We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chestnuts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in November of 2013 for one night on our trip around Scotland. It was exactly what we'd hoped - a small, friendly and inviting inn with a great pub and cozy rooms! It was a little cold and rainy when we first arrived, and the reception area of the hotel was so welcoming and warm and the staff took us right up to our room so we could get settled. The room was really nice - clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The window looked out onto the street/parking lot, but the room wasn't loud at all and there was lots of light in the morning to help us wake up!
After getting settled in, we went down to see if we could get a table for dinner. Even though it was very busy, we were sat immediately in the pub at a table near the fireplace (we were still a little chilled, so this was perfect!). Everything was wonderful - the beer, the food, the service, the atmosphere - all exactly what we wanted.
The next morning when we left the room for breakfast we were so impressed by all the staff. From the housekeeper in the hall, to the receptionist at the desk, to all the servers in the dining room - everyone said hello or good morning with a genuine smile on their face. It's been a long time since we've stayed somewhere with such friendly staff. There was a large family (about 15 people in all) having breakfast at the same time as us, and the staff knew nearly everyone by name. We were just so impressed - oh yeah, and breakfast was tasty too!
At the end, we were sad we were staying only one night and have been trying to think of a reason to go back to Ayr ever since! This was by far our favourite stay on our trip - thanks to all the staff of the Chestnuts for making this Canadian couple feel at home!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MapleLeafTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    70
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
106
100
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I would recommend the chestnuts to anyone visiting ayr.the room we had was big it had a bay window no 6 the food was first glass also the service . I played golf just across the road it was called belleisle .all so a short walk to the beach 5 mins we visited for 6 days in July August thanks to grant and his staff for a great vacation glyn and jean henderson

Room Tip: Room no 6 bay window all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Celebrated parents golden wedding anniversary in the private garden room. Party ranged in age from 10 to 86 and everyone had a fabulous time. Service was excellent from time of booking. Attention on the evening was second to none especially on a Saturday night when both the bar and restaurant were very busy. Food was both delicious and generous in size. Small details e.g. personalised menus made a memorable evening even more special. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a friendly, well priced, quality experience

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we entered the Chestnuts Hotel we knew that this was going to be our base for an exploration of Scotland. Great hospitality, a warm welcome, a room with a "je ne sais pas quoi"-touch to it. So we stayed for three days and went to Glasgow by train (great information provided by the hotel), visited the coast and the Highlands (quite a drive but what a scenery all along the way), slept like angels - what a silence , had tasteful breakfasts, a good whiskey in the nice bar and hart pain when we left. A pearl on the Scottish West coast!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Two couples from the US on a golf vacation in Scotland. We stayed for three nights and we absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms are nicely furnished and absolutely spotless. The staff can not do enough for you. We had dinner the evening we arrived and breakfast three morning and all were very good. This hotel is on a quiet street in Ayr and a short walk to a really nice beach area with a great view of Arran. This hotel is situated between Turnberry and Royal Troon so it would be a great location for anyone traveling on a golf vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimZberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I were attending an evening wedding reception at a nearby hotel and booked into this lovely hotel for dinner, bed & breakfast. Check in was very efficient and our room was first class, although it looked out towards the front of the hotel and the main road beyond, there was very little traffic noise. Dinner was excellent, portions were generous and there was a good selection of dishes to choose from. Service was of a high standard and the staff were attentive without being annoying. The hotel is in a good position 10 minutes stroll from the quiet end of Ayr beach and maybe a 15-20 minute stroll from the town centre. The hotel is open to the public from about 10am and it appears to be busy most of the day and I'm not surprised. This was our first visit and I'm sure that it won't be the last... keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay59Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went yest for lunch, and ended up staying the whole day. The food was fantastic.. the whole experience was 1st class. Hoping to get down nxt mnth for an overnite stay. grant has great staff. Esp the guy who works with car auctions. Credit to your team. Staff very attentive. Cant wait to see them all again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderwoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Hotel

Property: The Chestnuts Hotel
Address: 52 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ayr
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#6 Business Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run hotel with 14 en-suite rooms. Freeview / tea & coffee making facilities. Open from 10am serving coffees and Home Baking till 11.30Am...Lunches from 12-4.30Pm, Suppers from 5-9pm. Superb home-cooked food served in the Bar, Restaurant and Beer Garden. BT Sports in the Bar. Selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskies. Walking distance from Beach, Town Centre, Parks and Golf courses. In the Heart of Burns' Country. Special Rates for Golf Parties. Selection of Supper dishes at a Special rate of £7.95 Between 5pm and 6.30Pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Hotel Ayr
The Chestnuts Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing