We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chestnuts Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

7.95 supper menu excellent value/ good bar and nice restaurant although a little on the small side; menu somewhat limited but what they do, they do well. Without doubt a clear indication that good food and nice surroundings don't have to cost the earth

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Smuj1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for The Chestnuts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 342 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Chestnuts on the 27th may 2014 for four nights we had a fantastic stay the bedrooms although have kept a lot of their character the bathrooms are very modern and all spotless the staff are all very friendly and attentive from the lady who attends to the room right up to the owner who is always around and always willing to help , There is a lovely restraunt serving excellent food to a very high standard and serves an excellent breakfast also there is a lovely public bar to relax in for that end of day tipple , The hotel is just on the edge of the town and a nice walk along the beach taking about 20 minutes or by taxi at very reasonable rates £2.90 ,We will definately be back to the Chestnuts when next visiting Ayr and would not hesitate in reccomending the hotel to family and friends

Room Tip: We had room 6 at the side of the building overlooking the garden which was lovely
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday33Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Trip Advisor pointed our way to the Chestnuts and we were not disappointed. The staff were pleasant, efficient and responsive, at times going the extra mile to ensure our group were well looked after. Food, drink and rooms were all first class. As a golfing group we have been travelling away for 32 years and our stay at the Chestnuts was certainly one of the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is my third visit in 12 months to Chestnuts Hotel - the staff there are great and you see the same smiling faces. They remember you by name and even what you like to eat/drink. All in all a lovely family atmosphere makes you feel very welcome. Highly recommend this place to stay and to eat for lunch or dinner. Great for golfers, day-trippers, families - close to the beach! Great place to stay - highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room No 3 is AWESOME for couples - felt like a princess!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was my third stay at Chestnuts Hotel, and once again I could not fault it!

Room was spotlessly clean, warm welcome from the staff, great food, football in the bar and some good conversation with locals/staff - what more could you want? Oh yes, free parking and Wi-Fi - they have that too!

Top class.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed here for a night in a single room during my tour of Scotland.

The hotel is located in a beautiful area of Ayr. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a great view of the backyard garden. I loved being able to open the window. The television was fairly new and had a number of channels available.

The dining room was nicely decorated and full of local residents having their Sunday night family dinner. The dinner menu was extensive and very reasonably priced. I had the chicken caesar salad which was outstanding.

The bar area is large and looked like a fun place to hang out.

The full Scottish breakfast was included in the price of the room, and I have to say it has to be one of the largest and best in the entire country. (If you look up "Full Scottish Breakfast" in the dictionary, a picture of this breakfast would be shown.)

Service at the hotel and restaurant was friendly and professional the entire time.

I would definitely stay here again.

(Note for American readers, this was a European sized single room, which means that it is physically small, but a tremendous value -- especially with the included breakfast. Just be aware that if you need a large room, you may need to upgrade to a double or triple. Also, there is no bath tub, and the shower is about 32" square.)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StealthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We are a party of golfers from Leeds and have stayed at this hotel for a number of years and use the hotel as a base for four days golfing each May.

The staff are always very helpful and very friendly and the food is always excellent. Highly recommended for a holiday with family or for golfing parties.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJGoodwin1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#7 of 17 in Ayr
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Hotel

Address: 52 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ayr
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#6 Business Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run hotel with 14 en-suite rooms. Freeview / tea & coffee making facilities. Open from 10am serving coffees and Home Baking till 11.30Am...Lunches from 12-4.30Pm, Suppers from 5-9pm. Superb home-cooked food served in the Bar, Restaurant and Beer Garden. BT Sports in the Bar. Selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskies. Walking distance from Beach, Town Centre, Parks and Golf courses. In the Heart of Burns' Country. Special Rates for Golf Parties. Selection of Supper dishes at a Special rate of £7.95 Between 5pm and 6.30Pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Hotel Ayr
The Chestnuts Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing