We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of West Of The Moon

West Of The Moon
Ranked #64 of 186 Restaurants in Ayr
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Relaxed eatery during the day where our chefs transform fresh local produce into mouth watering dishes to suit all tastes.Our beer garden and children’s adventure playground is the only one of its kind in ayr town centre and is open from easter till the sun fades away. It is fully enclosed and will keep the kids busy while you enjoy lunch and a cool drink in our sun-trap.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited with a large group of friends and the staff where more than willing to accommodate us. Very friendly. Ordered off the two for 9.99 menu and had haddock which was lovely and the way it was presented was awesome. Unique and something worth talking about! Cocktails are lovely and for only spending a tenner I got so much for what I ordered. Would love to come back through from fife again!

Helpful?
Thank Toni Sneddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWNERWOTM, Owner at West Of The Moon, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
delighted to get your feedback especially about our fish as I know Fife has a great reputation for good fish restaurants! we hope to see you again when you next visit Ayr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    53
    22
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nothing Great”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Visited today for lunch. Ordered haddock which wasn't very nice at all. Fish too thick with hardly any batter on it at all, no seasoning and full of bones. Would be better with two smaller pieces of fish. Came with "chunky chips" which turned out to be 4 potato skins which didn't taste particularly fresh and just didn't work with the equally bland fish or the little bucket of mixed leaf salad (no cucumber or tomato).which had been tossed in an awful dressing which was oily and tasted disgusting. They could expand on the menu, choices of starters for example are quite poor but also quite expensive for an average pub. Didn't order desserts as they were nearly £6.00 each and didn't think they would be worth the money based on the main course. Didn't think much of their house coke either, in this day and age I'm sure they could afford to upgrade to Pepsi or Coke on draft. Also had an upset stomach after I left so don't think I'll be returning. First time out for a meal for a long time so was very disappointed. Waitress service was very good however.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRIX373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWNERWOTM, Owner at West Of The Moon, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We were very sorry to hear you had not enjoyed your meal but thank you for your feedback. Our fish is usually very popular with our customers and our Pensioners' fish tea is highly praised. Our desserts are home made by our chefs and beautifully presented so am sure you would have enjoyed them. I do hope you will visit again and am pleased you found our staff helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Watch the waistband!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I visited today with my girlfriend using a Living Social Voucher. £19 two course meal for two with a glass of wine each.
The waiter was very charming and a real asset to the restaurant.
The food was exceptional and the portions were massive. Make sure that you are able to adjust your belts as your trousers will burst otherwise!
Male toilets were a bit untidy, but did not detract too much from the overall experience.
My girlfriend was tempted by the cocktails that were on offer. She eventually opted for one called a "Bl*w Job"! She opted for that one as she is a fan of the Disaronno liqueur.
If we were not on a weekend break, we would make regular visits to this establishment.

Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWNERWOTM, Owner at West Of The Moon, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
so glad you appreciated the voucher deal, and note you found the portions on the large side. So many customers expect smaller portions when they use a voucher but we pride ourselves on giving the same portion regardless of how the customer is paying. Your comment about your service is also very welcome and we recognise, as a business, our staff is our best asset. I know exactly who you are talking about and he is a star!! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely appalling”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was given a groupon voucher for Sunday lunch as a gift.19th April .Very disappointed ordered soup which was extremely bland then roast beef dinner which came with no Yorkshire puddings, mashed potatoes were not warm, beef was cut to thick & was chewy&1 portion of veg which should have been 1 each broccoli & cauliflower served with a cheese sauce more like boiled milk sprinkled with cheese & put in a microwave. Complained & told them wasn't happy with our meal very disappointed & it was a gift they said they couldn't do anything cause it had been paid on groupon My mum has emailed west of the moon there has been no reply .Would not recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWNERWOTM, Owner at West Of The Moon, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
So sorry to hear you were not happy with your meal. Our email address had been changed which is why we had not picked up the email from your mother. I have now emailed your mother asking her to contact me so that we can address your complaint. Our staff are trained to check every table and ask at the outset if the meal is to their satisfaction. This enables us to address any issue early and to put it right. We have had great compliments about the superb value for money of this voucher deal and regret you were unhappy with it but hope you will give us a chance to put it right. Thanks again for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A very disappointing return visit Groupon deal for Sunday lunch Starter of mushrooms which were barely cooked followed by Roast beef which was extremely tough and a portion of veg for one to share between two Pricey desert to follow to compensate for poor meal deal

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWNERWOTM, Owner at West Of The Moon, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Jackie
thanks for the feedback, did speak to the chef about your comments and we are reviewing the way the Sunday Roast is prepared. I note you have given great comments about West of the Moon in the past and we love the feedback, good or bad, so that we can constantly improve. We hope you will try us again and give us an opportunity to impress you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Of The Moon also viewed

 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to West Of The Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing