakfast was average and quite busy. However the hotel is well priced and its target market is golfers and race goers so u have to expect a bit of noise and banter. If u are looking for a quiet 4 star hotel book elsewhere. However like us looking for a good value, central location with friendly staff the mercue suits the budget. ps. could u please purchase a few new toasters at breakfast that actually grill the bread.

Room Tip: difficult, check if their is a race meeting on in ayr and this will effect the noise level. however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, Operations Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the hotel.
As you rightly say the hotel is very popular due to it's central location, especially when the races are on!!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ayr.

Kind Regards

Chris Rowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My family have cause to stay in Ayr every few months. Normally we use the Premier Inn at Monkton (which is excellent), but for a change and to have a family gathering in the centre of town, we thought we would book a "proper hotel". We were disappointed with every aspect to be honest. The bar service was abysmal straight from the start - it literally took 20 minutes to get a drink when we all arrived. And two trips to the bar to chase and see how difficult it could be do get 8 drinks together! The kids insisted we take a look at the leisure centre - I did and found the gym area to be grotty looking so I didn't bother investigating the pool. Our room was a decent size but within very clear view under beds were crunched up tissues, a Breakaway biscuit wrapper and the best of the lot - the top of a cardboard shoe box! So the room may have had a quick vacuum but it wasn't tidied. I feel it was surface clean and not the clinincally clean I experience at Premier Inn. As for the family meal in the evening, we arrived at out table around 7:30pm and our starters arrived at 9:30pm. Sure it was a big table of 20 plus (I say big table - I should say group as they actually split us into 3 tables in an odd formation!). Of the people I spoke to about their meal, nobody was impressed about the food. It was only because we were in deep discussion that the absence of the food went without notice, for the first 1.5 hours at least. They forget all about my wife's order altogether and said it would take 10 mins. Then 2 mins later it arrived! My wife is sure the pasta was hardly cooked. The service was dire throughout and pretty amateur for a chain hotel. They walls were the most paper thin I have ever experienced so every conversation in the hallways were heard perfectly and every male toilet trip above heard like they were sharing our room! I woke up regularly and normally sleep through most noises. It reinforced my belief that Premier Inn's are cleaner, more pleasant and much better for both food and drinks. We won't go off piste again when in Ayr... Lovely view from the room not enough to take us back to the Mercure Ayr I'm afraid...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, Operations Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest

At the Mercure Ayr Hotel we appreciate all types of feedback whether it be positive or negative.
As a team we strive to exceed guest's expectations and I am sorry that that on this occasion we failed to do this.

Kind Regards

Chris Rowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Olympic special offer 6 of us , d, d Bb .

My sister came here in may and hated it,
We could not believe it, how can you fault the value for money .
My sister booked a b, b round the corner that cost more than the mercure , with no pool either. Still its freedom of choice .

yes its still a ramada , only now it has a new pink neon sign.
Service first class, sea view room 662 ,food great lindsay worked extra hard sorting our room out , Susan was also great.
The ever witty James cheers us all up ,
They had their hands full with the wi desending on them all at one time.they done very well, kept calm and carried on.
The food was great , yes the drink is a bit expensive , again you have a choice , go next door or don't buy it , simple.
Maybe its me but on the Friday it felt Like a sauna while eating , very uncomfortable , asked to turn down , told it was pre set .
However by Saturday it was much cooler and enjoyable . So someone is listening ,
Loved it , hope to be back for a golf break , as soon as possible .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beafrrespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback and kind words regarding members of our team.
Our aim is to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

stayed here on sat 9 june.cant believe any negative comments.Hotel was central with all requirements that you need,i,e iron ,iron board,hairdryer all in the room.would visit again excellent customer service ,breakfast on buffet style served up to eleven oclock.cant fault anything and will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian.k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team always aim to exceed guest's expectations and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Nothing to look at from the outside. Inside the reception/bar areas are bright & modern. Reception staff friendly & efficient.
Double Room 370 had nice view of the sea but was cramped & tiny, no room to swing a cat !
Difficult to relax in as only place you could really sit was on the bed (only 1 chair provided). I was surprised that the door to the room was not a fire door in that it was not heavy & did not close behind you. Towels provided had seen better days, drawer missing from bedside table. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, shower was powerful & there was plenty hot water. Breakfast was adequate but as food ran out, was not replaced as quickly as it should have been. Room would definately be more suited to 1 single bed. Size of the room was a big let down & certainly not representative of the photo's provided by hotel. Have stayed in plenty Ramada Jarvis Hotel's before they became Mercure & the room here was the worst by far. Like a box room with a double bed squeezed in. Fine for a day or two but any longer would have been quite unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megane6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback and your kind words regarding the team.
I am sorry that your room did not meet your expectations as we always strive to exceed them. It would appear that you have stayed in one of the smaller rooms but should you choose to stay with us again we will strive to allocate you a superior one.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just stayed there with the wife and 3 kids after attending a wedding at Alloway. Sure it's a bit 70's but for us it was perfect. Good price, we had a nice double room with a view down to the sea, all clean and fresh with a great bath, plenty of hot water. The kids were 2 rooms away in a sort of suite so the two girls had a bed each in the main room and the boy had his own room off that, both with TV's. Again clean and fresh. Helpful welcome when we arrived late that night, plenty of car parking space behind hotel and it cost us £2 overnight with a free extension into the afternoon- checkout was just before 12 noon but we were able to leave the car there and pop down to the seafront and also round some great local streets with some excellent shops. Next morning we all ahd a great buffet cooked breakfast, again staff were on the ball and pleasant. The quality of the cooked items was very good, not like some hotels I've been in. Plenty of nice quality fresh orange juice, again not the cheapo stuff some places serve. We selected this hotel so the kids could use the pool. This was small and a bit dated but generally in good order. The hot tub was excellent. Pool staff were pleasant but also (and quite rightly) stepped in quickly when the kids started misbehaving. All things considered for the price we paid I was 100% satisfied. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davelebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you had a happy stay with us. The hotel team continually strive to exceed guests expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
897 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $69 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing