We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaches Guest House
Ranked #1 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a wonderful guest house! Jan, Callum and Kirsty (not forgetting Goldie, the dog) are so friendly and welcoming. Homemade shortbread on arrival with coffee. Room was absolutely brilliant. Could not find a fault with anything. Spotlessly clean and beautiful location. On a clear day, Isle of Arran can be seen out of the back gate. We arrived in Ayr as a surprise visit to a couple who we met on holiday last year and it was the perfect place to stay. Will most definitely be going back in the future. Thank you Jan and Callum x

Room Tip: We had room number 3 and it had door out to the lovely garden. Callum has worked so hard with the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 326 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in August. We had the garden room out the back. Small, but very comfortable. Fabulous location on the beach, with a short walk to shops.
Jan, Callum and Kirsty were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. We were catching the train to Glasgow, and Callum drove us to the train, and Kirsty kept us company on the train, and made sure we knew where we were going. On the 2nd day, we has a small medical situation. Jan helped us sort out treatment, and drove us to the hospital.
Their hospitality, and help was outstanding, and I cannot recommend Beaches, or these wonderful hosts more highly.
Breakfast was fabulous (loved the rhubarb jam). On our last morning, we even tried the haggis and black pudding... And we were wonderfully entertained by Jan's lovely friends ;-). Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Tiny tiny tiny drawback was not able to access Internet from our room (but had no problem in the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJDJSNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Jan welcomed us after our 10-hour drive with coffee and homemade shortbread! That set the tone for the whole of our short one-night stay. There was further tin of home-made shortbread in our room. The room was comfortable and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was full Scottish, including haggis, with the customary cereals, toast, and 4 different kinds of homemade jam. Like SJP2801, the rhubarb and ginger were a great favourite. All the guests, as well as Jan and Callum, joined in the breakfast conversation - a sort of party atmosphere! When we left, Callum was happy to help us up the stairs with our luggage. I would strongly recommend Beaches to anyone visiting Ayr or touring Scotland and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paperondepaperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan J, Owner at Beaches Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I can’t always guarantee the comedy at breakfast, but we aim to please. Hope you had sunshine the rest of day.
Kind regards
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This guest house excels in everything. We visited for our 19th wedding anniversary and Jan and Callum made it really special for us. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the house is immaculate. The breakfast every morning was excellent and my husband loved the ginger and rhubarb jam. The rooms were beautiful, spotlessly clean and short of nothing. We stayed in room 4 which was very self-contained, almost like your own apartment, we fell in love with it. We were sad to leave, it was like leaving family behind but we will definitely be back. Thanks Jan and Callum for making our anniversary so special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJP2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the first stop for my wife and me on our recent tour of Scotland, we arrived here after a 6 hour car journey and we could not have dreamed of a better start to our holiday. Jan, the owner, welcomed us in we were part of the family, made us drinks and supplied delicious home made shortbread.
The room we stayed in was well decorated and spotlessly clean with a well appointed bathroom. The location is a few minutes walk from the esplanade which is accessible through the beautiful garden at the rear of the property.
There is a good selection for breakfast cereals, fresh fruit, toast, homemade jam and cooked breakfast made to order and to your liking.
I was that impressed I tried to book in the following Sunday for my return journey but alas they were fully booked.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Jan and her family for a couple of nights in July when we went to Ayr races. I had booked because of the reviews the B&B received and was not disappointed!!From the outset Jan made us very welcome and could not have done enough for us, chilling our wine for us to enjoy in her lovely garden. The B&B is spotless and very tastefully decorated and the additional touches like the homemade shortbread and jams are delightful. We have already booked for the same time next year in the self contained garden room! Hope it has the same beds....very comfortable. Meant to ask where you got them Jan??

Room Tip: All very comfortable. We had the smallest double room but it was more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Jan and Calum were so very nice to us. We are visiting Scotland for the first time and this is the first time staying in a B & B. We did not know what to expect. Got in early and was no problem. Served us coffee and tea while she finished our rooms. Home made shortbread cookies also. Walking distance to the water in Ayr. Full Scotish breakfast made to order and our first taste of Haggis. Clean rooms and flowers everywhere. I will definitly come back the next time I am in Scotland. I rate this place a 10.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
0.5 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 52 in Ayr
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Guest House

Address: 13 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $77 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches Guest House is a friendly relaxed family run guest house ideally located with the seafront esplanade on the doorstep and just a few minutes’ walk from Ayr’s town centre, which boasts a great selection of shopping, dining and nightlife. Beaches Guest House is perfectly located for business trips, golfing breaks, horse race meetings and family holidays or for exploring the many local tourist attractions.This Victorian terraced Guest House has been tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. All guest rooms feature a LCD/DVD TV, a selection of hot beverages along with homemade shortbread. All Beaches rooms also have a private bathroom with luxury toiletries. Locally sourced produce from Ayrshire farms is used in the Full Scottish breakfast, which is cooked to order. Free-range eggs, haggis, square sausage, tattie scones and homemade jams and marmalades are just some of those on offer. Continental options are also available. Local historical attractions close by include Burns' Cottage, Robert Burns: Scotland’s Bard has a huge influence in the area with Burns Cottage his birthplace, the Auld Brig, Auld Kirk and Robert Burns Museum, two miles from Ayr.Beaches is a great location for golfing breaks - surrounded by many of Ayrshire’s top class golf courses including championship courses at Troon and Turnberry and old courses of Prestwick and Barassie .Local bus and railway stations are within walking distance from Beaches and Glasgow Prestwick International Airport is less than 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beaches Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing