We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Country Gardens in a perfect Location.”

Culzean Castle and Country Park
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$12.95*
and up
Culzean Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful 18th-century castle built by Robert Adam, the renowned Scottish architect, set in a beautiful country park.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Large Country Gardens in a perfect Location.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Run by the National Trust Scotland, this has plenty of walking with the castle as the centrepiece plus a visitor centre, walled garden, swan lake and many paths. Castle is only open to the end of October though, but the location is worth a look any time of the year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robbie036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,168
    412
    70
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnbroe, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Enchanted Castle - simply magical!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

So glad we booked tickets for this event. The castle was transformed into a wonderland full of fairytale and storybook characters. Some great interactive opportunities - my four year old was beaming as a lovely girl in a mint ball gown took her up into her arms and danced her around Cinderella's ballroom.

The Narnia setting with the fur coats and amazing actors was something I'll never forget. Jack and the Beanstock, the traditional nursery rhymes, the Big Bad Wolf all just fantastic.

The short art and craft opportunity provided a perfect rest.

The ugly sisters and elves were happy to pose for photos and kept us all entertained as we waited to go in.

Also visited Santa at the auditorium (£5 for child) which was very good - we bought our tickets and then went for tea as the queue was 45 minutes. By the time we were back, it was our turn.

This was a great value event (£27 for a family of 4) which the NTS has got spot on. Special thanks to the volunteers and actors who really made this such a memorable day for us.

Ideal for children aged 3-7.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An impressively restored castle- definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our reason for traveling to Ayr was to see Culzean Castle. I think it's probably my favorite renovated castle of our visit to Scotland. I loved it because of the Robert Adam architecture and particularly because the interior has been so well-restored. It has lots of period furniture, beautifully decorated ceilings, friezes along the walls, and the most impressive display of armory. I mean really, really impressive and displayed in such an original fashion. It's one of those rooms you walk into and just say, "Wow!" They didn't just stack up bunches of guns and swords and put a label on them, the sword blades were cut and fashioned into large pieces of art and the flintlock pistols were displayed in an imaginative way too. The collection of flintlocks is huge, I think they said that only the queen has a larger collection.

The kitchen had an ingenious roaster. You know those candle sets where you light the candles and the heat creates a draft that makes the little angels go round in a circle? This roaster used the same principle. A fan was installed in the kitchen fireplace's chimney and a cable and pulley were attached to the fan. When the fan rotated, it moved the cable through the pulley. A long rotisserie basket was attached to the cable and stood in front of the fire, and the basket rotated as the fan turned. Who thinks of this stuff? I thought it was a pretty awesome invention for almost 300 years ago. The castle also produced it's own gas supply in the late 19th and early 20th century.

The castle has an amazing oval staircase. A circular shape wouldn't fit, so it was made in an oval shape instead. The stairs have no visible means of support, this is because each individual step is sunk 18 inches into the wall and each stone step rests upon the one below it. If you were to remove any one step, the entire structure would come down.

The park surrounding the castle is very large and there is also beach access. Many of the castle windows had wonderful views of the sea.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank calsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth Bridge, Peeblesshire
2 reviews
“A Winter Wander”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The National Trust for Scotland own and run the castle and country park and we visited the last week in November. Although the castle is closed for the winter, the country park provides a fantastic day out.

There are some great walks, either using the network of paths or heading off into the woods.
The stark winter beauty of the gardens is striking with amazing views of Aran and Ailsa Craig, the RSPB reserve that resembles a giant cupcake or to be more seasonal, a Christmas pudding.

At the weekends, up until Christmas, the visitor centre, restaurant and wonderful toy shop are open and well worth a visit. We had walked our socks off and the lady who served us our coffee and scones was so cheerful and really made us welcome.

Our trip was two weeks too early this year as the National Trust for Scotland have arranged some fantastic events in the run up to Christmas with a special dinner in the castle on Friday 7 December - a definite must for next year's pre-Christmas escape. .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth the trip even just for the drive.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a magnificent stately home. Nestled into the Ayrshire countryside. Truly magnificent. It is only a short drive from Ayr, the electric brae is also neat to experience on the way, stop off at Dunure for an ice cream.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culzean Castle and Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Culzean Castle and Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing