We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chestnuts Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$79
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ayr(Ayr)(Great Value!)
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Western House Hotel(Ayr)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
$88
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arrandale Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveler rating
255
77
9
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
77
9
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegan menuhave eaten heregarden roomfirst classlog firecullen skinkbooked a tablelovely mealsingle roomwould highly recommend this hotelwell worth a visitcouldn't faultreturn visitfull scottish breakfasttown centrestayed here for one nightbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 353 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had been driving all day and just happened on this hotel so glad we did, very reasonably priced, friendly and helpful staff, lovely comfortable and clean room and great food.... if ever we are in Ayr again will definitely be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms would be good very quiet, clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussietom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Travelling alone, you appreciate friendliness from hotel staff and the Chestnuts Hotel offers that in abundance! Add to that good food, a very comfortable room and excellent value for money - what more do you want? I'm not often in this neck of the woods, but can only recommend this hotel to anyone who is.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nizuend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

travelled from Manchester to attend a wedding and couldn't fault this hotel.firstly the lovely staff who went that extra mile.the rooms which were very nice,a bathroom the size of a lounge,very clean,tea & coffee making facilities.breakfast was lovely also.unfortunately we didn't eat there but heard from other guests that the food was devine.would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.
mike,moira & vera

Room Tip: a few stairs to navigate could be difficult for people with walking problems.no lift to my knowledge
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantonaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our room was very comfortable, we didn't do it justice by staying for only one night. It was the best room in the hotel but I'm sure all the others would be a similar high standard. We did try to book for 2 nights, however the hotel was very busy and we got only the one night. The food was excellent and the wine and beer both top quality. We would definitely return. The staff were excellent and the bar and restaurant were full of good atmosphere. We were greeted with smiles and sent on our way the same!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobshepfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Chestnuts was booked for my Mothers 90th Birthday lunch. All guests were made very welcome on arrival and the service was exemplary from all those concerned. The quality of food served was superb and choice of dishes excellent. On the whole it made for a memorable day and one which could not be faulted . We will definitely return .

Room Tip: Cannot comment on bedrooms as review only on a lunch booking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews