We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scottish break.”
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“scottish break.”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

took up an offer or 3 nights for price of 2. hotel is central to shops and sea front. looks a bit jaded from outside. check in was simple and quick, free car parking turned out to be £2 a night, but was in the hotel car park, which is monitered. rooms are adequate,although in need of an update, bathroom quite small,loads of hot water though.we stayed in room 565 which had very goods views over the sea and islands.bar prices are very expensive,though the 1st night we did dine in house. the gammon was very good, my partner had a chicken breast which was to say the very least was only a childs portion.
breakfast next morning was not as we hoped for. having stayed in Ramada hotels before the breakfast was a let-down. half the advertised items not available, ie fresh bread, yoghurt to name but a couple. toaster needs seeing to, if there had been more people in hotel there would have been mega queues for toast. as a aside the bar next door is VERY reasonable for drinks and the food is excellent.
all in all a very enjoyable break, would return to ayr but maybe another hotel.

Room Tip: high up and front of hotel to get sea views. try to get away from lifts as the noise travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you are probably aware we rebranded in October and as such works are ongoing in all areas of the hotel. We have replaced the toaster at breakfast in order to prevent queues on busy breakfasts and your comments regarding the breakfast offering have been taken on board.

I do hope that you will take the opportunity of visiting the hotel again in the future and thank you for your comments.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    220
    177
    82
    48
See reviews for
119
271
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is not a review of the hotel itself as we did not get to stay there. I had booked for 1 night on Saturday 10/3 as we were attending a wedding nearby. However when we got there we were told that they had overbooked (due to a number of rooms being damaged by flooding) and so we were now booked at the Carlton hotel a couple of miles away. We were initially a bit annoyed as we wouldn't be walking distance to the wedding venue. However they offered to cover all our taxi fares. When we got to the Carlton hotel we received a free bottle of red wine as an apology and they also included free breakfast. Overall we were very pleased at the way the Mercure hotel handled the situation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmanuel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am very sorry that we were unable to accomodate you over the weekend. I am glad however that you were looked after and I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I go to this hotel 3 times a year with my grandkids and have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff are always so helpful and can't do enough for you. Had mentioned at our last visit that my granddaughter would have loved for pizza to be on the menu and have been told that they will arrange this for us on our next visit! Will be back again - would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you had another happy stay with us. The hotel team continually strive to exceed guests expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The building from the outside looks very dated they don't show you up 2 your room ours was on the 5th floor the rooms aren't up to much pretty basic the beds are very uncomfortable and at night it's freezing halls are all filthy it can be very noisy at night with smiths bar next door !! The spa looks ok small pool the breakfast was ok Its right in the centre of the town so your next to everything that's only really good thing don't use the phone for room service at night as they say it's 24 hours for some of the food no one answers it and I still got charged for a phone call £3.00cos it went through to reception terrible I would never hurry back in a hurry to that hotel prop better and nicer with just a bed and breakfast and less noisy !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and the executive suit they are a bit bigger than a normal double room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you are probably aware we rebranded in October and as such works are ongoing in all areas of the hotel. Had you called reception regarding any noise complaint we would certainly have ensured that you were moved room to another area of the hotel.

I do hope that you will take the opportunity of visiting the hotel again in the future.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayr hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Don't let the tired facade full you. This is a centrally located hotel with excellent amenities and friendly service at very competitive rates. Room 663 is highly recommended with sea views and acres of space.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThriftyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued review. We continually strive to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable . We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

As written in other reviews the hotel is a bit dated in parts and could do with a "make-over", but with that said it is in a prime position for shopping and restaurants.

Room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent with an adequate choice of cereals, nuts, fruit and a great "non-greasy" cooked breakfast.

Staff were very friendly and attentive, would definately return.

The only down-side is the noise from the pub next door, new double-glazing needed..... Having said that the pub food next door in the Smiths is excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the front of the hotel and not beside the pub as its noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued review. We continually strive to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with ourselves. Mercure Ayr will very shortly be going through a refurbishment programme. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Having previously enjoyed this groups Suite Hotels.
Elected to visit Ayr for a couple of days, to experience this much vaunted Riviera of Scotland resort.
Despite having been an "A Club" [French Accor Hotel Group] member for a few years, have until a few months ago, found their booking site less than English friendly--since improved.
BUT
Found on attempting to book this well illustrated, mail shot canvassed break with Mercure,my webform booking would not take, it eventually being auto directed to Agora as an agent.
So far so so good.--Especially since Agora offered the same deal at £40 less!!

The booking was specifical for a sea view room which was provided.
The only problem being that the tip of a wave could only be seen some 300m away, over the rooftops of half the town.
This is not a seaside hotel--its a town centre hotel.

I'm all for the Intern training ethos which this hotel appears to support. But such is only a good experience for travellers, if careful and apparent supervision.is also in place.
This was not.
Resulting in up front staff being rather confused, enthusiastic amateurs, dependant on visitors to enhance their learning curve.

All in all, a very slightly upmarket 'Premier Inn' style hotel one experiences en route.

Had it not been sponsored by the MOD as a RAF auxiliary Mess, one could count he number of other visitors on one hand.
Which tends to speak volumes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doyen121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valued review. We continually strive to deliver the best service to our guests. Our hotel has six floors with fantastic sea views from the fourth floor upwards. You can specifically book a high floor sea view room both through our sales office and online. These rooms carry a supplement, but they will however guarantee you a high floor with a lovely front facing view.

We are in the midst of our rebranding operation to bring our hotel in line with all other Accor Hotels. We do hope you would choose to stay with us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Property: Mercure Ayr Hotel
Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing