We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Lovely hotel all staff very helpful, nice large bedrooms when made internet booking we booked a sea view room but unfortunatly we didnt get one but next time hopefully we will. Hotel is in great location with lots of night life around about if thats what your looking for. All in all a good hotel all round will certainly be back to stay

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued review. We continually strive to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. I am sorry that we were unable to allocate you a front facing bedroom however on your return we will ensure you are given a sea view. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    220
    182
    84
    48
See reviews for
120
279
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed at the hotel with my sister--in-law for a short winter break at a great rate from the hotel's own website.

The hotel is easy to find although they charge guests to park (Badge Holders are exempt from this) although parking is at a discounted rate. The two receptionists on duty were particularly welcoming and friendly and we were quickly allocated a room on the top floor with glorious sea-views. The room was very clean although we needed more pillows which were delivered quickly.

The one disappointment over our trip was that due to very bad weather the hotel had closed off their front door and guests were using the side entrance. This was fine during the day but when we returned early evening, it was very dark and the lighting at the side of the hotel was not working. Unfortunately the ground is just a little uneven (not much) but she managed to find a little divet and went down like a ton of bricks on her ankle. The staff could not have been more helpful and took a note of this and also placed a "warning cone" over the rough patch of ground. This was only an issue because there was no lighting working outside.

Later in the evening (after resting her foot) we needed to venture out to eat (the hotel restaurant was completely empty so we would have felt a little uncomfortable eating there), we asked to use the front door and the staff were happy to open this up for us and also telephoned for us (at their suggestion) to find out if a local restaurant would still be open. Sadly it was not and we had to settle for the most disgusting food from a nearby take-out. If we had thought about it, we probably could have and should have had room service.

Must admit to being a little disappointed not to hear from the hotel to enquire after my sister-in-law after her fall. Not expecgting anything from the hotel just a caring attitude and an assurance the light was now working.

Overall though, would recommend the hotel very highly as the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms with a view are well worth paying a premium for.

Would I return....yes I would but only through the front door or a well lit side entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. I am pleased that you found my staff to be very friendly and helpful. I do hope your sister in law has made a full recovery and I apologise that you were not contacted by the hotel after your stay to check on your sister in laws progress. I can assure you that the lighting at the side of the hotel has been repaired. I do hope you use our hotel again in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Had a lovely overnight here. Staff were very attentive, room was spacious and clean and dinner and breakfast were fab. Wasn't a problem for the chef when I requested something different.
Location is also great here, everything within walking distance. Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued review. We continually strive to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable . We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The staff were great and very friendly, the food was good, but the rooms and bathrooms are old and dated. The room I had was fitted with double glazing, however the window didn't fit the whole and the wind and cold in the room was very loud and chilling.

If you want a hotel in the centre then great, but not the best !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. I am pleased that you found my staff to be very friendly and you enjoyed the food. I would like to apologise that you did not feel the rooms matched your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have taken your comments regarding the rooms and the windows on board. I do hope you use our hotel again in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayr hotels

Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

nice location. nice view.
we couldnt use the front door because of strong wind but real door is not far at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments.

I am glad you enjoyed the location and view from the the hotel. Unfortunately it is occasionally necessary for us to lock the front doors due to excessive high winds. These occasions are very infrequent and at this time we ask our guests to enter and exit the hotel via the back doors. I do hope this did not cause you too much inconvenience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 day New Year break at this Hotel, where 140 people attended. From the minute of booking in till the time we left, the staff were very polite and helpful. Considering the amount of people the 3 course evening meal every night was always piping hot and served efficiently. Our bedroom was very comfortable, and the facilities very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a venue for a large party of people and also for individuals.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for your good review. We strive to deliver excellent service to our guests, and I am delighted that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed overnight at the Mercure, and the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. We had a couple drinks at the bar in the lobby and returned for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was a buffet with a fair choice of foods. We loved the location as it was a short walk to pubs, shopping and restaurants. It was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Property: Mercure Ayr Hotel
Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing