We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Willie Wastle's

Willie Wastle's
Ranked #66 of 184 Restaurants in Ayr
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Quiet little restaurant set at the dead end of the shopping centre but in the heart of the dining area of Ayr. the food was reasonably priced and well cooked, the surroundings were lovely and the staff were friendly The
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap and friendly”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good basic food served in basic surroundings. Food cheap but tasty,service excellent, nice friendly staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    21
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and a grate price”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went to this place on a day trip to Ayr with my wife and young daughter the young man that served us was very helpful and charming. The food was very nice and reasonably priced and the BOGOF offer just mad it beater. The children’s menu is the same as all good offal children’s menu but my daughter devoured the mac and chees. More mac and cheese and less chips would have went well. I went for the sake beget was offered it with bbq sauce or gravy had to be gravy found that a bit odd that they offered bbq sauce but ho hum. My cola seamed a little bit flat but I think this was because it was draft and not out a bottle. The cheese cake was Devine on the who would return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AVOID!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ate here today with my husband..."seemed" to be a great offer, with the deal of buy one get one meal free...sat down at a dirty table and it went downhill from there! Starter was ok, and the mains probably would have been to - had we of got to enjoy them! My husband (a head chef for 20 yrs) was served, not only once but TWICE an ineddible very cold piece of lasagne. We very politely and discreetly returned the meal to the kitchen only to be met by disgruntled staff who " just could not understand how it was still cold" .we were basically told it was fine, you certainly don't need to be a chef to recognise a freezing cold meal! ...after the second time returning it, at no time did any staff approach to appologise , nor anything taken off the bill. We were produced with the full bill, left, and will most certainly NOT return
Disgusting customer service !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great wee pub. cheap beer and buy one get a meal free.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I was on a day trip to ayr in july 2013. I got lasagne. which was serverd with garlic bread and chips it was really nice. budwiser was only £2 a bottle. staff are friendly and service was quite quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Williw Wastle's”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate here on Saturday night. There is a good selection of food on the menu and everything is 2 for 1. The staff are very friendly and service was excellent. I had the chicken with banana served with a korma sauce and rice. Although it tasted really nice I found the chicken to be a bit dry!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jinty0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willie Wastle's also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Willie Wastle's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing