We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great 4th time back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of hotel kylestrome bar and grill restaurant

hotel kylestrome bar and grill restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
hotel kylestrome bar and grill restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 184 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $46
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“great 4th time back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

been for lunch few times every time meal very good good servic great staff best in ayr in my view nice surroundings will be back

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fergie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    75
    23
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I both had the 8oz fillet steak with peppercorn sauce. Both steaks were cooked to perfection, the best we have ever had. We only had a main course and were both stuffed. we will definetly be returning to the Kylestrome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Can't dig it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked for 1pm but arrived about ten minutes early and as the restaurant wasnt busy were shown to a window table overlooking the road.
The restaurant is modern, well designed and served by a sufficient number of staff but we waited longer than expected for the menu and had to ask for drinks after our order was taken.
The set menu, 3 courses for £15, seemed perfect, the choice of 2 soups, leek or tomato and basil, ideal on a cold day but when they arrived they were barely luke warm.
Main courses of pan seered pork fillet and pan seered sea bass with vegetables were great choices but the portions decidedly thin on the ground, and allowing for the side order of chips still left hungry.The sweets were nice but again we felt a little didnt go along away.
That said, we would venture back, but would wait til the weather improves and the hum drum from a machine digging up the road outside the restaurant is finished.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr. Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had Lunch here on Friday as part of a birthday celebration. This is probably our most favourite venue for ad hoc eating as the title implies, as well as booking for special occasions. Yvonne the restaurant manager with her team of Mathew in the bar, Sarah Jane and David, yet again proved that this restaurant quite rightly deserves a place at the top of the list of good eateries in Ayr. The lunchtime special menu provides a varied choice of dishes which at £12 for 2 courses represents excellent value for money and generous sized portions.

The ambiance and attentive but unobtrusive service, always makes you feel at home and coupled with Head Chef Joe Grugen, dishing up top quality food immaculately presented with style and flair, what more can one ask for. Well done to Yvonne and her team for providing another great dining experience. As in all great stories, we shall return again for more of the Kylestrom magic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank woodanthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

What an amazing place to eat. Restaurant seating was very nice, nice layout of tables and the atmosphere was relaxing and very welcoming. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Food was to die for! The menu which had 2 courses at £12 had amazing choices and the portions sizes are defo more than what you pay for which is excellent! Will be returning!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank claireyh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed hotel kylestrome bar and grill restaurant also viewed

 

Been to hotel kylestrome bar and grill restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing