We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful food ... An all round lovely night away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Enterkine House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, wonderful food ... An all round lovely night away.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went to Enterkine last week, after receiving a voucher for Christmas. We upgraded to the Woodland Lodge and I'm so glad we did. The website pictures do not do it justice. The lodge was absolutely beautiful, it's situated across from the hotel and is a haven of luxury!
The dinner , which was included, was fantastic. The Goats cheese soufflé was to die for, the menu was innovative and we enjoyed every course.
After dinner we sat in front the the fire and enjoyed some drinks with other guests. We will definitely return to Enterkine, we had a lovely night and being so near to Glasgow It's great for a night away without travelling far. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    48
    15
    8
    14
See reviews for
40
154
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed one night in January purchased as a groupon deal.

We were showwn to the Enterkine View room which was huge with a massive balcony.

Included in the deal was cream tea and dinner, cream tea was excellent in front of the fire. Dinner was extremely good, only niggle was having to pay extra for extra courses and extra for beef but was worth it. The food although very Masterchef style was outstanding.

The hotel does suffer from planes going overhead but that added to the excitement of sitting on the balcony watching them come into land.

Breakfast in the morning was nice with only one gripe - the sausage tasted quite cheap - and why not lorne sausage it's supposed to be a scottish breakfast!

We loved it, staff were friendly without being over fussy and it was a lovely night away. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the Enterkine View Room, you won't regret it especially on a hot summer night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the second time we have spent the night here. Both times we paid to upgrade to a room in the main house. Both rooms were large and nicely appointed. The staff were friendly and very attentive without being intrusive. The evening meal was delicious and was rounded off with coffee by the open fire. We will definitely be back,

Room Tip: An upgrade to the main house is definitely worth it to make your stay extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bear_Brigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Recently had a lovely night via group on break staff very attentive. And extremely helpful . Had a lovely room with a superb view sadly weather was against this view as it rained and rained what a pity.i would advise upgrade to the hotel it was well worth the extra.it was a pleasure to be be in a lovely hotel with amazing surroundings.enjoy the atmosphere of the area and on your way out buy some eggs and put your money in the honesty box either duck eggs or others excellent..

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robb 1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My Fiancee and I spent the night in the woodland lodge and loved it. Its quiet and secluded but only a minutes walk from the front door of the hotel. Great service from all the staff and the dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. Following a peaceful and very comfortables nights sleep we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast in the restaurant. We had to complete our stay by giving a home to an Enterkine bear. Would recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the lodge for a romantic retreat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes,Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night internet deal break and upgraded to the main house for £20 per night, it was well worth it. Check in was simple and easy. We were allocated the Oval room which is large, clean, well furnished and has a lot of character. The ensuite bathroom is also very large. The bed was large and comfortable. This room overlooks the Marquee which may prove noisy if an event was on (no events on our weekend), but this would not have bothered us at all, I only mention it for benefit of those who may like total peace and quiet. We were able to see inside some other rooms and all look large and spacious with really nice view towards Enterkine, indeed the room called ‘Enterkine View’ has a very large balcony. The ‘Bothy’ in the garden is a very intimate retreat, it oozes charm and looks very cosy. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the quality of the food was excellent, the surcharge for the steak is a wee bit hefty, but drinks are reasonably priced. Service was quick and efficient from the friendly staff who advised us of places to eat and see live music in nearby Prestwick. The same standard of service was evident at both breakfasts.

We enjoyed our stay at Enterkine House and would not hesitate to return, perhaps when an event is on.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Main House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

An absolutely charming hotel right down to the relaxing and quaint check-in experience where you sign an old fashioned guest book (a nice touch).

We stayed in the margarite suite. When we first opened the door the room facing you was the bathroom which was huge with a delightfully deep roll top bath and a separate shower unit. To the right of the entrance was the bedroom - typical hotel room. The sitting room was the other side of the bathroom with a really comfy 3 seated sofa and a comfy armchair. Also there was a beautiful picture window to take in the lovely countryside views.

Dinner was also delightful. Where you at first are shown to a sofa in front of the real fire to have a pre-dinner drink and choose from the menu. Then just before dinner is ready you are shown to your table which again was delightful with real flowers floating in a glass bowl as decor as well as a candle.

The food was good but the best is the shortbread to be enjoyed with coffee (the chef makes it himself). We asked if it was homemade and when told yes we told the waitress how much we liked it and she got us more to enjoy.

All in all a wonderful stay. Really relaxing and not a bit stuffy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutchisonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
4.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
857 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
474 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
665 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enterkine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enterkine House Hotel

Property: Enterkine House Hotel
Address: Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#7 Business Hotel in Ayr
#9 Family Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Enterkine House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enterkine House is a privately owned house situated amongst 350 acres of woodland estate. Choice of main house bedrooms and smaller cottage style Kirk House rooms are available for guests. Food is created by Head Chef Paul Moffat. Offering a gourmet menu and lounge menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Enterkine House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enterkine Hotel Ayr
Enterkine House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing